We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely beach-side hotel”
Review of Tres Palmas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tres Palmas Inn
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband and I decided to stay in the Ocean Park area for a few days before going into San Juan. Tres Palmas is located in a mostly residential area, which makes it very quiet and peaceful. There is access to the beach right across the street, with no buildings obstructing the view from the hotel. There are a handful of restaurants about a ten minute walk away and a gas station for bottled water or small snacks. You can also buy beer at Tres Palmas (the rooms have mini-fridges) and a continental-style breakfast is included in the price.

The property is beautiful, with colorful tiles and plants everywhere. There is also a small pool and a hot tub on the roof, with several seating areas on both levels. Our room was a bit on the small side, but how much room do you need when you can get to the beach in 30 seconds? The hotel has towels and chairs you can bring to the beach, no need to bring your own.

If you are looking for a quiet beach stay, I would definitely recommend Tres Palmas.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lasankofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2013

It thrills us to know that you and your husband has a great stay at Tres Palmas Inn! We hope all of your expectations were met. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, to us it means a lot! We always enjoy reading about the guests experiences specially the positive ones. We do hope you visit Puerto Rico again and that you chose to stay with us once again!

Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel had it all: beach chairs, wifi, a/c, GREAT service, breakfast, right on the beach, pool, hot tub. Just really really pleased and great value. This is the first time I write a review on trip advisor because we were just so pleased! Also loved the neighbourhood. Felt like we were staying in a neighbourhood away from the tourism traps in Old San Juan. Only thing I'd say is the Ocean View rooms aren't quite worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plateaulady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

What an excellent first review on Trip Advisor! Thank you for letting us know how the experience was while staying at Tres Palmas Inn. We do our best to meet our guests expectations, so it thrills us to know when we accomplish that goal! We do wish for you to stay with us again very soon!

Thank You for the review and for being such a great guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Us three girls recently returned from Puerto Rico, and stayed at Tres Palmas for 5 days. This place is a great location in San Juan, central to everything, not far from anything. There aren't any conveinance stores or anything around, but nothing you cannot get close by. (really great feeling of seclusion.) This is a family place so please keep that in mind when booking, late night excursions and ruckus making does not go well, (save it for the marriot haha). Though it is a great atmosphere, very inviting and peaceful. You will enjoy the animals of Puerto Rico, and may even have a grab waltz in your room, lizards zoom by you, or hermit crabs say hi. Really cool.

This is not a frills hotel, very simple and clean, just the basics. You get free breakfast every morning and they have a pool and hot tub. Lay on a hammock and enjoy the weather.

This place is very affordable and accomodating. Now for what you need to know: Isaac the night guy is their biggest asset. He will do everything in his power to help you out, make sure you are safe and accomodate your needs. Especially traveling with three girls alone, he made us feel protected and welcome. The staff is nice, but he is the best. Need a cab, call the front, need anything they will help you out or find the information. We would go back again only because Isaac is so awesome and left such a great impression and we know he truly truly cares about the guests and his job. Thanks AGAIN Tres Palmas!!!!!!

PS- be careful for the fire ants!!!!! (at the beach)

Room Tip: Rooms are basic and big enough for your needs. Try and not get room 17 because there's a lack of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thanks girls for the great review! We loved having you here and we are happy to know that you had a great time on your visit to Puerto Rico. Isaac is very thankful for the positive comments! We do hope you visit Puerto Rico again very soon and that you stay with us again!

Once again thank you for taking the time to write the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We just returned from a long weekend stay at Tres Palmas for our friend's wedding (which was also AMAZING right on the property) and had the best time! Our room was cool, clean and cozy... with a very good sized bathroom! The fridge was nice to have for snacks and water. We didn't want to be in the room much because the beach is absolutely gorgeous...and right across the street! We loved walking the beach and it was within walking distance of Ocean Park. There are so many little places to sit and read a book or just relax on this property and the staff are so friendly and accomodating. Whenever we needed a cab or had a question they took care of it from start to finish, we didn't have to do anything. We had such a nice stay and wish we were still there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

We are thrilled that your experience was great, we've been very exited reading all the reviews from the wedding! It truly was an amazing week, the sun was shinning every day, everyone was happy and exited. You made the staff feel as part of the family and for that we thank you! We do hope to see everyone again soon. Remember that you have a second home here at Tres Palmas Inn!

Once again thank you for everything and for taking the time to write this wonderful review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

My husband and I stumbled upon Tres Palmas one year ago while we were in Puerto Rico looking for a place to have our destination wedding. We knew instantly that Tres Palmas was the exact place we were looking for. We wanted to bring our friends and family down to PR to spend a week long vacation with us and be a part of our wedding day! The property was perfect for this occasion. We got married right across the street on the beach at sunset and we had our reception on the rooftop which was absolutely gorgeous!! It was an absolute dream wedding! Our entire family and friends are still talking about how our wedding was the most beautiful they've ever been to. We all had access to the entire property for the week. The pool was great for the kids. The beach was right across the street. Parking right out front for those who rented cars. It was just perfect. It was like our home away from home. I cannot say enough about the owners and the staff. They were literally there to accommodate our every need. Beautiful people. We had such a good time we are planning another vacation next year! I HIGHLY recommend Tres Palmas for anyone looking to have a beach wedding yet still enjoy the comforts of home and not a resort. We were able to customize EVERYTHING which made it such a beautiful and perfect wedding for us. Lastly, we had 50 people attend. Most stayed at Tres Palmas and then the owners helped us accommodate a couple extras right down the street. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!! We are truly forever grateful to you for helping us have our dream wedding!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Kristina and Manuel it was a honor having you and your families here at Tres Palmas Inn. The entire staff loved how the environment was filled with so much happiness and love. You were amazing and we wish you the best on this new step you have taken in your lives. We appreciate you taking the time to write this amazing review and also hope to see you and your families soon. We are glad that every day was a sunny and beautiful day, and that everyone used all the hotel amenities to the fullest.

Once again thank you for being such great guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

What an absolutely wonderful find! This place makes you feel at home as soon as you step through the front gates. The staff could not be more helpful and accommodating; they made me feel like a long time friend coming to visit. I regret that I was only there for one night but I made the most of everything they offered - beach chairs, hammocks, bicycles, jacuzzi, pool not to mention the wonderful breakfast. I can't say enough about this place. LOVED IT and will go back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for this amazing review! We do want our guest to fell like they are in a home away from home, and it thrills us to know that this was achieved. It makes even more happy to know that you made the most of everything by using all of our extra amenities. We do hope you visit Puerto Rico again and choose as for your stay.

Once again thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We were here in mid-June as an extended family of six in two rooms and loved it!

Loved that it was right on the beach and loved that it felt so homey. The staff was friendly and helpful. Loved the lizards and listening to the frogs!

The rooms/bathrooms felt a bit small -- no one would call them luxurious -- but since there were ample seating areas outside (not to mention two hammocks!!) who wants to spend time inside anyway?? It's such a simple, lovely, casual place with real character. I'm so glad we stayed here rather than an ordinary sterile hotel chain.

We would DEFINITELY go back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina_MVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Hey! Thank you for the great review and for choosing Tres Palmas Inn on your stay in Puerto Rico. We are all about making our guest feel like home. It makes us happy to know that you enjoyed yourselves and that your experience was a great one. We definitely look forward your next visit!

Once again Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
4.6 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 48 in San Juan
992 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#15 of 48 in San Juan
199 reviews
1 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#33 of 48 in San Juan
646 reviews
2.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tres Palmas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tres Palmas Inn

Address: 2212 Calle Park Blvd, San Juan 00913-4542, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £72 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tres Palmas Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tres Palmas Inn is a quaint and charming 20-room beachfront guest house built in the 1940's. We are located at Ocean Park Beach, which is the best beach for vacationers and locals alike in San Juan. Our rooms are mid-to-small sized but they have all the amenities you will need during your stay (air conditioning, LCD TV's with Dish, free High Speed Wi-Fi, refrigerator, private bathrooms, toiletries, etc.) We also have a secluded outdoor pool and a wonderful rooftop terrace with a hot tub overlooking the ocean, where you can have a drink while watching the sunset. Tres Palmas Inn is located in a residential area between two major tourist zones: Isla Verde and Condado. We provide daily complimentary Continental breakfast from 7:00AM to 10:00AM in our breakfast area overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Tres Palmas Inn doesn't have a restaurant but there is a wide variety of them within walking distance-anywhere from 10 to 15 minutes away. Check out our website for our local Restaurant Guide to find your new favorite place to eat! At Tres Palmas Inn we also provide our guests with complimentary beach chairs and beach towels, please ask for them at the Front Desk. Additionally, we have a Water Sports Center, Sotavento Watersports, where you can take Windsurf or Kiteboarding lessons and also rent kayaks, paddle boards, and snorkeling gear... At Tres Palmas Inn we will do our best to make your stay a memorable one, so give us the opportunity and we will show you why Puerto Rico Does it Better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tres Palmas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Palmas Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing