We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
La Grange Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Our first time to PR. We were in PR for a wedding. The property is located in the middle of Ashford Street which has restaurants and bars to the left and right. If you do not feel like eating in the hotel, take a walk and you will find many nice places to grab a bite. The beach is groomed every morning. Hit the beach and you will have a lounger and an umbrella in no time. The staff is courteous and friendly. The room we stayed in was more than adequate.
The hotel is busy. There were various prom dances during our stay which made for a crowded lobby at times. Nothing, however, like the crowd watching the Cotto boxing match on June 7. We decided to go down to the lobby to watch the fight as the hotel had set up TVs everywhere expecting a big crowd. They got one. The place was jammed. When Cotto's opponent failed to come out for the 10th round, the place went up for grabs. It was a stadium atmosphere. Awesome!
The pool area has a nice slide although the lower level pool could be a slight bit deeper. It is not a swimmer's pool.
The casino is small and the video poker machines were very tight. But, it's not Vegas so one can't be disappointed with a small casino. Old San Juan is about a 10 minute drive. The airport is about 15 mins away. We needed a late check out and, unlike some other hotels, when I asked for a late check out, I received a "sure" with a smile and not made to feel as if I was some sort of criminal for asking. Overall, a great stay.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view. You will prefer it to the opposite view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansRohrhbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Sebastian D;

We would first like to thank you for choosing to stay at our property during your first visit to Puerto Rico! We are delighted to know that you had a great time with us and truly appreciate all the great comments.

We look forward to seeing you again for a second time!

Sincerely;
Hans G. Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,135
    2,183
    570
    209
    130
See reviews for
1,754
2,326
175
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,918)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This hotel is certainly up to the Marriott standards you would expect. It is a clean, well run facility. From a resort standpoint, it is right on the beach, so you can lounge at the pool and take a short walk for a dip in the ocean, or lay on the beach and still have convenient access to the hotel facilities. I was there during "off-season" (June) and did not have any problem getting a pool chair, although it did get crowded on the weekend. The beach staff provided an umbrella and set up the beach chairs (no cost, just a tip). The attached casino is not huge but has sufficient tables/slots. Exercise room was clean with lots of equipment. There is a resort charge which includes wireless internet, and also a mandatory gratuity, which was not unreasonable but just be aware. I didn't eat at the hotel as there are plenty of lower priced options available in walking distance (try Pinky's for breakfast). Bus to Old San Juan was $0.75, exact change, cab back was $15. Cab to airport was $20.
The area around the hotel seemed safe enough, lots of police, but it was busy. Room was quite and comfortable with a decent size bathroom. Fridge in the room allowed us to buy beer/wine at local Walgreen's to enjoy on the balcony.

Room Tip: If you have a city view get as high a floor as possible to lessen traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Torpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansRohrhbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Torpster;

We are glad to know that you recently stayed with us and that you were able to have a great time at our Resort. We truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Sincerely;
Hans G. Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This resort is fantastic. Our room was clean, modern and the view... wow the view. The staff was friendly and always helpful. I would recommend this resort 100 percent to anyone wanting to visit Puerto Rico. I know my family will be seeing them soon next year...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansRohrhbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Laura R;

Thank you for your positive comments from your recent visit to our property.
We look forward to see you again very soon!

Sincerely;
Hans G. Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Jeanette, Maria & Jason have made this stay excellent with fantastic service in the pool and beach areas. The renovated rooms are more chic and modern. The casinoo is fun. The beach is the best in Condado. Condado is best at the Marriott.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lps773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansRohrhbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear lps773;

It is great to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us… Thank you for sharing such amazing comments with us!

Sincerely;
Hans G. Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Excellent sea food buffet and fiver star services of Clarimar. Im resident of Puerto Rico. Service was great. Would like to give a big thank you to Clarimar (Server). She remembered my order and made sure the Sangria were flowing. You guys made our experience awesome and we will be back soon...thanks again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansRohrhbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Lizette G;

We are very happy to learn that you recently visited us at La Vista Latin Grill Restaurant. It is amazing to know that you had a wonderful experience with us! We are going to share your review with Clarimar, as she will be very happy to hear about your great comments.

Sincerely;
Hans G. Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Service was great..stayed for 4 days enjoyed every second.. would like to give a big thank you to Peter Maldonado (Supervisor) AKA Mr New york City..George Acevedo (Casino Security) saving the best for last..Liz Otero (dealer) thank you so much.. you guys made our trip awesome and we will be back soon...thanks again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vicki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansRohrhbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Vicki F;

Thank you for the amazing feedback from our Casino associates… We are very happy to learn that you had a great time and look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely;
Hans G. Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Cashed in my Marriott Rewards points for an almost-free one-week vacation for my birthday with my sister. Welcomed warmly at every turn and I felt truly special, not anonymous. Brian the valet is outstanding - he did everything from setting my GPS to making sure the radio was on my favorite station to asking how my excursions were when I returned. And he actually remembered my name, although I'm sure he meets dozens of people a day. Gustavo on the room service team made my birthday so special - when he found out, he offered me a complementary bottle of wine - and then surprised me with a cheese platter and fantastic recommendations on places on visit. Best of all may have been Angelo, the waiter in La Vista hotel restaurant. He was so genuine and charming that every day got off to a great start. I asked the hostess to seat me in his section. He remembered my order and made sure the mimosas were flowing. My sister commented that she felt like she was hanging with a VIP and signed up for a Marriott account. Starwood can keep its trendiness - Marriott hooked me with its timeless friendliness. Kudos to the entire team at this hotel. I hope they all get raises or commended in some way.

Room Tip: Request an ocean front room with a balcony - then you can sleep with the windows open and wake up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansRohrhbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear GayleM;

Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your birthday! We are very happy to learn that you had a great time and that our associates contributed on making your stay a pleasurable one. We are going to share your feedback with each of the associates mentioned in your review as they will be extremely happy to know about it. Once again thank you and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely;
Hans G. Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#21 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,886 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,704 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Property: San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907-1324, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing