We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Post Cruise stay”
Review of Tres Palmas Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tres Palmas Inn
Ranked #4 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We decided to stay here after our cruise because we had stayed in Old San Juan prior. It was just two of us and we were really only there till the next day. We couldn't get into our room till after 3 so we put our bags in the lobby it seemed pretty safe there. We took a bus which was about a 5 block walk to the park around the corner then rode trolley around town to see the sights. Back to our room we went, it as a very small room just a bed and a bathroom with a tv a safe and a small window. Good enough for a few hours we left very early Monday morning. The only problem we had was no hot water and we didn't have time to have someone fixed it but they said they would be right on it. They try real hard to make a good stay for everyone making them feel welcome they are a little out of the way I would recommend having a rental car or lots of money for a cab. Trying to catch a bus is crazy in San Juan.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdolphins68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing Tres Palmas Inn for your stay. Here at Tres Palmas Inn there are different types of rooms, some are smaller than others. It is important to always read the description when booking so that you can choose the one that best fits your style. We do hope you had a good time while staying with us. We will keep on improving as much as we can.

Once again thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Helen, is all you need to know. She will make sure all is well, be it places to explore, restaurants to eat, pillows for your bed. She makes you stay the best it can be. Good moderately priced and a ocean view that is to die for. Nice breakfast each morning, nothing special but didn't have to be. Good people, good patrons equal a good time. We will be back!

Room Tip: If you don't mind steps take the upper room, beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sal20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Amazing review! Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. Our staff loves to be helpful to all the guests, so it is always a pleasure serving everyone. We will see you soon, and be ready for our new water sports center!

Once again thank you for this great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here after our cruise. We arrived early - around 10:30 but we were greeted enthusiastically and told we had full use of the facilities until our rooms were ready. One of our two rooms was ready pretty early so we changed and headed to the beach - having towels and chairs available was great. We also really loved the roof-top terrace. We walked to a supermarket for some refreshments and unfortunately, we either didn't get good directions, or didn't follow them very well, We walked a LONG way, and asked a lot of non-English speakers, before we finally found a supermarket. Our room (Room 3) was perfect - with a little goldfish pond right outside. The shower was hot and invigorating. There seemed to be quite a bit of noise at night, and in the early a.m. It didn't bother us too much but could be a drawback for some. Breakfast was great - the atmosphere can't be beat! One thing that was a little strange was the sign to request oatmeal or pancakes from the kitchen but we weren't sure where the kitchen was, or if we were supposed to go into an area where a woman appeared to be cooking. Once we made our request, we didn't know if we were supposed to wait right there, or if it would be brought to us. Just a minor thing, but we just weren't sure. We checked out on time, but had a few hours to kill before leaving for the airport, and again we were made to feel very welcome to "hang out". As others have mentioned, it would have been nice to have some food and beverages available for purchase, since there is really nothing nearby. We really didn't make a point of asking for lots of information or directions, and I am sure they would have been provided if we had. Still, a few sheets of information about where to go to eat and make some purchases would have been appreciated. Overall though, no complaints, and we loved the accommodations and the friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Room 3 is great for a short stay - just mini fridge, but spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherylBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

What a great review! Thank you for the tips and recommendations. We are always on the look out for things that we can improve. We are glad to know you had a good time for your layover and we do hope to see you again on future trips. Like mention before we are modifying little by little and we even added a water sports center. So make sure you visit and give it a try!

Tank you for taking the time to share you experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed for a week at the Tres Palamas. It is not luxurious but very adequate and the view is to die for! There is a roof top patio with a hot tub that looks out onto the ocean which is only across a two lane street. There is a long walkway that allows for walking along the ocean. The continental breakfast is more European than American but sufficient though no hot food. The Inn is in a non commerciall neighborhood but restaurants can be found a 10 minute walk away. The only problem we experiences was that a group of highschhol students who stayed several night were unruly and created a lot of noise. The security person did not take care of the situation even after we compained twice. However, the owners did apologize the next day. Other days, the inn was very relaxing and quiet.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view! Some rooms that do not have a view are quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwelhwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to know that you had a good time while staying at Tres Palmas Inn. We do apologize again for not handling the situation better with the high school students. It is not usual for this to happen, our inn is booked by more adult guests. We do hope for you to come and visit again on future visits to Puerto Rico.

Once again thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

So ok, this is a Bed and Breakfast not a glamorous hotel with a casino. So don't book it if that is what you are looking for. But if you are looking for a cozy off the beaten path, feels like you are at your great aunts who lives in Puerto Rico, then this is the place for you. We stayed 2 nights before a cruise and one after. Our 1st room was #14, had a small but full kitchen and we loved our sitting area just outside our door. Even when the Canadians invaded it while waiting for their room. (Hi there Brothers, Sisters and Friend, if you are reading this :) The room was a nice size, and could sleep up to 4 we had 3 Adults. It also had a sitting and closet area. The last night we had room #12 OMGoodness, it was huge. It had a full kitchen, breakfast bar and stools (3) a hall way, large bedroom with a sitting area and full closet not to mention a full bathroom with tub and shower. Some of the rooms are said to be small, but not either of these. There are bikes, boogie boards and towels you can borrow, or just relax in the hammocks. It is gated and locked for security, but I never felt unsafe. We did walk to the grocery store a few blocks away, I wouldn't do it after dark though. It was a crazy walk. The blocks are not like here, and some roads are closed off with gates, so be sure to ask directions, or be ready for an adventure. All in all it was a great stay, I gave 5 stars, but I want you to know they are on island time and it is not perfect but it was perfect for us. And to top it off... Kudos to Issac the over night desk clerk, who when Ramon the taxi driver blew us off and was a no show at 3:30am (We booked him a week prior) Popped up and drove us to the airport. He got all of Ramon's fare plus tip plus more tip. Take that Ramon LOL (PS) Issac tried to give back all but $10, but it was worth the extra just to be on our way. So if you are looking for a nice relaxing place to stay on the beach (Across the street) with friendly people looking to please you, albeit on island time, this is the place for you. I would book it again if ever I get the chance to visit San Juan PR again. Oops, almost forgot, the breakfast was pretty good too. one day french toast with all the other stuff and one day pancakes. Set up so you are looking out at the beach. And both rooms had a safe.

Room Tip: We loved both 12 and 14, But 12 really was the cream of the crop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CruiseCriticKoval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for choosing Tres Palmas Inn! It thrills us to know you had such a wonderful experience. Here at Tres Palmas Inn we want our guests to feel comfortable as if they were in a home away home, so to see this title on you review males us very happy. We do hope to see you again on future visits to Puerto Rico.

Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We only stayed here one night but it was perfect. Wish we could have stayed longer. The room was decent size and clean. Right across the street from the ocean, but there were rocks so it made it a bit difficult to swim but we still managed. Breakfast was great. Would stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank katiewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for choosing Tres Palmas Inn for your overnight sleep! You should definitely stay again for a longer stay, this way you can enjoy to the fullest all of the amenities we have to offer. Thank you for taking the time to write this great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

This is the fifth time we have stayed at Tres Palmas Inn. Again, not one disappointment. The rooms are clean and the staff just as friendly as ever. They've done some remodeling and the Inn looks wonderful! Edwin, Helen and Marlene made suggestions about restaurants which were reasonably priced, close by and delicious.

The beach is right across the street and you can fall asleep listening to the waves crash. The sounds of the coqui frogs make that wonderful music all night long and it's so comforting. Their new hot tubs, one on the ground floor and one on the upper sundeck are clean, not too hot and are well cared for. The pool is crystal clear and maintained all day long by removing flowers that fall from the vines that are close by. The Tres Palmas Inn is our home away from home.

This visit, my wife who has very low vision, missed a step as she went to breakfast and fell. Marlene was very attentive and quickly got her the medical attention she needed. Further, Marlene gave us very good directions to the closest hospital to get the bump on my wife's head treated. Not only did she take good care of us then, she looked after my wife throughout the rest of the vacation. The owner of the hotel, Edwin, did as well. Her fall was by no means the hotel's fault and yet they were attentive and caring. Needless to say we missed breakfast that morning. But we made up for it the next!

Their breakfast bar is complete with fresh orange juice, milk, coffee, tea, lean cuts of meat, cheese, toast and usually a coffee cake or some sort of breakfast sweet as well as cereals and fresh fruit. All available to help yourself and go or stay and enjoy the morning leisurely in the courtyard that has ample tables and seating. You can also order pancakes, french toast or oatmeal from their kitchen and the service is fast and the food is hot and tasty.

If you're staying on the beach in front, they have lots of beach chairs, boogie boards, beach umbrellas and large beach towels all soft and fresh... all free of charge during your visit. If you feel adventurous and would like the use a bike to trek into town a little further, they have them available as well. Seriously, it doesn't get much better than this!

Tres Palmas has also incorporated yoga and palates for their guests and locals from the area. Although I have not experienced it there (or anywhere for that matter), I did hear from other guests that they enjoyed their experience. If you're really looking to try something new or you're a skilled water sports person, they have added Sotavento Water Sports right on the premises! Steps away and you can have a professional (yes a true professional in every sense of the word!) give you lessons in windsurfing, kiteboarding or paddleboarding at a very reasonable price. They also have windsurfing equipment rentals for those who already have it down.

All in all we spent 7 wonderful nights with the nicest and most accommodating people we have ever encountered in all our world travels. The Inn is reasonably priced and situated on the perfect beach and close to most everything. If you're not happy with anything, they will work their hardest to correct the problem (I really haven't found anything!) in a prompt and appreciative manner.

You will love staying here. You have their word on it. And mine as well.

Room Tip: Rooms 18, 15 and 1 are closest to the beach and the waves will lull you to sleep every night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen Q, Guest Relations Manager at Tres Palmas Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Rusty what an amazing review! We love having you here along with friends and family. You have definitely become a part of the Tres Palmas family. We hope that your wife is feeling better! We can't wait for your next visit, and you should definitely try the yoga, just for fun. We love having you here, it lets us know that we are doing a good job!

We will see you soon! Thank you for everything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2.1 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.5 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
4.6 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,204 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,921 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tres Palmas Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tres Palmas Inn

Address: 2212 Calle Park Blvd, San Juan 00913-4542, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: £77 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tres Palmas Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tres Palmas Inn is a quaint and charming 20-room beachfront guest house built in the 1940's. We are located at Ocean Park Beach, which is the best beach for vacationers and locals alike in San Juan. Our rooms are mid-to-small sized but they have all the amenities you will need during your stay (air conditioning, LCD TV's with Dish, free High Speed Wi-Fi, refrigerator, private bathrooms, toiletries, etc.) We also have a secluded outdoor pool and a wonderful rooftop terrace with a hot tub overlooking the ocean, where you can have a drink while watching the sunset. Tres Palmas Inn is located in a residential area between two major tourist zones: Isla Verde and Condado. We provide daily complimentary Continental breakfast from 7:00AM to 10:00AM in our breakfast area overlooking the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. Tres Palmas Inn doesn't have a restaurant but there is a wide variety of them within walking distance-anywhere from 10 to 15 minutes away. Check out our website for our local Restaurant Guide to find your new favorite place to eat! At Tres Palmas Inn we also provide our guests with complimentary beach chairs and beach towels, please ask for them at the Front Desk. Additionally, we have a Water Sports Center, Sotavento Watersports, where you can take Windsurf or Kiteboarding lessons and also rent kayaks, paddle boards, and snorkeling gear... At Tres Palmas Inn we will do our best to make your stay a memorable one, so give us the opportunity and we will show you why Puerto Rico Does it Better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tres Palmas Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tres Palmas Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing