We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, nice small hotel”
Review of Tres Palmas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tres Palmas Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice location, nice small hotel”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We spent one night here—our first night in Puerto Rico. Four of us stayed in Room 12, which has two queen beds. There's a little kitchen area (which we didn't use) and a large bathroom (shower was decent).

Service was friendly and helpful, and the breakfast the next morning was nice. But we really liked the location the best—it's across the street from the beach, and we were able to spend a bit of time relaxing there. There are also two hot tubs and a small pool. The hot tub on the roof was great—we watched the sunset while relaxing.

The hotel isn't super close to restaurants, but you can walk to some places (10-15 min walk) that are good. It was nice to be in a less touristy neighborhood of San Juan and I was glad we chose this place.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
What an amazing review! Thank you for sharing the experience you had here at Tres Palmas Inn. We are thrilled to know that you had a great time and that you enjoyed all the good things that we have to offer. We hope that you will visit us again very soon.

Once again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    168
    60
    19
    5
See reviews for
116
316
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this inn. Cute property with very helpful staff. Compared to other options in San Juan, the price was reasonable. (Overall we felt everything in San Juan was overpriced.)

Rooms were clean and spacious. Air conditioning worked well. Comfortable king size bed with nice sheets.

Property was nice. We enjoyed the small pool and several outdoor seating areas. Especially enjoyed the roof top deck and the breakfast area, both with ocean views.

Ocean Park Beach is a quick walk away, sandy and shady. Beach directly across from hotel was too rocky. Popular Kasalta deli and bakery not too far away.

Breakfast was decent, but would be better if it offered local pastries and fresh fruit.

There is a road in front of the hotel, which can be noisy. Ask for a room away from street.

This Inn met our needs for a one night stay: clean and comfortable at a comparatively reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from road and the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeidiKenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for choosing Tres Palmas Inn for your layover in Puerto Rico. It thrills us to know that you had a pleasant stay, and we wish for you to come and visit us again soon. Maybe you could stay longer and make some more wonderful memories!

Thank You for taking the time to write this great review and for sharing you experience here at Tres Palmas Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I booked on the internet from Austin and I really had no idea what we'd find when we got here. It's fantastic. It's non-corporate, laid back, beach front casual. It's clean. The staff are super friendly. The night clerk got us two cold beers from a fridge when we checked in. It's only about 5 minutes drive to the airport or Old San Juan. It's a 3 block walk to bars and food. The neighborhood is safe and nice. The tall beach front buildings and wide beach are about a 3 block walk. It has two hammocks out front, a rooftop area to socialize, a hot tub, free use boogie and surf boards, free wifi. Breakfast is free. they have yoga and pilates for $5. Traffic along the road can be noisy if you stay in a front room. There is no parking except free street curbside but you have to find it. Guests could be noisy in the common areas but the window unit AC can drown that. We are very satisfied customers that would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 828jasonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Jason thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review. We are happy knowing that you had such a positive experience on your stay with us. We do hope to see you again in future visits to Puerto Rico.

Once again thank you for this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We just left Tres Palmas. The inn really made our stay in San Juan memorable. Room 15 (with windows & ocean view) was larger than the rooms in the back (which were small but adequate). Edwin, the owner, Marlene at the front desk, & the rest of the staff couldn't have been more friendly or accommodating. Tres Palmas was clean & well done in a low key style. The location was helpful & terrific- right on the ocean. The bus stop was close & there were interesting neighborhood restaurants in walking distance. The continental breakfast was an expanded version- a great send off for the day. We had a great stay & we highly recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
What an amazing review! Thank you for sharing your experience, it thrills us to know that you had an amazing time during your stay. We do our best to make all the guest feel as comfortable as possible. We do hope to see you again on future visits to Puerto Rico.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton
Level Contributor
216 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Tres Palmas is on the beach with an excellent view. We're in room #1 and have a clear view of the beach area. There is a road in front of the hotel and then a small barrier wall. There is nothing fancy about the room but we were glad to be there. There is a safe and small frig. It has a ceiling fan plus the A/C. Both work well. There is a large blind that will cover the large window.
The bed was broken down on one side and the mattress was wrapped in plastic. Every move resulted in a plastic sounding crunch. The large blind actually did very little to give us any privacy. We finally hung beach towels to block the view.
The street noise and talking on the street went on forever invading the room. The cars with the throbbing, humping music would not allow sleep. At 3:30 we went to the office trying to secure a room change for the next day. All we found was the security guy and he told us the hotel was full. We finally got a few hours of sleep.
The shower was good with plenty of hot water. It helped us get going. Breakfast was OK. The office said that we were in one of their quality rooms and we might be able to downgrade.
Our booking agent helped us cancel the next night after the office said their hands were tied.
The parking was very limited to curbside spaces and they filled quickly.
We payed $147. for this joy. The desk told us the noise was because of the ending of Festival. I imagine the penetrating noise is every night.

Room Tip: Everyone we spoke with heard the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATSYandSTAN A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
etcruz, Owner at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,
I am very sorry to hear that one of our guest had this experience. We are sorry for the plastic cover on the mattress, it was a new mattress and the maids didn't took out the plastic wrapper, our mistake!

About the blinds there is a blackout roller behind the blinds on each of the rooms that you missed, if you have told us about the light problem we would have instruct you in how to use it.

About the street noise, yes we receive noise from the street and usually is not bad, but last weekend was SANSE 2014 (Fiestas de la calle San Sebastian in Old San Juan), which is our biggest festival of
the year and over 500,000 residents and tourists visits San Juan that weekend. All that people driving around making noises and hearing loud music until 5 in the morning it's tough on everyone that lives in
Old San Juan, Condado and Ocean Park area. At Tres Palmas Inn we do not have long corridors with rugs nor enclosed spaces that attenuate the sound of the surroundings but that also allows the sound of the waves to be heard on all of our rooms and you can also see the ocean from almost everywhere you step in the property.

Sorry about the inconveniences and hopefully you come back one day and give us the chance to make it up to you!

Edwin Cruz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gause, TX
Level Contributor
241 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here based on TripAdviser rankings. It was a let down based on the rankings, but we still enjoyed our stay.

First, the location is not good except for the fact it is only about 50 feet from the beach!. They provide free beach chairs (most were very old and ratty, but still serviceable). They also provide towels for the beach. The inn is in a residential area where everybody lives behind security bars! There are NO restaurants near the inn, and the neighborhood on one side does not look like one you would want to walk through. The other side is a little better, but still not good. However, we did not feel unsafe - just always on the alert. I think the location and lack of close restaurants is a drawback.

We walked to the area of town where there were some restaurants. We ate at a couple and both were fine. But the general area is run down and not appealing. To get to those locations, we walked about 15 minutes. To get to more choices beyond those two you would have to walk about another 10 to 15 minutes. The Inn offers no transportation.

The room was clean but the bed was not the most comfortable we have been on, but it was not terrible either. Air conditioner worked very well and we had a ceiling fan. Some of the lighting did not work. We were in room 2 which is not on, but close to the front. It was VERY noisy. There is a fair amount of traffic on the street in front of the inn and you could hear every car very plainly from inside the room. At about 3 in the morning the security guard was sweeping up leaves and trash in the patio area and we heard it quite loudly - it woke us up.

Tres Palmas has a nice courtyard area that is actually splint into about 3 areas. They offer a small pool and two fairly new hot tubs. Both worked well, but they had so much chlorine in them that my swimming trunks were totally faded out after one use. Not good.

They have a couple of hammocks which are wonderful to relax in! The breakfast seating area is in the courtyard with a view of the ocean. A most pleasant place to eat breakfast! The breakfast itself was ok, but not great. Very few choices and it was about the same every day. No pastries, but cake was available instead. The breakfast area was not well attended to by the staff, but if you opened the door into the kitchen they would promptly replenish or correct whatever you brought to their attention.

The staff was excellent. Very nice and very helpful. The buildings were older, but you could tell they try to keep them maintained, but maintenance in Puerto Rico is not to the same standard as in the states, so you have to adjust your expectations somewhat. The inn is very laid back and relaxing and is away from the hustle and bustle of luxury hotels and the like. The inn is only a few minutes from the airport and only a few minutes from Old San Juan and the taxi service is very good so we used that to get around. Parking is only on the street and very limited around the inn, so if you rent a car you may have to park down the street a ways, depending on how many people are already parking on the street.

If you drive or go by taxi, it is HARD to find the place at night. They have NO sign that is lighted at night and everything on the street is behind concrete walls with iron bars on top! So, they all look alike. Even our taxi driver had trouble figuring out exactly which "house" it was at night.

Overall, we did enjoy our stay and would probably stay there again. They do not charge luxury hotel rates, so one should not expect a luxury hotel, which we did not expect. I think it is a very good value for the money, but the owners need to do some modernizing and updating in my opinion. There is a lot they could do to make the inn much more pleasurable. The do an excellent job of trying to accommodate your needs and wishes and go out of their way to be helpful.

Room Tip: Room choice depends on personal desires. #1, 2, and 18 are in front so quite noisy. Other rooms may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, WI
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We have nothing but positive memories of Tres Palmas. The front desk staff, especially Luis & Helen, were gracious & friendly (there was another fellow there too, but I didn't get his name) and very knowledgeable about the area.

We're not all-inclusive folks, and liked the smallness, casualness & comfortableness of this hotel. Our reservation was for an entire week and we have no regrets.
We stayed in the Ocean View Suite which was lovely and afforded us a private balcony overlooking the ocean. The room was more than clean enough for us. The beach in front was great for wading in and bobbing in the waves, Ocean Park beach just to the east is large/long enough to afford a good 30 - 40 minute walk. The pool is small but was very refreshing after a long walk. The hot tub on the 2nd floor is a great amenity.

Restaurants are within a ten minute walk, not strenuous at all, and there are a variety of cuisines available. To get to the Super Mercado one needs a car or cab.

My only disappointment was the one I have everywhere, breakfast consisted mainly of foods I am allergic to - bananas & breads. My husband, however, was very happy with the offerings.
Never got to try out the bikes as there are only three but other guests seemed to enjoy their biking experience. San Juan is making a serious effort to promote bicycling.

Room Tip: I would call and ask for a description of the rooms before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunthirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for choosing Tres Palmas Inn during your visit to Puerto Rico! We are very happy to know that your experience was wonderful. Our staff works hard to meet the guests expectations. We do apologize for not having more breakfast options for your allergies. We do hope you come and visit again soon.

Once again thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,879 reviews
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#30 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,699 reviews
1.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tres Palmas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tres Palmas Inn

Property: Tres Palmas Inn
Address: 2212 Calle Park Blvd, San Juan 00913-4542, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tres Palmas Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tres Palmas Inn is a quaint and charming 20-room beachfront guest house built in the 1940's. We are located at Ocean Park Beach, which is the best beach for vacationers and locals alike in San Juan. Our rooms are mid-to-small sized but they have all the amenities you will need during your stay (air conditioning, LCD TV's with Dish, free High Speed Wi-Fi, refrigerator, private bathrooms, toiletries, etc.) We also have a secluded outdoor pool and a wonderful rooftop terrace with a hot tub overlooking the ocean, where you can have a drink while watching the sunset. Tres Palmas Inn is located in a residential area between two major tourist zones: Isla Verde and Condado. We provide daily complimentary Continental breakfast from 7:00AM to 10:00AM in our breakfast area overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Tres Palmas Inn doesn't have a restaurant but there is a wide variety of them within walking distance-anywhere from 10 to 15 minutes away. Check out our website for our local Restaurant Guide to find your new favorite place to eat! At Tres Palmas Inn we also provide our guests with complimentary beach chairs and beach towels, please ask for them at the Front Desk. Additionally, we have a Water Sports Center, Sotavento Watersports, where you can take Windsurf or Kiteboarding lessons and also rent kayaks, paddle boards, and snorkeling gear... At Tres Palmas Inn we will do our best to make your stay a memorable one, so give us the opportunity and we will show you why Puerto Rico Does it Better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Tres Palmas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Palmas Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing