We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother/daughter vacation ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mother/daughter vacation ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Pros:
-our oceanfront room was wonderful with a lot of space and was quiet. We enjoyed sitting outside on the balcony.
-Christian, the wonderful beach attendant who helped us get great seats right next to the water.
-location..we were within walking distance to great restaurants

Cons:
- the hotel staff was not friendly or welcoming.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chowbaby88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Chowbaby88;

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your ocean front room!

We'll be sure to share your comments about our staff with the property's management team in order to identify additional training opportunities.

Also, we will let Christian know that he was able to make your stay more pleasurable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,076
    2,162
    565
    208
    128
See reviews for
1,726
2,293
171
469
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,898)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

And i don't mean prostitutes and criminals either. My wife and visited the hotel celebrating our wedding anniversary. Being Platinum Elite members, we requested an upgrade. There was nothing available although our receptionist, Stephanie, gave us an ocean front room at 12:30. She also gave us points plus a bottle of wine and some primo nuts. A small con is that the room is tiny, tiny. Barely enough room for all our stuff. She said the room smelled stuffy (she also says I can't smell, or hear, either). You can multi-task in the bathroom, brushing your teeth while on the commode. The shower is wonderful. Beach is nice although crowded. Umbrellas, table, and chairs are complimentary. Staff is great, especially Jay in tours and Carlos in concierge. Been to many a Marriott and this one ranks right up there.

Room Tip: High floors (there are 20) are good coming down (they're not crowded) plus the view is fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docbutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Windsor, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We just returned from a wonderful get-away vacation in San Juan. Our time at the Marriott was so enjoyable. Loved being greeted with a delicious rum punch...even got one as a farewell! Accommodations were great; our ocean-front room was lovely. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, but our server, Angelo, made it the best! He was so attentive, personable, and fun!! Talked to him at length - he really took the time to make our stay memorable. We missed him when he had a couple of days off; but we got to meet and chat with his lovely wife, Diane, as well. Would definitely recommend the Marriott. And remember, ask for Angelo....he's the best! Thanks/Gracias

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank esp09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We spent a week at the hotel celebrating my wife's Birthday. The front desk manager David had our room ready when we arrived and the front desk staff was very professional particularly Kiara.
The beech staff was very diligent in making sure we were comfortable especially Rolando and Richard. I can not say anything negative about them or their teams, The beach bar service was also outstanding-Pedro and Maria in particular made sure our needs and thirsts were being met- great service was provided. The restaurant-La Vista was again outstanding. Humberto made sure my wife's birthday dinner was out of this world as did chef Cesare. The wait staff Ricardo, Marilyn and Jose. Karla at the restaurant reception always makes us welcome and remembers us from past visits. Humberto always makes sure we are happy with the food and service-great employee.
Breakfast was always a joy because of waiters Sony and Angelo. They keep us coming back because of their excellent service and attention.
The facility is also located so you can venture out to other locations but the beach is the best.

Room Tip: Rooms in the cabana in the higher floors give you an excellent view of the pool area and the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johngv47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

A great hotel. Our check in experience was smooth and easy. The bellhop was phenomenal!! He gave us some invaluable tips on connecting with our cruise. We only stayed one night, but found the room quite comfortable, plenty of room and nice finishes. We didn't have a balcony, but for one night not a big deal. The pool and beach are gorgeous. Starbucks right across the street was a plus for the addicts in our group :) As noted by some, it is definitely in the heart of a busy urban environment, but the pool and beach are well insulated from the bustle.

The attached restaurant, breakfast buffet was quite expensive for only average quality. I'd pass unless you're looking for the convenience of it being right there.

The drinks and snacks at the lobby bar on the other hand hit the spot.

For perspective, my rating of 4 "stars" is a very high rating, this is a great hotel. We've just enjoyed some really phenomenal botique hotels in major cities. Those are the type of place I give 5 "stars".

Room Tip: If I were staying more than one night get a balcony. Unless you like noise avoid the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Let me start off by saying you shouldn't rate a hotel based on how poorly you did at its casino, otherwise this review might not be so kind. :)

This is our last day at this Marriott before we head back to our dreadful Northeast winter. It was a quiet stay, during which we primarily stayed on property at the pool, beach or casino, with a brief visit to old San Juan and some local dining. All in all a pleasant escape from winter.

The place was sold out for our entire stay during spring break, but it really didn't feel like it was. The staff was attentive, it wasn't too noisy - save for one exception - and there were no problems getting poolside or beach chairs. And they were nice enough to give us a couple extra hours on our checkout time today, which is very much appreciated.

The pools are good - one has a swim up bar - the beach was fun as my teenage son and I enjoy getting tossed in the rough surf, but be careful. They had red flags posted every day of our stay. The current is strong and at the end of the beach there is a rough rock shelf. On the last full day there was a tremendous amount of seaweed in the surf, but not much the Marriott people could do about that. The pleasant trade winds make for a steady breeze that cools you well enough you might forget how long you've been baking in the sun.

Three negatives. 1) We asked for two high rooms with ocean views and received two rooms on the fifth floor which while technically have ocean views, those views are obscured by the tops of the palm trees right outside our balcony. Seeing as they were sold out, not much I could do. 2) The rooms are typical Marriott rooms, meaning they're fine, but do try to avoid Room 537. About every 30 minutes there is a click in the room, followed about five seconds later by a sound as if your door has just slammed shut. It was the darnedest thing. I investigated, but couldn't solve the issue. My kids' room next door didn't experience it, and the people above us weren't causing it either. By today it had become like my own personal tell-tale heart. I may have gone crazy in another day or two. 3) Eat. Off. Property. Either that or get some sort of meal plan. The food is priced ridiculously crazy - especially the breakfast buffet - and isn't really anything special. Luckily, there are many places to eat within a short walk and Old San Juan is a 10-minute cab ride away for even more dining options.

The casino is fun, especially during the day when it is sparsely populated. I wish they'd open up a few more types of games during the day, but before 5:00 it's primarily just black jack, mini baccarat and slots/video poker. Nice dealers and good table service as well. Just wish I'd won more! It's crazy packed at night however. Maybe not all the time, but definitely during spring break.

Also, I must say, there were A LOT of college kids at this Marriott during our stay and they were some of the most well-behaved spring breakers we've ever encountered. I'm sure they were tearing it up at night, but they didn't make a lot of noise, no loud partying, door slamming or any of the craziness I remember from my spring break days. You always worry about that when you're older and traveling with family. I don't know if the Marriott policed them or it was just good common sense, but they were no problem at all.

A very pleasant stay at this Marriott, one we would do again on a return trip to Puerto Rico, only in a different room. You'll have fun if you choose this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher than the fifth floor for a good ocean view and do not get room 537, unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

My family and I come here from New Jersey every year to visit family. Normally, everything is great. HOWEVER, this time we were very disappointed in the customer service. We had an awful experience with the night manager Samuel.. He was very rude and refused to make eye contact when we asked that he wrong a few mistakes. Next year, we will be staying elsewhere. Very upsetting.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Provenzan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MDelgado01, Marketing Coordinator at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Provenzan5;

Thank you for sharing with us the feedback from your recent stay at our property.

We are very disappointed to know that your customer service experience was not as expected. We will share your review with our Front Desk Managers in order to prevent this from happening again.

We would love to see you again, if we may assist you in the future please contact us at mhrs.sjupr.social.media@marriotthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,778 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,117 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,639 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Property: San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907-1324, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing