We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Demand to be served by Maria Podesta”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Demand to be served by Maria Podesta”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

I spent with my two kids and wife six days at this Marriott. Maria was by far the most helpful and serviceable of all beach and restaurant staff. The property is nice; But her service was by far the best.

Hotel room 917 has a great view of the ocean and extra space for rollaway's for the kids.

Thank you Marriott and Maria for all the memories.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Elias G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,127
    2,178
    570
    209
    130
See reviews for
1,747
2,324
174
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,915)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our family of four stayed at the Marriott San Juan for five nights in December. The room was very comfortable, and overlooked the ocean. Every person with whom we interacted at the hotel could not have been friendlier or more helpful. This was a Priceline package deal, and everything was as advertized. We were very pleased with all aspects of our stay. We especially loved the excellent and friendly service by Juan Carlos at breakfast. We would definitely return to this hotel for another San Juan stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
982405
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

If you want to stay in/near San Juan, this hotel is a good choice. As Platinum Elite Members, we were looking forward to our stay and some of the upgrades/perks that P.E. Members get. Found out that the Concierge Lounge is closed the entire week of Christmas. Typically Platinum Elite members get priority for upgrades, however our room was on the city side, overlooking a roof, despite our request for ocean view. The hotel elevators and our room had a very musty odor throughout the entire stay - in fact, when we rinsed out our swim suits and hung them to dry overnight in the bathroom, they smelled moldy by morning - yuck! The beach is crowded and surf rough for young kids. The pool is crowded and the typical "chair savers" make finding a seat very difficult. Worse was the hot tub, filled with children of all ages at all times, despite the very large signs stating that kids under 12 were not permitted in the hot tub. Despite this, all of the staff members we encountered were cheerful and friendly; Carlos was particularly helpful. Overall, this was an okay stay, but I certainly don't think it is on par with La Concha down the street or any other Marriott resort I've had the pleasure to visit.

Room Tip: High floor = less noise from the lobby bar/band. Even on the 11th floor, we heard the bass thumping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 982405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear 982405;

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences encountered during your stay.

We value your loyalty as a Marriott Rewards Member and appreciate you taking the time to submit your review, as your comments will help us improve our service.

If you decide to stay with us again, please feel free to contact us directly at (787) 722-7000 Ext. 42.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed for 6 nights between Christmas and New Years. Hotel is fairly recently renovated. The pool and beach are nice, but do get crowded. Only ate at the Red Coral downstairs restaurant - food was good and reasonably priced for a beachfront hotel. Breakfast buffet was very nice.

Location is nice with lots of restaurant options on Ashford Ave in front of the hotel. Great Italian restaurant down about 3 blocks towards Old San Juan - Il Postino. Very good PR place - Yuerba Buena - about two blocks east. Starbucks across the street.

Platinum status gets you nothing at this hotel - box of jelly beans on check in.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EFE2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We arrived at 3:45 Christmas Day. The hotel says there is a 4:00 check in time. Our room wasn't ready so we went to the bar for a drink ($12 for a drink at the pool bar) and waited until 5:00 for our room to be ready. As Elite Platinum Marriott members, a complimentary drink might have been nice.

When we got to our room, it smelled horrible and we had to keep the balcony door open the entire stay to keep the smell away, which made the air conditioner not work. The sound of the beach was so loud we got little sleep. We asked for a different room, but they said they were sold out.

After a trip to the grocery store in the morning to buy breakfast and lunch (the hotel prices are exorbitant!), I talked to the tour desk operator to get help booking activities for the family. I had to wait over 20 minutes in line. When I finally got to the front of the line, he was rude and unhelpful. He handed me a sheet of paper with the available activities. When I asked about some of them, he said none were available and told me to just sit on the beach and enjoy it as that was the only thing we could do.

At the pool, there is a large sign that says that beach chairs can not be reserved with towels or personal items. I was excited to see the policy as I have been to many resorts where people get up early, put a shoe on a chair and return late in the afternoon. This was not the case however. Although the sign states the policy, it is not enforced. We arrived at the beach at 9:30. All the chairs at the pool had towels or belongings on them. I watched them during the day and several chairs remained reserved and unused until late in the afternoon. The beach was jam packed, however we were able to squeeze ourselves into a spot and there were plenty of chairs piled up that one could get. The prime spots, however, were claimed by 7 a.m. by mystery guests that showed up around noon. The beach is VERY small and the waves huge which was fun for our family of older kids, but families with young kids should beware.

For our stay, there appeared to only be one or two waitresses working the beach area and they seemed to only focus on a few customers. Repeated attempts to flag anyone down were not successful.

We arrived back at the room to eat lunch and found the maid had been there and thrown out everything that was not nailed down. We had purchased plastic spoons and forks for lunch that were gone. The top to my VERY expensive face lotion was thrown out, so I had to throw it out at the end of the trip. Door to balcony was closed and room still smelled horrible!

After lunch we decided to hang out by the pool. Since it was raining, we managed to find a few chairs that were empty. The rain in PR is short lived so it cleared up after a few minutes. We sat by the pool and watched some 20ish boys eat lunch while standing in the pool, routinely dropping french fries and chips into the pool water. Disgusting!

On the positive side, the hotel is very close to good restaurants and right across the street from Starbucks. There is a grocery store about 4 blocks away that is good for sandwiches, drinks and fresh fruit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank amorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear amorrison;

We would like to thank you for sharing the feedback of your stay with us. It is sad to hear that we didn't met your expectations. We are going to share your review with our managers in order to identify the areas for improvement.

We would like to have the opportunity to host you again on the future, if you are willing to give us a second chance please feel free to contact us at (787) 722-7000 ext. 42.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was a great hotel. Great location on the main strip. Has a beach and pool. Beach gets shaded by the hotel in some areas so you will have to move your chair (or have the guys do it). Room was clean and the staff was great during the very crowded xmas week.

Room Tip: North side rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here for a one-night pre-cruise stay. Taxi fare from airport was $17.00. Check-in was quick. Room had nice city view and small balcony. Was not charged the resort fee as advertised. Rec'd coupon for two free welcome drinks; however, coupon is not valid after certain hours of the day so we were unable to use (we checked in around 4:30pm on a Saturday). Drinks at the bar fairly pricey. Bought coffee and pastry at the coffee shop in lobby. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,876 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,140 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,698 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Property: San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907-1324, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing