We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Marriott San Juan is a very nice resort and my wife and I had a very nice getaway there. The rooms are pretty standard and the pool area is very nice. The beach area is wonderful the only negative are the beach chairs are fairly uncomfortable but that is a very minor negative in my book. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansRohrbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Jake C;

It is great to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your vacation with us. Thank you for your positive comments! We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely;
Hans G. Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,218
    2,226
    577
    210
    132
See reviews for
1,813
2,369
181
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,953)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fullerton, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We just spent 1 week at the Marriott San Juan Resort and Stellaris Casino in from 8/7/ to 8/14/2014 as a family of 4 (our kids are 12 and 14). This was the perfect combination of fun, relaxation and indulgence thanks to the great facilities and fantastic staff. Our room was spacious enough for the 4 of us (2 double queen beds) with a large bathroom. We initially were on the 5th floor in a room with partial ocean view but following the advice given in previous reviews, we asked to be moved to a higher floor to be further away from the noise from the pool (opened till 11 AM). After 2 nights on the 5th floor, we were moved to an identical room on the 15th floor: what a difference! You do not need to book an ocean FRONT room because the ocean VIEW room gives you sweeping view of a turquoise ocean that are to die for.
The amenities are fantastic: there are 2 large pools on different levels (kids & adult pool) with plenty of lounge chairs. There is also an easy access to the (public) beach with complementary umbrellas and lounge chairs. The only negative comment is that some guests don't clean up after themselves, leaving half full cups stuffed with wet napkins on the floor, spilled food with ketchup on the chairs so the staff doesn't have time sometimes to come around fast enough to pick up their trash. So by the end of the afternoon, the pool area can be a mess. The staff in general is really great, always making sure that the guests are comfortable and helped: I would like to especially recognize Ileana at the front desk and Coralys, our waitress at the pool for their kindness. The only reason why I didn't put 5 stars is for the staff who stacks the beach chairs at the end of the day. If they only see towels on a chair, they'll just throw them on the floor to get to the chair. One day, I had my beach coverall and glasses rolled into my towel, so I had to dig through a pile of towel on the sand to find everything. I learned my lesson and brought a beach bag the next day. The young man I spoke to about the incident told me that they have to start stacking the chairs before 6PM period. He was unapologetic about the incident.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel for its great value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansRohrbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Lyli H;

We are very happy to hear that you had a great week long family vacation at our Resort. Thank you for all the amazing comments.
Please rest assured that we will share your observations with our Recreations Managers in order to identify areas of opportunity for improvement in order to better serve you and other future guests.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Sincerely;
Hans G. Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Had a great time here. Visited the other hotels in the area, Marriott is definitely the best. The Radisson is hilariously horrible.

We even won money at the casino. Skip the hotel restaurants, especially wan chai. Holy $hit, just don't. Expensive and you'll be filling up the toilet.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansRohrbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Alexander K;

It is great to hear that we had the opportunity to host your recent stay in San Juan. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely;
Hans G. Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

At first, I was bummed that the Elite/hospitality suite was not open. However, I quickly learned to enjoy the ground-floor restaurant for b'fast. Angleo provided first-class service every morning at breakfast. Thank you sir! Drew D.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DoubleD4246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansRohrbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear DoubleD4246;

We are very happy to hear that you had a great time during your recent vacation at our Resort. Thank you for recognizing the “first class service” provided by our associate Angelo. We look forward to seeing you very soon!

Sincerely;
Hans G. Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

All in all, very good choice of a hotel.
Pros: across the street from walgreens, Starbucks, organic grocery store, CVS drug store should be opening on the property, tons of restaurants nearby, clean, friendly, excellent food at the buffet, 4 free bottled water daily, free wi-fi, nice pool and hot tub
Cons: mandatory resort fee, outdated slot machines in the casino,

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stargazer288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansRohrbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Stargazer288;

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We are happy to know that you had a great time and look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely;
Hans G. Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I would definitely stay here again, assuming we could get a repeat of the great off season rate. It's got a great location and he views are nice. My only negative is that like a public golf course, it might have a great design, but it's had too many rounds played on it. It's very busy. If you arrive before 4:00, you'll wait for your room. The on site restaurants are ...passable. All that said, it's clean, safe, and like I said, well-located.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank EMDiazJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansRohrbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear EMDiazJr;

We are delighted to learn that you recently stayed with us. Thank you for sharing feedback regarding your vacation at our Resort. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our convenient location and breathtaking views of the ocean…

We hope to see you very soon!

Sincerely;
Hans G. Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stay in the Marriott San Juan at least five times a year, and it provides consistently excellent accommodations and service! The highlight of my trip is breakfast, with my server, Angelo, going consistently above and beyond in terms of exceeding expectations... it is clear that he loves his job and giving people a great start to their day!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beavz49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HansRohrbein, General Manager at San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear beavz49;

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Resort. We are extremely happy to hear that you stay with us at least 5 times a year and really appreciate your loyalty. We will definitely share your wonderful feedback with our La Vista associate Angelo, as he will be extremely glad to hear that he was the “highlight” of your trip because of the great service he provides!

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely;
Hans G. Röhrbein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.1 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,050 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,206 reviews
3.2 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.2 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino

Property: San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Address: 1309 Ashford Ave, San Juan 00907-1324, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#2 Family Hotel in San Juan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#4 Business Hotel in San Juan
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 525
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only five miles from Luis Munoz International Airport, located in the prestigious Condado neighborhood of San Juan in a highly desirable beachfront location only minutes from numerous restaurants and bars.The property boasts 513 spacious guest rooms and 12 suites, most with spectacular Atlantic Ocean views; the 24 hour Stellaris Casino on site, two outdoor pools, two lighted tennis courts and Ocean Club Wellness Center that features a wide array of massages and treatments in addition to the health club.Food & Beverage offerings include La Vista Latin Grill, La Isla Beach Bar & Grill, La Isla Pool Bar, Wan Chai Noodle Bar, Coffee Merchant and the ultra chic Red Coral Lounge.Come and enjoy the comfortand atmosphere of everything this "Caribbean Cosmoplitan Beach Club" has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Juan Resort & Stellaris Hotel San Juan
Marriott San Juan Resort And Stellaris Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing