We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Nearby Hotels
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$396
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$368
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$405
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$383
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tres Palmas Inn(San Juan)(Great Value!)
US$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CasaBlanca Hotel(San Juan)(Great Value!)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (7,224)
Filter reviews
7,224 results
Traveller rating
2,387
2,541
1,258
642
396
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,387
2,541
1,258
642
396
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachpina colada clubmorton's steakhousehilton honors towergarden wingmain buildingtropical gardenthe open air lobbyswim up barocean viewpool areabeautiful propertyhotel restaurantscab ridenice beachconcierge deskcondado area
Filter
Updating list...
4,515 - 4,520 of 7,224 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We choose to go to Puerto Rico and stay at the Caribe Hilton largely because we were traveling with two toddlers and the location and grounds were great for them - a number of pools and a beach. We found that to be true - it was perfect, including a playground and a fish pond with lots of birds. It was enough to keep the girls entertained. The adults enjoyed the proximity to old San Juan and all the interesting restaurants there. What was not very good was the breakfast buffet and the outdoor grill (the two places were children eat free). The bar in the lobby was horrible - very expensive, slow service and crappy wine. While our two bedrooms and en suite living room worked out well, the beds were poor and left us tired and achy after a week.
So... OK for what we needed but given the price, nothing particularly unexpected or delightful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 714RachelM714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for your comments it was a pleasure to serve you and your family. We appreciate your comments and hope you give us another opportunity to serve you. We apologize for any inconvenienve caused to you during your visit.

we are at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were told the hotel was recently rennovated but only rooms in the garden (Terrace) level had been. I was dissapointed we didn't get a room that was newly rennovated after being told we would by the travel agent and booking in October for a room in April.

Poolside there were very few wait people which caused me to go to the bar or restaurant to order. Pool was really nice, plenty of chairs, nice padded outdoor beds all over, regular single reclining chairs too. Big area. Beach was protected from ocean waves, very swimmable with floating platforms to swim to. We did a lot off the hotel grounds and spent only one entire day at the hotel. It was great to lounge by the pool and be outside. Drinks were expensive. No problems with me bringing in beers I bought outside the hotel but no glass by the pool so use plastic cups (provided by the hotel).

The service I received from hotel staff was mixed, sometimes very nice and other times not overly friendly. I felt like they had been through a long spring season of tourists and we were at the tail end of all the crowds.
One thing that sticks out for me is how I waited for half an hour to use the outdoor oversized chess pieces and board with my son while someone else was finishing their game. As I was waiting a staff person picked up the pieces and when I asked her if I could use them she told me she was putting them away because it was 3:30PM. I was amazed this was considered the end of the day and that they would take them when someone wanted to use them.

Had great food one night at the Italian restaurant. I had the Fettucini Alfredo, friend had the ravioli. We were going to eat at Morton's but heard it's good but not on par with the Mortons in the states so we decided to skip it. We ate two meals at the Pina Colada restaurant at the base of the tower and everyone liked it. Fish tacos, Shredded pork wrap, mixed meat sandwich, salads, milkshakes, all were good. Wait people were very friendly, we liked all the food, and the chalk drawings in the restaurant are done by the guy who makes the milk shakes! He was funny, entertaining, really enjoyed it there, probably why we went back!

Concierge desk was very helpful and adequately staffed and got us dinner reservations and directions to places we wanted to go.

Room Tip: Garden or Terrace level rooms are renovated. All other hotel rooms in tower and other areas are older.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This was our 1st visit to Puerto Rico - My husband and I and our children (ages 13 and 16) stayed at the Caribe Hilton San Juan PR. We were there Easter week. We were in the Hilton Towers on the 11th floor (lovely views of the garden, Villa pool, fort and ocean and Condado) room was nice and quiet (not near any noise whatsoever). The resort is amazing with all that it has to offer. The lobby is spacious and clean. The pools/hot tubs are beautiful and the beach areas are amazing. You get full size beach towels at no charge. Also you can ask for an umbrella for the beach at no charge. The resort is so spacious that even if it is crowded there was always privacy on so many chairs or near the ocean or hammonks. We walked the grounds alot, saw the parrots in the lobby, and all the beautiful birds in the gardens & the fort on the resort. We played tennis and used the workut room several times. The taxis are clean and the drivers are friendly. You are charged by 'zone'. To old San Juan $12 plus tip and $8 to Condado. We toured the forts and old san juan and ate there. you can food shop for items for your room at food stores or Walgrens in Old San Juan (so take advantage of that especially for bottled waters and snacks and breakfast foods). Hotel has a Starbucks and across the street is Subway (but the staff cannot understand a thing). The Rainforest is a definitely must do along with touring Old San Juan. Our favorite restaurant was the Pina Colado Club (Great food and staff). Also dined at El Guirdano Garden (great food but horrible service by Raul our waiter). Happy hour was the way to go (otherwise $13+ dollar drinks). The negative was our shower was not the best - and had it serviced and still didnt work well. The Conceirge desk sure didn't have much to offer, you had to pull out info from them VS them offering an abudance of ideas on things to do. You should staff an employee at the Towers main lobby desk to assist guests. We really enjoyed ourselves and would recommend the Caribe Hilton.

Room Tip: Higher the room facing the ocean - you wont be dissappointed.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wetravelallthetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Hotel and private beach were very nice. Got a good deal on "hotwire" so couldn't complain about the value. I must say though the "front desk" staff and "valet parking" staff were non-friendly and seems like it didn't matter to them if they had guests or not.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cauchemars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton for your recent stay in Puerto Rico. it was certainly a pleasure to welcome you.

We are deeply sorry that you left feeling that we do not care for our guests. Rest assured this is not the indicative of our Service Standards and I will certainly share your comments with the team.

I look forward to have another opportunity to serve you

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

There are many things that impress me with this hotel. Yes it was busy, it was spring break yet I felt they handled the crowd well. Lobby, bar area pool area and beach are awesome! Restaurants are nice but pricey, work out room clean and with the latest equipment. There are two convenience stores within a block along with Subway(a savior for breakfast) and a car rental next door. Driving is busy, lots of traffic but doable. Don't plan on parking in OSJ. Take the bus to OSJ, cabs are anywhere from $12-$18 to OSJ and $22(with 4 bags). to the cruise ship... Cabs are expensive in San Juan. The cruise ship is a shorter distance than the airport, but the fare is higher....Our cruise ship did not dock at OSJ but across the bay. Back to the hotel....Our room was on 11th floor and was very noisy, could hear absolutely everything the neighbors on both sides said. We had a room that had doors adjoining those rooms and that may have been the source. Had a nice view of the ocean. Room was clean, yup it needs an update but there are many other pluses to this hotel that make it nice.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors and do your best not to get an adjoining door and hope it's not noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTrooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Hello there! we hope you had a wonderful cruise. thank you for sharing your experience with us.
We are sorry about the noise in your room, thank you for your comments.

We look forward to welcome you back soon. It will always be a pleasure to serve you.

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews