We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We went here on a trip my boyfriend qualified for by spending a certain amount with his supplier for work.

PROS -
The lobby has a modern logo and looks kinda cool - the bar inside is pretty cool too.
Las Palmeras breakfast restaurant treated us really well. Loved the servers and buffet.
Pina Colada lunch place was good too.
Walking distance to a liquor store for water and beer.
Taxi ride to Old San Juan and Casinos.
Nice free chairs to lounge on the beach.

CONS -
We were put in a VILLA vs. the GARDEN rooms. Sounds better, but not..
Villas = long confusing walk to your room, loud hallways and maid doors outside your room, didnt always clean our room or vaccum, view of a bridge and not the ocean, A/C didn't work - wouldn't turn down. Garden rooms were gorgeous - we saw a friend's - more updated/ modern/ nice.

All in all, Puerto Rico was a cool place to say we have been, but I wouldn't stay here again.
I would choose a hotel with a prettier beach too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gretchstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we really appreciate the feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Piñas Coladas.
We are deeply sorry that you left our property feeling this way, this is unacceptable. We work very hard accommodating all types of guest; we are very disappointed that you didn’t felt comfortable at your Villa room. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Thank you again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,259 - 5,265 of 7,204 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

The hotel is tired and needs a major renovation and clean up. We found it grungy and trash was spilling out of bins for days. The hotel is huge, has a small beach and hence cannot be called a beach resort as there is not enough seating and the chaise lounges are packed like sardines. There is music blaring wherever one goes and the 4 parrots in the lobby screech all day. Our room was ok, large and fairly clean with an adequate bathroom. We could, however, hear the conversations of the people next door to us on both sides.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 123harriet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for your comment. We are sorry that you left the hotel with that impression.
This is not indicative of our standards of service and quality for which the Caribe Hilton is known.
It is through feedback such as yours that we evaluate our service and processes and continually improve upon them. When we fail to meet the expectations of one of our guests, it causes great concern.
We look forward to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This is my second stay at a Hilton vacation resort, and the one thing that's consistent is the price tag. The property itself, although a little dated from the exterior view, has nicely updated decent sized rooms with all the amenities. The grounds and spa like environment is outstanding with its waterfall pools, pool bar with whirlpool seating on one side, many different levels and areas for outdoor lounging and my personal favorite, the hammocks hung between adjacent palm trees in a shaded area by the water where you could get lost for hours. The restaurant selection is decent with a Morton's Steakhouse on site, a decent Italian restaurant and the tropical dining Palmeres which serves breakfast with a stunning ocean view. Be prepared for add on costs including Internet, parking and the somehow overlooked in the ads resort tax of $35 per day on top of the regular taxes. Your daily room charge will likely inflate to about 25% more than the quoted cost. All that aside, you do get what you pay for and it was a pleasant retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mboileau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you very much for choosing the Caribe Hilton during your stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you here. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our facilities. We apologize for any misunderstanding with the Resort fee. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Months before we arrived my friend and I asked for adjoining rooms. When we got there we were across the hall from one another. Disappointing, but not trip ruining. Then I get to my room and realize that the toilet doesn't work properly. I call and they send someone up who "fixes" the problem. Clearly it wasn't fixed. I dealt with it for another day and then finally called again. When I got back to my room wanting to shower after a morning at the pool (which is fantastic) I find my bathroom in total disrepair with the toilet completely taken apart. Finally, that evening it was actually fixed.
The next day I decided to enjoy a massage at the spa. Oops, no hot water in the showers.
I discussed my toilet issues with two supervisors who thought that a free drink at the bar would take care of three days' inconvenience. Finally they told me that upon checkout they would take $50 off of my bill. Much like the adjoining rooms, that was not taken care of.
The hotel was beautiful, but it was NOT the experience a Hilton should be. They were not at all concerned with customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristin41578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for your comments
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay, and we want to assure you that this is not indicative of our standards of service and quality for which the Caribe Hilton is known.
It is through feedback such as yours that we evaluate our service and processes and continually improve upon them. When we fail to meet the expectations of one of our guests, it causes great concern. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were in town for a wedding as first time visitors to Puerto Rico. We wanted to stay on the beach. This has a great pool and beach area with a lot of areas for lounging, including some great hammocks on the beach. The hotel is undergoing some cosmetic renovations, which is probably needed in regards to flooring/finishes in the rooms. But the lobby is very nice and open and very welcoming. The staff was great and the food was wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you liked the property. Indeed we are working to improve our facilities for our guests. We hope that you have the opportunity to come see them any time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Hotel was amazing! Everyone was so nice, friendly and helpful. At breakfast we meet such great waiters and waitresses. Our favorite was Hilda(she has been there for years)...she was courteous and very, very efficient. She was a pro at helping us and other partons at the restaurant. After a day she knew exactly what we liked and what we needed. She was wonderful! We hope to go back soon to see her again....she made our very needed vacation a pleasure. Another pleasant person working their was Victor. The young ladies at the desk were courteous and sweet to all who came in. The manager: Nelson Torres was great. He helped us any and all questions and suggestions we need...he was wonderful! P.S. Maria at the towel counter was Great!!!

Room Tip: See the room first! I have a bad knee and at first was given a room way down the hall. We called t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kspecial128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you for your comments! We will pass the message to our Team members. On behalf of all our family we would like to welcome you back. Is wonderful to hear our guests great experiences with us!
see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We decided to stay a few days in San Juan before our ship left for the southern caribbean. What a wonderful, low key, peaceful hotel. The hotel has a beach and numerous pools. The bar is jumpin'. The view from the room beautiful. It is a short walk to old San Juan. A great hotel to use to begin your wind down before departing on a cruise.

Room Tip: Close to the pier where the cruise ships depart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetsGoNowOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Thank you very much for choosing the Caribe Hilton during your stay in San Juan, Puerto Rico. It was a pleasure to have you here. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room. Hope you had a great cruise trip!
See you again soon here in your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,921 reviews
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,255 reviews
4.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £168 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing