We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Tres Palmas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tres Palmas Inn
Ranked #6 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dayton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

So ok, this is a Bed and Breakfast not a glamorous hotel with a casino. So don't book it if that is what you are looking for. But if you are looking for a cozy off the beaten path, feels like you are at your great aunts who lives in Puerto Rico, then this is the place for you. We stayed 2 nights before a cruise and one after. Our 1st room was #14, had a small but full kitchen and we loved our sitting area just outside our door. Even when the Canadians invaded it while waiting for their room. (Hi there Brothers, Sisters and Friend, if you are reading this :) The room was a nice size, and could sleep up to 4 we had 3 Adults. It also had a sitting and closet area. The last night we had room #12 OMGoodness, it was huge. It had a full kitchen, breakfast bar and stools (3) a hall way, large bedroom with a sitting area and full closet not to mention a full bathroom with tub and shower. Some of the rooms are said to be small, but not either of these. There are bikes, boogie boards and towels you can borrow, or just relax in the hammocks. It is gated and locked for security, but I never felt unsafe. We did walk to the grocery store a few blocks away, I wouldn't do it after dark though. It was a crazy walk. The blocks are not like here, and some roads are closed off with gates, so be sure to ask directions, or be ready for an adventure. All in all it was a great stay, I gave 5 stars, but I want you to know they are on island time and it is not perfect but it was perfect for us. And to top it off... Kudos to Issac the over night desk clerk, who when Ramon the taxi driver blew us off and was a no show at 3:30am (We booked him a week prior) Popped up and drove us to the airport. He got all of Ramon's fare plus tip plus more tip. Take that Ramon LOL (PS) Issac tried to give back all but $10, but it was worth the extra just to be on our way. So if you are looking for a nice relaxing place to stay on the beach (Across the street) with friendly people looking to please you, albeit on island time, this is the place for you. I would book it again if ever I get the chance to visit San Juan PR again. Oops, almost forgot, the breakfast was pretty good too. one day french toast with all the other stuff and one day pancakes. Set up so you are looking out at the beach. And both rooms had a safe.

Room Tip: We loved both 12 and 14, But 12 really was the cream of the crop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CruiseCriticKoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thank you for choosing Tres Palmas Inn! It thrills us to know you had such a wonderful experience. Here at Tres Palmas Inn we want our guests to feel comfortable as if they were in a home away home, so to see this title on you review males us very happy. We do hope to see you again on future visits to Puerto Rico.

Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    169
    60
    19
    5
See reviews for
117
320
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We only stayed here one night but it was perfect. Wish we could have stayed longer. The room was decent size and clean. Right across the street from the ocean, but there were rocks so it made it a bit difficult to swim but we still managed. Breakfast was great. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank katiewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Tres Palmas Inn for your overnight sleep! You should definitely stay again for a longer stay, this way you can enjoy to the fullest all of the amenities we have to offer. Thank you for taking the time to write this great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is the fifth time we have stayed at Tres Palmas Inn. Again, not one disappointment. The rooms are clean and the staff just as friendly as ever. They've done some remodeling and the Inn looks wonderful! Edwin, Helen and Marlene made suggestions about restaurants which were reasonably priced, close by and delicious.

The beach is right across the street and you can fall asleep listening to the waves crash. The sounds of the coqui frogs make that wonderful music all night long and it's so comforting. Their new hot tubs, one on the ground floor and one on the upper sundeck are clean, not too hot and are well cared for. The pool is crystal clear and maintained all day long by removing flowers that fall from the vines that are close by. The Tres Palmas Inn is our home away from home.

This visit, my wife who has very low vision, missed a step as she went to breakfast and fell. Marlene was very attentive and quickly got her the medical attention she needed. Further, Marlene gave us very good directions to the closest hospital to get the bump on my wife's head treated. Not only did she take good care of us then, she looked after my wife throughout the rest of the vacation. The owner of the hotel, Edwin, did as well. Her fall was by no means the hotel's fault and yet they were attentive and caring. Needless to say we missed breakfast that morning. But we made up for it the next!

Their breakfast bar is complete with fresh orange juice, milk, coffee, tea, lean cuts of meat, cheese, toast and usually a coffee cake or some sort of breakfast sweet as well as cereals and fresh fruit. All available to help yourself and go or stay and enjoy the morning leisurely in the courtyard that has ample tables and seating. You can also order pancakes, french toast or oatmeal from their kitchen and the service is fast and the food is hot and tasty.

If you're staying on the beach in front, they have lots of beach chairs, boogie boards, beach umbrellas and large beach towels all soft and fresh... all free of charge during your visit. If you feel adventurous and would like the use a bike to trek into town a little further, they have them available as well. Seriously, it doesn't get much better than this!

Tres Palmas has also incorporated yoga and palates for their guests and locals from the area. Although I have not experienced it there (or anywhere for that matter), I did hear from other guests that they enjoyed their experience. If you're really looking to try something new or you're a skilled water sports person, they have added Sotavento Water Sports right on the premises! Steps away and you can have a professional (yes a true professional in every sense of the word!) give you lessons in windsurfing, kiteboarding or paddleboarding at a very reasonable price. They also have windsurfing equipment rentals for those who already have it down.

All in all we spent 7 wonderful nights with the nicest and most accommodating people we have ever encountered in all our world travels. The Inn is reasonably priced and situated on the perfect beach and close to most everything. If you're not happy with anything, they will work their hardest to correct the problem (I really haven't found anything!) in a prompt and appreciative manner.

You will love staying here. You have their word on it. And mine as well.

Room Tip: Rooms 18, 15 and 1 are closest to the beach and the waves will lull you to sleep every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Rusty what an amazing review! We love having you here along with friends and family. You have definitely become a part of the Tres Palmas family. We hope that your wife is feeling better! We can't wait for your next visit, and you should definitely try the yoga, just for fun. We love having you here, it lets us know that we are doing a good job!

We will see you soon! Thank you for everything!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed with our 3 year old one night and it was a lovely hotel. We had a nice room on the main hall. We could put our little one to bed and sit outside our door on the patio. The pool was a great size for him and the rooftop deck was a nice place to eat take out. This isn't a fancy hotel, but it is clean and safe. It was what we needed for our family before heading west to Rincon. The only downside was parking. There isn't any, and when we arrived on a Sunday afternoon, it was hard to find street parking. Breakfast was nice. Just enough to start the day. Having breakfast at the hotel was key with a toddler.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for choosing Tres Palmas Inn! It thrills us to know that you and your lovely family enjoyed your stay. We hope that you stay again with us in future visits to Puerto Rico and we appreciate the time you took to write this great review.

Once again Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeffersonville, Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Spent one night at Tres Palmas but wish I could stay longer. Ocean right across the road from the Inn, staff very friendly and helpful, clean and tastefully decorated rooms, close to very good restaurants, and to the airport. Highly recommend this little Inn.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandiMarriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for choosing Tres Palmas Inn for your layover! We hope that you visit us again soon so that you can enjoy all of our amenities to the fullest. We are glad knowing that you had a good experience with us.
Once again Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My sister and I stayed here for 2 night to explore the city before heading to the beach at Luquillo. The staff was so friendly as were the other guests. We were right across the street from the beach and next door to a store with rental equipment for all kinds of water sports. There were several good international style restaurants about 3 blocks away. We were 1block from the bus stop to old San Juan and it only cost .75 each way. I loved that it was a small place ! Beach chairs and towels are provided as are bikes if you want to ride through the neighborhood.

Tres Palmas is charming. There were people from several other countries staying there and it was a great place to return to after spending the day sightseeing. I would love to go back there!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review! We are very exited with our new addition Sotavento Water Sports, were you can take Wind surfing lessons and rent paddle boards, kayaks and snorkeling equipment. Make sure you try some of the new things we are now offering on your next visit. We are happy knowing that you had such a wonderful time.

Once again thank you for this great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I, along with 4 of our friends, stayed here for one night pre-cruise and had a great stay. All the employees were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel had everything we needed for the night. The pool was very refreshing! The hotel is also in a good location right across the street from a nice beach - they will lend you towels and chairs so you can't take full advantage of the beach too! The hotel also is within walking distance to several restaurants and shops as well.

Breakfast was included with our stay - and it was great. There are a variety of things to choose from and they're all really good.

Old San Juan is a short taxi ride away. This place is a great place to spend a few nights for a reasonable price. We will come back when we return to San Juan in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank robnsue09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
We appreciate being the hotel of your choice for your layover. It thrills us to know that you had such a wonderful time here at Tres Palmas Inn!
We do hope to see you again soon so that yo can keep enjoying all of the amenities that we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,942 reviews
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.6 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#7 of 48 in San Juan
934 reviews
3.0 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tres Palmas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tres Palmas Inn

Property: Tres Palmas Inn
Address: 2212 Calle Park Blvd, San Juan 00913-4542, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tres Palmas Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tres Palmas Inn is a quaint and charming 20-room beachfront guest house built in the 1940's. We are located at Ocean Park Beach, which is the best beach for vacationers and locals alike in San Juan. Our rooms are mid-to-small sized but they have all the amenities you will need during your stay (air conditioning, LCD TV's with Dish, free High Speed Wi-Fi, refrigerator, private bathrooms, toiletries, etc.) We also have a secluded outdoor pool and a wonderful rooftop terrace with a hot tub overlooking the ocean, where you can have a drink while watching the sunset. Tres Palmas Inn is located in a residential area between two major tourist zones: Isla Verde and Condado. We provide daily complimentary Continental breakfast from 7:00AM to 10:00AM in our breakfast area overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Tres Palmas Inn doesn't have a restaurant but there is a wide variety of them within walking distance-anywhere from 10 to 15 minutes away. Check out our website for our local Restaurant Guide to find your new favorite place to eat! At Tres Palmas Inn we also provide our guests with complimentary beach chairs and beach towels, please ask for them at the Front Desk. Additionally, we have a Water Sports Center, Sotavento Watersports, where you can take Windsurf or Kiteboarding lessons and also rent kayaks, paddle boards, and snorkeling gear... At Tres Palmas Inn we will do our best to make your stay a memorable one, so give us the opportunity and we will show you why Puerto Rico Does it Better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tres Palmas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Palmas Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing