We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff, poor rooms.”
Review of Hosteria Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hosteria Del Mar
Ranked #18 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We recently booked a room at this hotel the night before our departure from the island. The hotel lobby was very nice
and Josh greeted us with a smile and was really a nice receptionist. The inconvenience was at first the room. I booked a small standard room but sadly it was the worst room. It definetly needs to be remodeled. The walls were kind of dirty and the door from the inside seemed to be falling apart. Then I had an inconvinience with the hot water so I had to go ask front desk but thankfully Josh helped me right away with the water and let me know that since their water is heated by a solar heater it might take a while. When we finally showered we went out to dinner but found out their kitchen had closed at 10 so we had to go out to another restaurant for a meal. When we got back we heard the news that we had been upgraded to better room at their sister property Olive Boutique and then finally we had a great room. Overall, this property has a good location and their staff are very helpful but some of their rooms need a serious update.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Htakaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
There are newer reviews for Hosteria Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

Went to Hosteria for lunch and to spend the day at the beach. The staff was very inattentive and were not even willing to serve us as the beach even though we were renting their hotel chairs and umbrellas. We ordered from the restaurant an the food took more than an hour, after they came back 3 times to tell us that they did not have that item or ingredient back in the kitchen. The restaurant did not even have bread or wraps!!! when half of their menu include these items. It was a really disappointing experience. Overall service needs to improve and food inventory apparently as well. Seems to me that the hotel is short staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

After our trip back from Culebra islands we stayed here , the rooms were very clean room service was good ,it came with kitchen so we cooked our food .Its very close to beach with in steps away ,also close to nearby San Juan attractions El Morro,Old San Juan or just having San Juan PR local experience.
Recommend for stay to experience San Juan at a beatable value.

Room Tip: Be prepared for some traffic around, getting to the hotel can be tricky esp with GPS as entrance Oce...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SushNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I was nervous going into this because it wasn't a common name. But our experience was fantastic. My wife and I were extremely please with the helpful service of Christopher at the front desk. Not only did he go out of his way to give us one of the best rooms in the hotel, but he helped us navigate good restaurants on our low budget. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to San Juan.

Room Tip: Take a room on the first floor that is facing ocean side.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My husband and I renewed our wedding vows at this beautiful beach venue. The space provided by the hotel was awesome. Felix was there along with Sonia from Healing Flowers,our wedding planner, to meet every need we had. The beach area was beautiful as was our private reception area. The food was delicious and the service by Felix impeccable. We are grateful that our memorable ceremony was held there. Thank you to all the staff..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 2clown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

It's no a four star hotel, but if you're looking for great beach time, close to good food joints this is great place. I stayed with my wife for a weekend and had a blast. It's a little bit small, but it's cozy and the service is good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verdeguer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I am a local wedding planner and I rented a private dinning area for a 40th anniversary for a destination couple. As always my experience in Hosteria del Mar is always fantastic as a regular customer. But as vendor was outstanding!!! I was so pleased of working with Felix, Waiter and Christopher, Event Coordinator, they were superb in every detail, service and preparation. I would recommend this hotel and dinning. Keep up the Great Service!!!!
SOnia

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soni0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
1.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
2.0 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,192 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
1.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Del Mar

Address: 1 Tapia St | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: £85 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hosteria Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosteria del Mar is located on the beach in one of San Juan's top touristic spots. Our ocean front rooms have an unforgettable view to the sea. All rooms have air conditioners, cable TV, Mini Bars and private baths. Try our breakfast, lunch and dinner at UVVA Restaurant where you may enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of local and International cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hosteria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Del Mar Hotel San Juan
Hosteria Del Mar San Juan
Hosteria Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing