We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lots of amenities”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for spring break. The rooms are extremely comfortable and clean with good service. The grounds are expansive with plenty of pool space and a good size private beach. We never felt crowded or overrun by families with kids, although they were there. Lots of business travellers staying here. We got the feeling from talking with people that this hotel is considered one of the nicest places to stay on the island. The flat rate cab rides into Old San Juan are reasonable ($12) and to other areas close by. Check out the Conrad hotel some night if you like casinos and need some different restaurants to check out. Don't miss the happy hour at Morton's. Very reasonable prices on food and drinks. I would personally recommend sticking just to their happy hour unless you are in to paying tons of money to feel like a big shot. ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,862 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,224
    2,437
    1,210
    621
    370
See reviews for
1,801
2,229
202
1,185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,552)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

While it is an adequate hotel, and we stayed in one of the very nice suites, the place has a problem with mildew/mold in some of the public areas (as evidenced by the workers abating it).
It's a nice place, just not great and for some may meet their expectations, (or kids loved it) it just didn't meet mine. We've been to PR many times but think we'll look further afield next time. There is also a crime wave in PR these days so take care. We were robbed at our vacation rental home while we stayed on Vieques this time. It will be a while before we return...

Room Tip: Go for the suites, it's a bit of a walk, but much nicer than the rooms in the towers which are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Overall, we had a good experience in a good location on the island. The hotel rooms in the main tower have been updated so we were fine, but we heard from fellow travelers that their rooms outside the main towers weren't great.

I booked a Spa treatment - not by phone but in person, and when I returned for my appointment they had mistakenly put me down at a different time and were not able to accommodate me. Perhaps most frustrating was that I worked my entire day around the appointment, and would have made totally different plans had I known they were going to screw it up.

Poolside was decent...it was large enough to accommodate all the guests who wanted to be there, but I noticed as the day went on, there was a lot of trash that didn't get picked up. It wasn't terrible, but it was noticeable that the hotel did nothing to maintain the pool area during the day, and only did so at night. The beach area was very nice with plenty of chairs.

The food was expensive but for the most part it was good. Housekeeping was excellent.

Perhaps best were the local tour guides who were extremely friendly and made the visit to PR a memorable one.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the main tower until the entire property has been updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartonsville
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

What a charming place. Beautiful views. Nothing like relaxing on your balconey, looking out into the beautiful blue ocean, and enjoying the breathtaking views of the landscape.

Hotel has been around for years, but they keep it up nicely. Breakfast buffet is in an open, covered area. Service is excellent and the staff is friendly.

Highy recommended for anyone staying in San Juan.

Room Tip: Ocean view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 April 2013

good for stay before going on cruise but suggest hotel grounds needs improvement to keep a 3.5 star status. Suggest about a 2.5 star to 3 star status. Room was great - very clean and nice with very nice view.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We choose to go to Puerto Rico and stay at the Caribe Hilton largely because we were traveling with two toddlers and the location and grounds were great for them - a number of pools and a beach. We found that to be true - it was perfect, including a playground and a fish pond with lots of birds. It was enough to keep the girls entertained. The adults enjoyed the proximity to old San Juan and all the interesting restaurants there. What was not very good was the breakfast buffet and the outdoor grill (the two places were children eat free). The bar in the lobby was horrible - very expensive, slow service and crappy wine. While our two bedrooms and en suite living room worked out well, the beds were poor and left us tired and achy after a week.
So... OK for what we needed but given the price, nothing particularly unexpected or delightful.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 714RachelM714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your comments it was a pleasure to serve you and your family. We appreciate your comments and hope you give us another opportunity to serve you. We apologize for any inconvenienve caused to you during your visit.

we are at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were told the hotel was recently rennovated but only rooms in the garden (Terrace) level had been. I was dissapointed we didn't get a room that was newly rennovated after being told we would by the travel agent and booking in October for a room in April.

Poolside there were very few wait people which caused me to go to the bar or restaurant to order. Pool was really nice, plenty of chairs, nice padded outdoor beds all over, regular single reclining chairs too. Big area. Beach was protected from ocean waves, very swimmable with floating platforms to swim to. We did a lot off the hotel grounds and spent only one entire day at the hotel. It was great to lounge by the pool and be outside. Drinks were expensive. No problems with me bringing in beers I bought outside the hotel but no glass by the pool so use plastic cups (provided by the hotel).

The service I received from hotel staff was mixed, sometimes very nice and other times not overly friendly. I felt like they had been through a long spring season of tourists and we were at the tail end of all the crowds.
One thing that sticks out for me is how I waited for half an hour to use the outdoor oversized chess pieces and board with my son while someone else was finishing their game. As I was waiting a staff person picked up the pieces and when I asked her if I could use them she told me she was putting them away because it was 3:30PM. I was amazed this was considered the end of the day and that they would take them when someone wanted to use them.

Had great food one night at the Italian restaurant. I had the Fettucini Alfredo, friend had the ravioli. We were going to eat at Morton's but heard it's good but not on par with the Mortons in the states so we decided to skip it. We ate two meals at the Pina Colada restaurant at the base of the tower and everyone liked it. Fish tacos, Shredded pork wrap, mixed meat sandwich, salads, milkshakes, all were good. Wait people were very friendly, we liked all the food, and the chalk drawings in the restaurant are done by the guy who makes the milk shakes! He was funny, entertaining, really enjoyed it there, probably why we went back!

Concierge desk was very helpful and adequately staffed and got us dinner reservations and directions to places we wanted to go.

Room Tip: Garden or Terrace level rooms are renovated. All other hotel rooms in tower and other areas are old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing