We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cruise stop over Hotel in San Juan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Caledon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent cruise stop over Hotel in San Juan”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My husband & I stayed at this hotel in Dec 2009 & Jan 2010 and forgot to review it. Since that time, we have had 3 friends stay here & praised it as a great spot that we reccommended. We arrived on Dec 23rd to meet 2 friends who were staying at the Conrad Hilton next door, another great spot. The Caribe HIlton has its own private beach that only hotel guests can visit & use. If you are a pool lover, they have that too. It has a great dock that guests can feed day old bread ( which the hotel puts out for guests) to feed the masses of fish that hang around the dock also exclusive to Hotel guests. Its fun for all ages there. The staff speak both English & Spanish amound other languages. Its close to Old San Juan by Taxi or by local bus which is really cheap. All views from the hotel are great. We had a room that viewed open ocean which was amazing. The gardens also have nice swans & birds for everyones viewing pleasure.

Room Tip: When sleecting a room, ask for a view of the ocean as its stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Glad to hear that you had a blast during your stay! This is what is all about making our guest feel great and have lots of fun! Hope you enjoyed your cruise. Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,299
    2,491
    1,242
    632
    386
See reviews for
1,887
2,267
208
1,214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

After much research I selected Caribe Hilton for my week long vacation. The location of the hotel was ideal- approximately a 15 minute taxi ride from the hotel. Check in was not a problem, however, I was initially given a ground floor room with a garden view but no balcony. After returning to the front desk, they apologized profusely for the mix up and I headed up to my king size garden room with a balcony on the fifth floor. The room was fairly updated, however, looking closely revealed that a little TLC wouldn't be a bad idea. The rooms were very clean, thebathroom toiletries were a of nice quality, the housekeeping staff was friendly and the floor was quiet.
As most other reviewers have stated, there is a $27/day resort fee that covers the towel rental, resort activities (zumba, yoga, kids activities, etc), but it's not the end of the world. The beach was decent...not the best, not the worst. The grounds were nicely maintained and the animals that called the grounds home were beautiful to look at. For those who enjoy running, there were several safe and beautiful places to run (head over the bridge toward the Condado and the Ocean Park areas). If you are not interested in paying $25 for breakfast, you have the option of paying 50 cents to hop on the city bus to head into Old San Juan or walking 15 minutes to Condado. Also, keep in mind that you can rent a car right at the resort (for a slightly higher price) or you can contact one of the car rental facilities which are located close to the hotel and provide a free shuttle to their office (much cheaper option). The staff at the concierge desk were extremely pleasant and helpful when asking for suggestions of where to visit, what to eat, what to see, etc.
I enjoyed the Caribe HIlton and would stay there again. I would recommend this resort for anyone- families (lots of things for kids to do), couples and single travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room on the highest floor possible. Our room was on the 5th floor and I did have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PinkTravel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Glad to hear that you had a blast during your stay! This is what is all about making our guest feel great and have lots of fun! Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The rooms are clean, modern, and have great views of the water. The hotel itself has many nice amenities (e.g., multiple pools, gym facilities, private beach, large hammocks) and seems to provide a lot of options for children (e.g., kids zone, life-size chess set). It has the feel of an all-inclusive...without being all-inclusive. Perhaps for that reason, costs add up quickly. Basic internet access can be purchased, but there is no wifi except in the lobby. It is difficult to find a reasonably-priced breakfast (except at the on-site Starbucks) and the drinks are very expensive. Also, I suspect that I got food poisoning from the only reasonably-priced restaurant (read: avoid the burger at the Pina Colada!).

Generally, the staff are courteous, but service is extremely slow. Check-in was a lengthy process. Most importantly, the concierge was anti-helpful: he provided contradictory and incorrect information. They also have a strange booking system whereby they do not let you sign up for a tour unless at least 4 others have booked...which means that most tours are off-limits unless you have a large group. It is probably better to book tours online.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor and you should get a water view. Don`t opt for the villas...they range in size and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikeabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're sorry that our service was slow, this is unacceptable. We will share this feedback with all our team members. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The Caribe Hilton is a large property that is consistent with most of the large tropical resorts you see in Puerto Rico, e.g., open lobby, bars, pools, and ocean beach. I have stayed here twice in the last month, once in the "tower" section, and once in the original hotel, both in rooms facing the ocean. The rooms are well appointed, very clean, and had balconies overlooking the ocean, very pleasant to enjoy a cup of coffee or to read a newspaper. The tower room was more modern- attractive and in good repair. However, the internet was barely functional. The room in the main hotel was similar in amenities and cleanliness, but the furniture was run down. Nonetheless the bed was comfortable, and the internet worked much better. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. The breakfast buffet (included in some, but not all rates) was adequate.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thanks for the review! We are right now on a renovation process; we just finished half of the Main Building! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Caribe for our one-week vacation. It was clean and well-located between Condado and Old San Juan. There is not much of a "neighborhood" there, but Condado and OSJ are each within a 1.5-mile walk or drive. The hotel also has its own "lagoon"-type beach - rare from what we saw in the area - and the beach/pool area is large enough that it never felt crowded - with the option of lying on a double-sized mattress or a hammock. Beware that parking is $15 per night, and there is a "resort fee" of about $25 per day that they slap on when you check out. We avoided the overpriced hotel restaurants.

Room Tip: 10th floor ocean view - view was great, but there was a loud air conditioning unit on the roof below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSCDBoston_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Glad to hear that you had a blast during your stay! This is what is all about making our guest feel great and have lots of fun! Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I can't say enough about the amenities... You never have to leave the property.
The beach is beautiful, and private to the hotel. With Aqua Adventures, located on their beach, you can SNUBA, Sea Trek, Scuba dive, or snorkle, without ever leaving the resort! There is a long pier, that extends out to the ocean, with great views. A small lagoon area, with ducks, swans, and peacocks. Many restaurants and shops to choose from. And a casino, of course.
A convient grocery store, just across from the resort entrance.. for those who need it. And the rooms are very nice. Service is excellent! Located in the Condado area... there's lots to do!
And just a 5 minute taxi ride to Old San Juan.

Room Tip: As big as the hotel is... rooms vary, from regular rooms, suites, and villas. Ocean view is my favor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravelChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Glad to hear that you had a blast during your stay! This is what is all about making our guest feel great and have lots of fun! Thank you for the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Pool/beach area is beautiful, enjoyed just lounging for a day but $45 daily resort fee got old. Lemongrass is a great pan-Asian restaurant on site, sit outside to enjoy a romantic dinner listening to sounds of beautiful garden and Coqui frogs nearby. Yoga outside was wonderful!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitzamarie-Escalera, Coordinator at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thanks for the review! We are so please that you loved our grounds, we are very proud! Yes, we have a resort fee which varies on your rate; it is a 14% of your nightly rate. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,205 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing