We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Outstanding staff at the Marriott"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“"Outstanding staff at the Marriott"”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We've been staying at the Marriott for four days now and it's been a great experience, especially down by the pool bar. Leira and Jeannette have been giving us great service. Every time we go down by the pool they know our entire family by name and they know exactly what we want to order. Joanner over at the beach bar have given us great service as well. Jason was very hospital and attentive as well. Love the Marriott, will be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmomtalvo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear rmontalvo32;

We really appreciate that you have taken time from your vacation with us to share your experience at our property. We delighted to learn that you and your family are having a great time and that our associates Leira, Jeannette and Leonel have provided you with a great service- thank you for recognizing them!

Hans Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,062
    2,160
    565
    206
    126
See reviews for
1,719
2,287
170
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,891)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel and our entire stay was fantastic. Great staff, location, room, casino, pools, bars, food etc. If I return to Puerto Rico, it's where I'll be staying again. I highly recommend it for fun or business.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeloisPDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Delois PDC;

It is a pleasure for us to know that you recently stayed with us. We are thrilled that you describe your stay as “awesome and fantastic”! Thank you for the amazing feedback , we hope to see you again soon!

Hans Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I debated on where to stay in Condado and eventually decided to go with the Marriott based on previous experience with their hotels. We were more than satisfied with our decision to stay here. Without asking we were upgraded to an ocean view room which we didn't know until we opened the door to our room and all we could see was ocean. The room was clean and well kept and I really liked that they stock your room with complimentary bottle water each day.

The majority of our time was spent on the beach where a staff member set up beach chairs and an umbrella for us. I think that the Marriott has the best location on the beach when compared to the other hotels in that area. There was drink service on the beach and while service was slow, it was only a thirty second walk to the outdoor bar where I could get my own drinks.

The pool here is also very beautiful, but we did not spend much time there for two reasons.
1. There is a swim up bar at the pool which attracts undesirable guests. My wife and I were on a romantic anniversary and didn't feel like listening to the drunk idiots at the pool bar who were loud and obnoxious. We don't fault the hotel for this, it just wasn't the atmosphere we were looking for.
2. The beach is beautiful, much more private, and steps from the hotel so we didn't see the appeal of the pool over the beach.

Restaurants:
There are lots of restaurants right outside of the hotel that are worth visiting. We ate at the Crepe place twice for breakfast (great/affordable breakfast), the burger place is great for lunch, and I believe the dinner place we went to is called Alli Baba. My wife usually never does this kind of food, but she loved it. There were a bunch more places within walking distance that all had good food, so if you're looking to stay close to the hotel you'll have plenty of options.

Proximity:
We spent a lot of time at the hotel on the beach, but we did go into Old San Juan twice (a must see) and it was only a five or ten minute drive. I highly suggest parking in a garage on the outskirts of Old San Juan. Parking is a mess and the roads are very narrow in Old San Juan. We got trapped for about an hour trying to get out so we could find a parking spot.

From the airport the drive was about 10 minutes for us. Don't turn around before you get to the hotel. My wife and I were a little worried about our decision to stay in San Juan during our drive from the airport, but Condado is nothing like what you will see on the drive to the hotel. The area between the airport and the hotel appears a little rough around the edges.

Safety:
I read a lot of reviews prior to deciding on staying in Puerto Rico and many of them had me second guessing whether we should go on this trip. I'm glad we went because I felt safe at all times. The hotel appeared to have security at the front entrance at all times and there was a strong police presence in all the touristy areas. That being said, don't be stupid. There were sketchy areas in San Juan that we stayed away from (just like any city) so just use common sense and you'll be fine.

Driving:
Ughhhhh. I was relaxed and at ease at all time during my week long vacation except for when I was on the road. Just about every other car had a ding, scratch, or a missing bumper. Make sure your insurance company will cover your rental vehicle if you opt out of the extra protection (they will try to pressure you into buying it). Some credit card companies provide coverage too if you use their card for the rental costs (just call and ask). The hotel has a nice garage to park in that was completely safe.

Room Tip: We were upgraded for free when we got to the hotel, but in the future I would pay the extra for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansRohrbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Kris H;

We are very happy to learn that you chose to stay with us during your recent visit to San Juan, Puerto Rico. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that you were able to explore some of the beautiful sites San Juan has to offer.

Thank you for the wonderful comments; we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Sincerely;
Hans G. Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

After looking at several hotels in the area we decided to come here and let me tell you it was the best decision ever. We love it here, the pool catered my 5yr old daughter, she love it and beach is just awesome. Our room over looked the poos and the beach. What can I say, the staff from the management to the cleaning crew are just wonderful. Definitely coming back here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TCRich21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear TCRich21;

We are happy to hear that you had a great time and that you consider choosing to stay with us “the best decision ever”. Thank you for the amazing feedback overall, but most importantly for recognizing our associates since they really are the key to our success.

We look forward to your next vacation with us!

Hans Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed ourselves at this hotel. Every employee that looks in your direction smiles and greets you. Everything here was perfect. Beautiful lobby, great pool area surrounded by palm trees and a gorgeous beach with complimentary use of beach chairs and umbrellas. Pretty big casino in the lobby also. David, the pit boss, was very funny and made sure I was comfortable with food and drinks every night. The rooms were very clean and the views of the ocean and pool were amazing. This is located in the Condado Beach area and there are numerous restaurants and bars nearby within walking distance. Will definitely be there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richrod212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear richrod212;

We are happy to hear about your wonderful vacation experience at our Resort. Thank you for taking the time to recognize the “fantastic service” provided by our associates- we will definitely share your review with all of them! It’s good to know that you had the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful pool and ocean views… as you mentioned they are just “amazing”!

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Hans Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed here while traveling for work. The hotel lobby is very nice and they have good wifi which is a must when staying on business. The room was a little small but fine for one person. The beach looked nice. Unfortunately I did not get a chance to use the pool. It should be noted there were lots of little kids so this may not be a relaxing pool for a couples vacation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Kristine R;

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent business trip and stay with us.

See you soon!

Hans Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel, beach, pool, restaurant were excellent - all the staff that we encountered were SOOO helpful and nice - Asked them for recommendations for restaurants, sailing & kayaking - all were wonderful - especially the sailing. Loved our trip.

Room Tip: We all had ocean front rooms - two of us were on the 6th floor and one of us was on the 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WaiterReviewer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hans R, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear WaiterReviewer123;

We are delighted to hear that you recently stayed with us and that your stay went as expected! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our hotel and facilities- beach, pool and restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Hans Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
6,755 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.8 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
4,627 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Property: San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907-1324, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#3 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing