We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Levittown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great trip!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

My husband I spent 4 nights here last week. We had a great time! We had an ocean front room on the 8th floor. Room was very clean, not as fancy as some other resorts, but very comfortable. The ocean here is very rough to swim in but was great to go to sleep hearing the pounding surf. The air conditioning automatically turns off when the balcony door is open. We ended up each night closing it a some point to cool off the room. I swam in the pool a couple mornings before the families with kids took over. Not many kids on the beach. Salsa music and dancing in the lobby bar every night.

The food and drinks are expensive here. Walgreens is right across the street and we purchased beer, wine and soda to keep in the refrigerator in the room. No problem taking them to the beach. There is food and drink service on the beach if you prefer.

The casino was lots of fun, served free drinks while we played craps. There is a tiny Chinese restaurant in the corner of the casino, BEST CRAB RANGOON WE EVER HAD!

Great location, we walked to great restaurants: Oceano (seafood) on the beach couple blocks away, El Pasillito (Middle Eastern) on the same street. Café Lola, pricey but great atmosphere. Ummo Argentinian Grill delicious steaks! Pinky's for breakfast.

Took the bus to Old San Juan, beautiful old buildings, outstanding views, lots of shopping, dining, drinking! You need coins for the bus 75 cents each.

Every where we went including at the hotel, the people were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Joan D;

We would first like to thank you for choosing the San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino as your "home away from home", during your recent visit to Puerto Rico.

We appreciate all your feedback!

If you need any assistance in a future stay please contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,121
    2,177
    569
    209
    130
See reviews for
1,744
2,324
173
474
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,915)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was my second time staying at the Marriott San Juan and I have to say I had an even better experience the second time around!! Beautiful oceanfront balcony room on the 11th floor! The one draw back is that the beach is narrow and during certain times of day the hotel blocks the sunlight on the beach. Position yourself near the rocks tothe left of the building - get there early! you will have sun all day long! Went end of January - 85 and partly sunny everyday!!!

Room Tip: Room 1111 was our room and it was perfect for sitting on the balcony, overlooking the ocean! Definit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 935jenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamosa, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were upgraded to a pool side room that was perfect for our children. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job and were helpful when we had questions. The restaurants were very expensive but we were within walking distance of a Walgreens and Wendys. We missed our first flight to Puerto Rico and the hotel was very accomodating with changing our dates to stay. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay in a busy part of San Juan.

Room Tip: Poolside is the way to go if you have children. They are able to just dress and go straight to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hoyt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We arrived on a Friday and check in was very swift, we were able to get a room with views of the ocean and city on the 19th floor. We also received welcome drink which is always a nice touch. The hotel was in a perfect location in Condado with many restaurant options and shops around. I did not like the beach however, the waves are ROUGH! and the sand is not so nice either, we went to Isla Verde beach. We wanted to participate in yoga, however instead of being on the sand it was on a terrace type of structure which is hard, so we left. My biggest gripe with the room is no microwave. When we came back to the room and wanted something warmed up we had to walk all the way around the hotel until finally finding a manager who agreed, be even she seem a bit reluctant. The had live music and dancing in the lobby which was nice.All in all, nothing that blew me away, just average.

Room Tip: the higher the floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brittany b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarketingCommMgr, Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear brittany b:

Thank You for taking the time to submit feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced. We will share your comments with the corresponding team members in order to address your concerns. We value your opinion and hope to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We booked an ocean view room and enjoyed our recent stay at this very pleasant resort! The food, the drinks, the pillows ... and the very comfortable bed..... WONDERFUL!!!! The entire staff was pleasant! We would HIGHLY recommend this resort/casino!

Room Tip: OCEAN FRONT! The sound of the waves is awesome!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sde_03
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here for a 6 day stay - let me please advise
you to NOT STAY HERE! For the amount of of money we spent to stay, I consistently went out my way to accommodate myself, where they should have been
accommodating me. Be warned - this is not a typical Marriott in the worst sense
possible. Side note: Marriott Vacations is a 3rd party vendor of Marriott and
you are not actually booking directly with Marriott when utilizing their
service. Misleading.

Cliff note version:
I have never been treated so poorly or felt like such a burden to hotel staff
while on vacation. Rudest/most incompetent staff I have ever encountered. They literally ruined my vacation due to a series of unfortunate events and bad attitudes when I tried to resolve the issues. I read a ton of reviews online and wish I had heeded the advice of the bad reviews. We're pretty low-maintenance travelers and don't require special attention.

Detailed version:
In the first 36 hours we should have known we were in for a troubled stay.
Upon check in: we were early, our room was not ready. We waited almost FOUR
HOURS for our room. After we checked our bags with the concierge we were told
that we could change our clothes but we didn't have access to our bags at that
point without unchecking and rechecking them. Waited in a long line three times
at the lobby desk (once our initial check-in attempt, a second time to check
status and a third time to finally check-in).

I did my research on the area (first time in San Juan) and had the audacity to
ask the tour person about local attractions. He was annoyed by my questions and
made me feel like I was a burden for asking him anything (even though I booked a
tour worth a few hundred dollars with him for one of the attractions). I have
never apologized so many times to an employee of a hotel for asking basic
questions.

We went to our room on day 2 and our card key didn't work. Called security
and they let us into the room. Assuming it was our error (demagnetizing against
our credit cards) we made a conscious effort to keep the key in a separate
pocket once the issue was resolved. 10 hours later returned to our room and
the new key didn't work - our door is dysfunctional, it is not our/the key's
issue. Security called again to come let us into our room. When we finally did gain access to our room, cleaning service had not cleaned the room. We didn't even have clean towels to use. I called front desk and ranted a bit (too many inconveniences in too short a period of time). They issued us a $50 room credit to put towards our room charges and 2 vouchers for a free coffee and breakfast pastry at the hotel lobby coffee stand for the inconvenience. A nice gesture but not helping take the grey cloud out from over our stay up to this point. FYI - our bathroom was so
tiny the door would not fully open (oceanfront room).

While in casino, we were told we were standing too close to a table game by a
floor manager who asked if we could move away. I've been to Vegas, Atlantic
City, etc. I have never heard such a bizarre request. The waitresses DO NOT
want to help you or be there. I have never seen a more unhappy staff that has
made me, in turn, feel completely uncomfortable/unwelcome. They are miserable
and understaffed.

We were told that our "comp dollars" from gambling at the casino on the property
could be used towards our room credit and that we should call the night before
checkout to ensure he credits were applied to our final bill. We made the
arrangements for this to happen (which made us get transferred to about four
different people to re-explain what we were trying to accomplish over and over
again) the evening before we checked out. When we received our bill the morning
of checkout the credits were not applied to our bill. When I called the front
desk to ask why the credits were not applied to our bill, the gentleman at the
front desk actually got SASSY with me - telling me that's not what the receipt
reads. I assured him I had the receipt in front of me and if he had a different
venison of the receipt than I would like a copy of it with the updated/correct
charges prior to my check out.

The only bright spots were Richard who set us up with a beach chair and umbrella
and the kind security guards who let us into our room twice on the 2nd day when
our key/door malfunctioned (who we should have never come into contact with
since our door should work). The incompetent/unhappy staff far outweighs the
helpful staff.

This place is a disgrace and Marriott should be ashamed that their name is
associated with this property. The reason they receive one star is for a good location - it gives you plenty of options to escape from this property. I wish I had booked somewhere else. Please do yourself a favor and do just that!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank sde_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear sde_03;

We would like to thank you for the feedback provided from your recent stay with us. It is very disappointing to learn that your experience with us didn’t go as expected and we would like to truly apologize for all the inconveniences encountered. Our goal is to provide our guests with the best experience possible, so we’ll be sure to share and discuss your feedback with our managers in order to identify areas of opportunity for improvement and provide additional trainings to our associates.

We would love to have a second chance to provide you with an amazing stay, so please contact us directly at (787) 722-7000 Ext. 42 should you decide to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

There were two reasons why my wife and I selected this hotel for our stay in Puerto Rico from January 15 to 22, 2014. One was the location on Condado Beach and the beautiful ocean setting. The second reason was based on the reviews I had read about the hotel on Trip Advisor. Almost all of the reviews spoke about he great customer service provided at the hotel. They were right we had excellent customer from the moment we entered the hotel until the day we left. I might add that we had to unexpectedly extend our stay by one day because of the major snow storm in Philadelphia.

As I read the reviews during planning I was surprised that names were remembered of the staff. Now I understand because we had great help from Enrique, Raysa, Jose, and Samuel Lopez, the front desk manager.

We booked an ocean front room and it was worth the extra expense. Each evening we sipped cocktails on the balcony and watched the moon rise. It was wonderful.

Room Tip: I highly recommend getting an ocean room on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rykman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Rykman;

Your positive feedback from your recent stay in January is greatly appreciated.

Thank you for recognizing our excellent customer service; it really means a lot to us and to our associates. We'll be sure to share your comments with them as we are always looking for ways to impact our guests experience at our hotel.

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,873 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,695 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Property: San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907-1324, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing