We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of Hosteria Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hosteria Del Mar
Ranked #16 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I had a great time in Hosteria del Mar. It had a great location, right on the beach. The food was great, the drinks were fantastic (Rum Don Q is awesome!) and the service was excellent. Edgardo Rosario, the manager, was awesome. He gave great advise on things to do and places to go; he was very helpful during my trip. I really wish my vacations had lasted longer.

Have fun when you visit the island and say hi to Edgardo!

Room Tip: Ocean view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 409 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

Hosteria Del Mar is the perfect place to enjoy a romantic vacation! Such a beautiful hotel located literally at the beach! Sitting down in their lovely deck to have some drinks with your other half while seeing the sunset is just priceless! The food and customer service are excellent! Special thanks to Edgardo Rosario who was more than welcoming !!!! Hope to be back really soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarielizCollazo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OHYEAHCorp, Guest Relations Manager at Hosteria Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear MarielizCollazo,

Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel, it is very much appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed our beach deck and the fantastic views; it really is a tranquil spot and a perfect place to spend your vacation. Again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to our resort soon.

Best Regards,
Josh Ortolazza and our entire at Hosteria Del Mar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

The location of the perfect. The beach is great and love the food of the restaurant. I have a wonderfull experience in the hotel in the future I will come back to stay a few days more. Thanks to Edgardo for all.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arrv94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

I booked this room for the price we stayed 4nights for 300 bucks we didn't really know what to expect this hotel is located in a gated community of condos near ocean park it was very hard to find we rented a car if you get lost call the hotel they will help you as for the hotel we arrived and our room was hot as hell it was cooler outside we complained and they moved us to another room upstairs for the night the ac worked GREAT the next the next morning they moved us
To our final room which that AC worked great also the rooms are very basic but clean I honestly was excepting a horrible experience but this is a very cute quaint quiet hotel located in a GREAT beach Christopher who worked the
Overnight shift was our favorite he gave us tips for the island don't order the drinks at the hotel they are horrible and way way overpriced just run to the local gas station Puma for your goodies it's right across the street from the gate entrance parking truly wasn't bad either on the weekend it is crowded but we always found a spot as for showers I never had cold water take one early in the am I had warm water which was fine with me since its 100 degrees outside also mangos across the street was a great place for food and drinks very LOCAL scene and eat at Kasalta right down the road a local bakery local favorite president Obama even has been there great pastries the drive to old san juan wasn't bad either about 20minutes unless you hit night traffic overall I would stay here again for the price and value we got a very authentic local feel to this area we loved it just be careful at night outside the gates it was sketchy dont take any valuables oh yeah and for another favorite local restraunt eat at bebos yummy book here if you like cheap and clean basic charming one off places !!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaylakay1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a wonderful time at Hosteria. If you're looking for a 5 star resort, this is not the place for you. If you're looking for a quintessentially cheerful beach hotel I highly recommend Hosteria.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant in the hotel was delicious and convenient for our last day.

Front desk staff, Christopher, was extremely helpful in guiding us to the right El Yunque tour.


My only negative review is of the water heater. The
hotel uses solar power and two of our days were cloudy. This lead to chilly showers.

The hotel was more than worth it's price. We loved our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Great location, awesome view and the best customer service. Thanks to Edgardo Rosario for all the city advice, attentions and for making us feel like home. In love with Hosteria del Mar. We will DEFINITELY go back SOON!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria_Alexandra460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We loved this little inn! It's nestled in a quiet, private gated residential area, about one mile down the beach from the noisy Condado area. We stayed 10 nights and couldn't have been happier. Our room opened right onto the patio facing the beach. I put on my swimsuit each morning and walked right out barefoot to enjoy the morning sun and waves. The onsite restaurant is amazing! We tried nearly every dish during our stay and there wasn't a disappointment. Mateo, Graciela, and Juan Carlo took great care of us in the restaurant and bar. Gladys was so helpful in arranging a special excursion for us, and Oscar and Edgardo were eager to make every moment enjoyable. Our deepest gratitude goes to Christopher for so many "extras": excursion planning, birthday dinner, fixing the AC, and always giving us a big smile when we passed his way. We thought the location was perfect, close to a great bakery/diner and convenience store, close to a bus line that took us into Condado and Old San Juan for just 75 cents. (Taxi prices are outrageous!) I will recommend Hosteria del Mar to everyone I know because you can't beat the price for such a sweet experience right on the beach!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keepclimbing57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#21 of 47 in San Juan
831 reviews
0.6 mi away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#5 of 47 in San Juan
976 reviews
4.4 mi away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#3 of 30 in San Juan
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Del Mar

Address: 1 Tapia St | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: £108 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hosteria Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**Due to Hurricane Maria, Hostería del Mar will be temporarily closed until 11/30/2017. However, our restaurant UVVA is currently open to the public!** Hosteria del Mar is located on the beach in one of San Juan's top touristic spots. Our ocean front rooms have an unforgettable view to the sea. All rooms have air conditioners, cable TV, Mini Bars and private baths. Try our breakfast, lunch and dinner at UVVA Restaurant where you may enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of local and International cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hosteria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Del Mar Hotel San Juan
Hosteria Del Mar San Juan
Hosteria Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing