We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location.......”
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed in ocean view room on 18th floor and it had amazing views . Room itself is ok nothing great for being a 4 star hotel.Restuarants ,pool and casino is good.Location is great and walking to several restaurants, 15 minute from old san jaun,15 minute from airport,45 minute from fajardo.
We had two rooms - had no problem with one room ,but 2nd room has different problem everyday..one days sink broke,2nd day bathtub-but they gave us credit of $ 100 for inconvenience.Overall nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ishsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,210
    2,218
    577
    210
    132
See reviews for
1,804
2,368
180
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,947)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Great place family friendly, clean, spacious rooms--awesome lobby bar!!!

Room Tip: booked a suite family of four worth every penny for the space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucia78NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This was my first time in San Juan, Mexico and the Marriott Resort was great! The rooms were nice and the free internet is a plus! The restaurant at the resort has the best breakfast buffet you can ask for but what really made it a treat was our waiter Sonny. He was so friendly, helpful and just the nicest person we saw everyday. Even Wendell the bar manager outside was great to us everyday. They really have a good staff here. Great location, pleanty of local bars and shops in the area. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunnellon, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed one night at the Marriott Stellaris Casino in April of 2012 before taking a southern Caribbean cruise on Royal Caribbean. We arrived early and figured we would have to sit around for hours before the room was ready, but to our surprise....the desk clerk placed us in a room asap. I think because we hit it off with her and treated her kindly, she got us a room immediately (I saw other people sitting around waiting for their rooms!!). Our Ocean front room was really nice! It was so clean and the bed was something I just did not want to get out of! The weather was horrible and raining so that killed any idea of heading to the pool or beach :( We decided to go for a walk and hit a local restaurant (the hotel restaurant was pretty pricey and we were not in the mood for the Italian menu choices).
The next day we did have lunch at the cafe in the lobby that served sandwiches and really nice salads. The two of us ate for $20.00 including a coke and diet coke. We then took advantage of the gorgeous beach for the day! They have employee's on the beach that will seat you wherever you want....they retrieve the chair for you and you only have to direct them to the spot that suits you!
Very nice hotel that we will stay in again when we are in Puerto Rico! Nice area a well......

Room Tip: Pay the $20.00 extra when they offer to upgrade your room! It is well worth it for the oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherri9360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We came to San Juan to celebrate my niece's college graduation with her sister and my cousin. From the time we arrived at the Marriott we were treated royally! I would love to know who trains the staff on their customer interactions because they deserve a raise - everyone, and I mean everyone, was warm, friendly, accommodating and eager to make our stay even more enjoyable. My cousin lost a piece of jewelry and the security guards were extremely helpful (though unsuccessful so far in finding it).

The hotel is in a great location, the sand, surf and pool provide a nice setting for water activities, and the casino is an added bonus if you like to gamble. This is not the poshest hotel I've ever stayed in, but the service is on par (and exceeds) other more luxurious hotels. I look forward to going back to Puerto Rico and would definitely love to return to the Marriott!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eastcoast1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed at the hotel Memorial Day Week 2012. We arrived early from a red eye flight from LA and the room was not yet available. The very nice front desk agent welcomed us warmly and gave us access to the gym/spa so we could change and drive around Old San Juan first, but they called right away to advise that the room was now available. The lobby is a very busy bar at night-it is wonderful for young people but it might be too noisy for older guests. The hotel is on Ashford so it is very centrally located, next to a Starbucks and Walgreens for everything you need, clubs and restaurants. We got an oceanfront room, so it was fantastic.
The room is spacious and has all the Marriott amenities, including internet which is part of the resort fee. Parking is separate, so it could up if you are staying several days. The pool is not huge by Caribbean resort standards, but adequate since you will spend most days out on tours anyway to El Yunque and Old San Juan. Staff were very nice. My Puerto Rican friend waited until we checked out to say that this was the site of the gruesome Dupont Plaza arson fire of 1986! No traces of the ghosts or restless spirits though. I would gladly stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichieSel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just got back from our stay at the Marriot. Overall I would highly recommend it.
The staff was excellent and very friendly. When hearing that it was our anniversary, the clerk at the front desk gave us a free upgrade to a corner room with two balconies and a partial beach view.
The pool area was not huge but it did have two seperate pools and was very nice. Other reviewers have complained that the pools were too shallow. The adult pool was deep enough to float around in and do a little swimming though you wouldn't be able to play water polo in it.
The beach was decently sized. The water was perfect for swimming and a little body surfing though this may change depending on the season and weather.
The casino was small but well run and had a decent assortment of slot machines and table games. If your expecting the MGM Grand you will be disappointed but if you remember that you're not in Vegas or Atlantic City I think you'll enjoy yourself.
The hotel lobby and bar were nicely designed and staff was easy on the eyes. The crowd around the bar seemed to be mostly having a drink or two before heading out somewhere else. The bar at La Concha seemed to be a more happening place. Prices for drinks were a little on the high side but were comparable to other places in the vicinity.
There are numerous restaurants in the neighborhood. The street scene is lively at night with people dining al fresco, out for walks, etc. It is very safe.
There is a Walgreens nearby to buy toiletries, snacks, drinks and alcohol. The rooms come with a minifridge so this is a perfect way to save a little money on your drinking.
Our room included the free breakfast buffet which had a good assortment of choices. They normaly charge about twenty bucks for this so see if you can get this deal when booking your stay. We didn't have any other meals in the hotel because there were so many other places to eat nearby.
Our room was very clean, good sized and stocked everyday with bottled water, toiletries, clean linens, etc.
Overall the Marriott is a very nice hotel. I have stayed in better hotels but for the price, staff quality and location I would highly recommend
it to anyone taking a trip to San Juan.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChicagoErn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,033 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,199 reviews
3.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Property: San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907-1324, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing