We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A shocker”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I am a pretty hardy traveller, but get pretty upset when it comes to value for money. This hotel was nowhere near what you would expect for a Hilton hotel. We stayed a night before and after a Carnival Victory cruise and this hotel put a downer on an otherwise perfect trip.
POSITIVES
The pool and beach area
Starbucks
NEGATIVES
Both rooms had damp carpets, were old, rusty, felt dirty and various appliances not working. We were told alternative rooms were not available and if we had time we would have arranged another hotel.
At 2am one night staff refused to get us another room, so we asked to turn AC off so we could get our 10YO to sleep. Next morning the floor was soaking wet from condensation(and hence the damp smell).
Nowhere near enough tables or staff for breakfast resulting in 30 minute wait for a table plus 20 minutes for hot food.
250 dollars for 2A2C in the restaurant with only 4 meals and 1 drink each.
FINAL COMMENT
We wont stay there again and I am not confident in the Hilton hotel brand anymore. Suggest they spend a bit of money to upgrade the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CentralQLDChalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2011

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. I'm deeply sorry that your stay was not satisfactory, this is not what we aim for in fact this is unacceptable and I can assure you that immidiate action. This will help us to improve our service. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,523 - 5,529 of 7,204 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2011

My daughter and I stayed in an Ocean View room in the tower from June 9-June 12 before boarding the Carnival Victory. The room and its view were magnificant and I loved the spa shower in the huge bathroom. The hotel staff were very friendly (we especially loved those working in the Starbucks on the groundsw) and the grounds had ample facilities for our entertainment.. We spendt quite a bit of time on the beach and in the many pools other than just strolling through the grounds. We especially loved the rain forest although the peacocks did get a bit loud squawking now and then. Its location is not to far from the airport and the perfect jump off point to visit sites in Condado or Old San Juan. We would definitely make this our regular place to stay when visiting the island.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiltilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We really appreciated! It's wonderful to hear that you and your daughter had a blast in our resort. We work very hard to keep the grounds looking their best, so this is a very good thing to hear. Our work paid off! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Had booked rooms @ the Villas to start with..upon check-in room and bathrooms were just not what I consider "Hilton" standard clean. Had 2 rooms, in one the carpet was actually wet -- when asked the bellhop said it was condensation from the A/C. Carpets were dirty and looked like they hadn't been vacuumed. Went to front desk and they offered to move us to different rooms, but they were about the same condition and the floors were also damp and rooms smelled mildewy. Then they offered to move us to the actual "hotel". We were happier with those rooms but I still was a little unhappy with the cleanliness of the bathroom, should have been better for a Hilton property. Now, the rest of the property was great! Beach area, pools etc were really nice. All in all, we were happy with our stay there, but I don't think I would stay there again if we went back to Puerto Rico.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank luv2traveltracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2011

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to share your experience. I want to apologize in the name of all the team members for the lack of cleanliness that you experienced during your stay, this is unacceptable. This information was fowarded to the Housekeeping departament for follow up. Thank you again for the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The hotel has a lot to offer but we really were disappointed with the dining options for families with kids at a reasonable price. The Italian restaurant within the hotel offers a patio but both the setting as well as the food were not convincing. A Spanish restaurant was still indicated on signs but had been replaced by a Caribbean style place. The food there was mediocre, too. There is Morton's and Lemongrass but we found these not appropriate for children. Last but not least there is the Oasis Bar. But this is more a place to have some drinks rather than have lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ol9382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry that you are dissapointed with the food offers at our hotel. This is information was forwarded to th Food and Beverage Directo for action. We hope that your visit to the island was a great one! Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My sister and I have hectic busy lives and try to schedule a Sister Vacay at least 2x a year. Before we knew it, summer was almost over, so we searched the net and booked the Hilton as a last minute choice - turned out to be PERFECT.
Great location. - our room overlooked the beach
Great staff/service. - staff kept our room expertly clean and sand free AND even the valet staff was extremely helpful in suggesting non-tourist clubs/restaurants/shopping. ;)
Great on-site restaurants. - variety of food choices - my sister still speaks of the Sushi she had...LOL...i know odd choice for PR...but it was good. AND I still have dreams of the Soursop Mojito ;)
Great private beach.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sagagil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Thank you for sharing this with us! It's great to hear that you truly enjoyed the essence of our hotel! We really appreciated your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Caribe Hilton. We had an ocean view/ balcony on the 11th floor. The room was clean and well appointed. We booked through Travelocity and upon check-in were told we had an unexpected $75 hotel credit--that was nice. There were a couple of drawbacks, if you do not rent a car. Old San Juan is about 1.5 miles away, so it is a bit of a walk. Cabs are about $12 into town, but the local bus is only 75 cents. The hotel food is fairly expensive. Check out the "POWER HOUR" at the Morton Steakhouse bar for a great deal on a lite meal. The local Subway also offers breakfast items--including pancakes and french toast, which we ate at our balcony table.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tkelley000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2011

Thank you, for your wonderful review about our hotel, we really appreciate that you took some of your valuable time to share your experience with us. I’m glad that you had a pleasant stay with us. This is a great motivation for our staff to continue delivering great service. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The Caribe Hilton is on the beach, a $20 (pre-tip) cab ride from the international airport.

Its grounds, with swimming and wading pools, swim-up bar, and other amenities are large, beautiful, and well maintained. The hotel is made up of at least three separate buildings, one of which is the inevitable "Hilton Towers."

The lobby and other public rooms are grand. There are both up-scale and tame souvenir shops as well as four (or more) restaurants. Among the latter is a Morton's The Steakhouse. The lobby also features a Starbucks.

Our room, in the Towers was a bit worn as were the corridors leading to it.

Room Tip: Hilton Honors or AmEx Platinum Card + pre-booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nedhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2011

Thank you for your review of our property, we really appreciated. It's great that you loved our grounds we really take pride of it! We are programed to start the renovation of our room this year! Thank you again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,921 reviews
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,255 reviews
4.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £181 - £407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing