We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Hosteria Del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hosteria Del Mar
Ranked #17 of 29 San Juan B&B and Inns
Abington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Hosteria is a charming guest house! Service and staff were wonderful. Beach is amazing. The place is charming. No, it is not like a large hotel, but that's the point. Everyone was so friendly. Super romantic. I loved it and will be back again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    116
    62
    48
    69
See reviews for
65
153
28
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key Largo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We expected more for the price. The beach is beautiful and the service is very good. The room however is fair. It is clean but very worn. We didn't have cups or glasses for water and had to purchase water bottles from the "mini bar". There was no handsoap in the bathroom. It is unlikey we will stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Seguin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Nice, quiet location, but the beach was below average compared to others we visited on that trip. Our room was clean, but that's about all it had going for it. Way overpriced for what you got. I travel all over the Caribbean and stay at much nicer places for a lot less. Very rude front desk clerk as mentioned in other reviews. Won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveHolcomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Hostaria del Mar is pleasantly tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the commercial side of San Juan. Situated in the quiet gated community of Ocean Park this hotel offers a getaway with its own private beach, restaurant and bar without being far from the action (Condado is about a 20 minute walk away). The location is not central but There are shops and a few restaurants about 10 minutes walk away. If buses are your transport option this hotel is not conveniently located but for taxis and rental cars it is no problem.

Staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and cooperative. We felt we received personal attention and advice from everyone while we were there with genuine warmth. They were willing to suggest lots of places to explore, tours to go on and restaurants to eat in. After staying in some of the larger chain hotels it was a welcome experience to be speaking with friendly locals rather than robotic out of towners.

The decor of the place is charming with a stylish beach theme. The rooms are clean while a little more plain than the lobby area. It's a nice change from the cookie cutter package hotels.

The restaurant is more on the pricey side but does some nice fare.

Unseen positive: They can lend you a computer or a tablet to use in the lobby area.

Major plus: the hotel is literally on the beach. Some rooms are about five metres from the water.

Downside: The water is solar-heated so it takes forever to come on and when it does it is luke-warm at best. Also it seems that the Wi-Fi is only accessible from the restaurant, lobby or lounge areas so you might have to be social!

I recommend it if you are looking for a special experience with warmth, romance and flavour.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the ground floor with access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Simons Island Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel should be closed by the health department. There was no hot water. Guests were asked to not flush toilet paper in the toilet, but rather put the used toilet paper in an open bucket. The shower ran water all over the floor and no bath mat, so the entire floor in the room got soaked. They did not give us the rooms they had confirmed. The entire place is filthy and run-down. We waited over an hour to get served in the restaurant. We checked out the next morning and went to another hotel. We went to this hotel 12 years ago and it was a jewel right on the beach. It has been mis-managed and simply neglected. Do not go there!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SALVAGE20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Or for that matter coffee. My first day started with the most unfriendly front desk clerk in history giving me SALT instead of sugar for my coffee. The second day it was cold, and the third day I was told that the policy on coffee had changed and that I would have to pay. Really. By that point my money was better spent elsewhere. Now for the sleep, the cleaning people arrived at 5am and screemed at each other down the hall until you are forced to do the same thing and yell back. Still nothing changed, pillows over my head. Bring earplugs. The place is falling down around itself and needs someone who cares to take over. Everything from the bar to the tables are makeshift crap. There is supposed to be a person to help with the lounge chairs, but is never anywhere to be found, and they are taken by people not even staying a the hotel, so good luck with finding a place to lie down. I had one meal during my stay out of desperation (Christmas Day) everything I wanted they didn't have, and what I did have Pork on a bed of potatoes was almost too salty to eat! Merry Christmas to me!
What ever you do, don't stay in a room on the first floor if you have to stay here at all.

Room Tip: Anything not on the first floor. Too much congregation by staff that talk non-stop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived at Hosteria del Mar on New Year's Eve, expecting the apartment we booked to look at least slightly similar to the apartment in the photos on the website. Unfortunately we were shown to Apartment 2, a shockingly inadequate accommodation. The kitchen was dirty, there was no fridge, an ancient stove, one cup (yes, one cup), no silverware, no glasses and a couple of old saucepans. The sofa was covered by an old blanket, cunningly designed to hide the rips and stains on the sofa. The bed cover was bleach stained in places, and the curtains in the bedroom were uneven and dirty. The closet doors were broken, and there were just 3 sad metal hangers inside. All in all, this apartment was a disgrace and should never have been rented out, and certainly not at the price we were paying. We complained to the young woman on reception who was embarrassed to tell us that no managers were on duty, that the hotel was full, and that nothing could be done. We started gathering equipment from the bar - glasses, spoons, etc so that we could attempt to stay in the apartment since it was late on New Year's Eve and we couldn't face searching around for somewhere else to stay at that time. We requested, and were given, a light bulb as there was no light in the living room. We fitted it ourselves. Then the receptionist came by and told us that the owner had an apartment around the corner that we could move to. We trooped about 50 yards away and were shown a perfectly acceptable rental apartment in a nearby apartment block - not fancy but clean and well-equipped. We immediately accepted the offer to move, and spent a very pleasant 5 days in that apartment.
We called into the hotel a number of times that week, to access the beach, eat at the restaurant, etc. We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful though surprisingly untrained. The food we ate there was good, especially the brunch, but the restaurant was a bit grim - bare tables in the evenings, no decorations to speak of, a very depleted wine list, etc. it compared badly with the very pleasant Pamela's just 5 mins walk away at Número Uno hotel.
So this review is somewhat mixed. We were appalled that a hotel would dare to try to charge good money for such an dreadful apartment. But we ended up in a perfectly acceptable rental, and we found the hotel staff to be pleasant. We were told that new owners had just that week taken over the hotel. The staff were feeling optimistic about what these new owners might bring. I do hope they see the potential in this well-placed little hotel and turn the business around. At the very least I hope the new owners understand that in the age of Trip Advisor and other travel review sites, you just can't get away with ripping off customers with a sub-standard product.
For the record, we were not expecting a luxury experience. We deliberately chose a small private hotel over a mega resort/casino as we prefer our money to go to local businesses than to multi-nationals. Our standards are not super-high but we know a rip off when we see one.

Room Tip: Avoid Apartment 2. We peeked into a few regular rooms and they looked fine. Maybe it is just Apt 2 t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
1.6 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.6 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#30 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,879 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
1.5 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Del Mar

Property: Hosteria Del Mar
Address: 1 Tapia St | Ocean Park, San Juan 00911, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hosteria Del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosteria del Mar is located on the beach in one of San Juan's top touristic spots. Our ocean front rooms have an unforgettable view to the sea. All rooms have air conditioners, cable TV, Mini Bars and private baths. Try our breakfast, lunch and dinner at UVVA Restaurant where you may enjoy a unique gastronomic experience of local and International cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hosteria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Del Mar Hotel San Juan
Hosteria Del Mar San Juan
Hosteria Puerto Rico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing