We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”
Review of Tres Palmas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tres Palmas Inn
Ranked #5 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spend 6 days in Puerto Rico after a cruise and we truly enjoyed our stay at Tres Palmas Inn.
We had a room for four people and it provided all the necessities needed for two teen girls, my wife and I. Daily housekeeping, small continental breakfast and a very helpful and friendly staff.
The location is very good right next to the beach and the hotel provides all sorts of beach equipment and toys for free (incl. beach towels).
t's a very authentic beach hotel with a great atmosphere. It's in a quite and safe neighborhood even though some of the houses around may give another impression.
Excellent value for the money. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yesba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
We are very happy with this review! Thank you for taking the time to write it and for letting us know about your experience. We love it when our guests are happy and we love hearing about how their experience was at Tres Palmas Inn. We do hope you and your family visit us again on your next visit to Puerto Rico. Your Tres Palmas Inn family will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    172
    62
    19
    5
See reviews for
122
326
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We decided to give our "hotels tonight" app a try and chose this hotel without any research. We were not disappointed. It's a specular find! The room, though small, was exceedingly comfortable. We were greeted by warm and friendly staff on both days while there and enjoyed quite the view of the ocean from our room and at breakfast. It seemed nearly impossible to find parking in San Juan - yet, parking was free and available at this hotel, which is a bonus. It's located about 15 minutes or so from Old San Juan and this makes it an excellent base camp for exploring that area. This is the place to stay if you're in the area. It's delightful...the sunset views are stunning, walking the beach is easy - it's not crowded and offers such peace. It's a sweet find. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Thank you for this great review. We are thrilled to know that your experience was all that you wanted. We aim to give a cossy and welcoming experience to all of our guest. Making each guest feel like they are in their own home in paradise. We would love to have you back in our hotel in future visits to Puerto Rico.

Once again Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I can be pretty choosy. The location was wonderful, beautiful view, ocean breeze, lovely room and a very important detail.... attentive and caring staff. Good marks on crisp clean and comfortable bed. They could not have done more to make the stay great. I would choose it again and that says everything!

Room Tip: Ocean view, higher floor makes you feel really special. World of your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geturmoneysworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Thank you for this great review. We work very hard to give the best service to our guests, so it makes us extra happy to know that we have achieved that goal. We are pleased to know that your experience at Tres Palmas Inn was an excellent one.

Once again thank you and we do hope you stay with us again on any future visit to Puerto Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I visit Puerto Rico on average twice a year. This was my first time to stay at Tres Palmas, although I had walked by it often. Cozy, friendly, very helpful staff. Basically a private beach directly across the street. Unobstructed view of the ocean. Convenient to everything in the San Juan area.

What's not to like?

Room Tip: I would try to book earlier enough to get the second story room on the right side of the property as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandSaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Hey! We are happy with the chance you have given us as your choice for lodging and even more happy to know that your expectations were met. We do hope you return to Tres Palmas Inn for any future visits to Puerto Rico. Thank you for letting us know about your experience while staying with us.

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My husband and I decided to stay in the Ocean Park area for a few days before going into San Juan. Tres Palmas is located in a mostly residential area, which makes it very quiet and peaceful. There is access to the beach right across the street, with no buildings obstructing the view from the hotel. There are a handful of restaurants about a ten minute walk away and a gas station for bottled water or small snacks. You can also buy beer at Tres Palmas (the rooms have mini-fridges) and a continental-style breakfast is included in the price.

The property is beautiful, with colorful tiles and plants everywhere. There is also a small pool and a hot tub on the roof, with several seating areas on both levels. Our room was a bit on the small side, but how much room do you need when you can get to the beach in 30 seconds? The hotel has towels and chairs you can bring to the beach, no need to bring your own.

If you are looking for a quiet beach stay, I would definitely recommend Tres Palmas.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lasankofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
It thrills us to know that you and your husband has a great stay at Tres Palmas Inn! We hope all of your expectations were met. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, to us it means a lot! We always enjoy reading about the guests experiences specially the positive ones. We do hope you visit Puerto Rico again and that you chose to stay with us once again!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel had it all: beach chairs, wifi, a/c, GREAT service, breakfast, right on the beach, pool, hot tub. Just really really pleased and great value. This is the first time I write a review on trip advisor because we were just so pleased! Also loved the neighbourhood. Felt like we were staying in a neighbourhood away from the tourism traps in Old San Juan. Only thing I'd say is the Ocean View rooms aren't quite worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plateaulady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
What an excellent first review on Trip Advisor! Thank you for letting us know how the experience was while staying at Tres Palmas Inn. We do our best to meet our guests expectations, so it thrills us to know when we accomplish that goal! We do wish for you to stay with us again very soon!

Thank You for the review and for being such a great guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Us three girls recently returned from Puerto Rico, and stayed at Tres Palmas for 5 days. This place is a great location in San Juan, central to everything, not far from anything. There aren't any conveinance stores or anything around, but nothing you cannot get close by. (really great feeling of seclusion.) This is a family place so please keep that in mind when booking, late night excursions and ruckus making does not go well, (save it for the marriot haha). Though it is a great atmosphere, very inviting and peaceful. You will enjoy the animals of Puerto Rico, and may even have a grab waltz in your room, lizards zoom by you, or hermit crabs say hi. Really cool.

This is not a frills hotel, very simple and clean, just the basics. You get free breakfast every morning and they have a pool and hot tub. Lay on a hammock and enjoy the weather.

This place is very affordable and accomodating. Now for what you need to know: Isaac the night guy is their biggest asset. He will do everything in his power to help you out, make sure you are safe and accomodate your needs. Especially traveling with three girls alone, he made us feel protected and welcome. The staff is nice, but he is the best. Need a cab, call the front, need anything they will help you out or find the information. We would go back again only because Isaac is so awesome and left such a great impression and we know he truly truly cares about the guests and his job. Thanks AGAIN Tres Palmas!!!!!!

PS- be careful for the fire ants!!!!! (at the beach)

Room Tip: Rooms are basic and big enough for your needs. Try and not get room 17 because there's a lack of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thanks girls for the great review! We loved having you here and we are happy to know that you had a great time on your visit to Puerto Rico. Isaac is very thankful for the positive comments! We do hope you visit Puerto Rico again very soon and that you stay with us again!

Once again thank you for taking the time to write the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.6 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#6 of 47 in San Juan
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 47 in San Juan
2,734 reviews
2.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,114 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tres Palmas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tres Palmas Inn

Property: Tres Palmas Inn
Address: 2212 Calle Park Blvd, San Juan 00913-4542, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tres Palmas Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tres Palmas Inn is a quaint and charming 20-room beachfront guest house built in the 1940's. We are located at Ocean Park Beach, which is the best beach for vacationers and locals alike in San Juan. Our rooms are mid-to-small sized but they have all the amenities you will need during your stay (air conditioning, LCD TV's with Dish, free High Speed Wi-Fi, refrigerator, private bathrooms, toiletries, etc.) We also have a secluded outdoor pool and a wonderful rooftop terrace with a hot tub overlooking the ocean, where you can have a drink while watching the sunset. Tres Palmas Inn is located in a residential area between two major tourist zones: Isla Verde and Condado. We provide daily complimentary Continental breakfast from 7:00AM to 10:00AM in our breakfast area overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Tres Palmas Inn doesn't have a restaurant but there is a wide variety of them within walking distance-anywhere from 10 to 15 minutes away. Check out our website for our local Restaurant Guide to find your new favorite place to eat! At Tres Palmas Inn we also provide our guests with complimentary beach chairs and beach towels, please ask for them at the Front Desk. Additionally, we have a Water Sports Center, Sotavento Watersports, where you can take Windsurf or Kiteboarding lessons and also rent kayaks, paddle boards, and snorkeling gear... At Tres Palmas Inn we will do our best to make your stay a memorable one, so give us the opportunity and we will show you why Puerto Rico Does it Better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tres Palmas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Palmas Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing