We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Holyoke, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second Visit”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I went to visit my family in Puerto Rico and chose Caribe Hilton because of my first experience. The customer service is excellent and employees treat you like family. I will definitely visit again soon!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jburgos44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hi there! thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your home away from home in Puerto Rico.

It delight us to hear that you had a great time. we look forward to your return

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,233
    2,439
    1,211
    622
    372
See reviews for
1,802
2,233
202
1,189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,555)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

It's certainly a relaxing location but there are some caveats. If you're expecting rapid service and even service with a big smile, you're on the wrong island.
The hotel grounds are really nice. Big fluffy towels and lots of sunloungers both by the pools and on the (as good as) private beach.
The hotel itself has some drawbacks. One of the two elevators in the main building is out of action and the remaining one has little logic to its operation, going up when there's no need etc. That'll probably be fixed, err, manyana. The hotel is also a little tired in a number of public areas and certainly does look far too Soviet from the outside. That's deceptive though as the rooms are in good shape. As with all buildings built by the sea in 3rd world locations there is far too much "concrete cancer", rusting of the rebar and shoddy fix'emup work.
It's only a 3.5km walk on wide, safe sidewalks onto the old town so save yourself the $12 each way and take your camera.
Go for it, you'll enjoy the experience, at a very relaxed pace.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea-view on the West side as it's more picturesque than the sea-view on the East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark0381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I went with my girlfriend and was very impressed with the resort area and especially the pool bar; Hiram the bartender at the pool bar was excellent and very attentive. I would recommend this more for families however since aside from the pool bar there is not much geared toward younger couples and much more is for families.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacAR555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hello there! thank you for choosing us as your preferred Hotel and for your comments.

We hope you had a great visit and look forward to your prompt return

At your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a 4 night Puerto Rico vacation. This was one of the nicest and most impressive Hilton properties I've been to and I regularly stay with Hilton both for personal and business purposes. The room had a great view. The property had a private beach, impressive pool, and plenty of dining options all on the premises.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Scott V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hello there! thank you for choosing us as your preferred Hotel in Puerto Rico.
it makes us really happy to hear that you had a great visit.

We hope you and your family visit us again soon

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Location es great, close to the airport, Old San Juan, Condado.
You get easy everywhere.
Customer Service and people is so nice.
Facilities are pretty old, but they are in good condition.
Rooms are ok for the price.
I'm sorry no food is included, not even breakfast.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank carvilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brno
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2nights before our cruise. It is nice place, they have tasty breakfast if you pay extra. The beach is small but fine, the only bad thing was that while in sea I stepped on sth. that looked like sea urchin and got hurt. Check in was quick but check out was disaster. Also it is normal to tak deposit on your card, but it would be nice, if they said it while checking in. Also there are few shops and starbucks near the reception.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 13th floor and higher have nice view. Also be careful with AC, had wet carpet all the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pudlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The only good thing about this place really are the grounds. Nice pool and decent private beach. But don't expect it to be cleaned by the staff because they are not into all that. I saw stains on the mattresses and many hours after sunset the pool was still littered with empty alcohol cups. Also, don't even think about getting in the hot tub because it is infested with children all day. The food is overpriced but that is expected. What wasn't expected were stains on our sheets, a leaky roof that dripped all night, awful water pressure in shower, paper thin walls which made it hard to sleep, and broken elevators. Would I stay here again? Maybe, since the other options seem pretty crappy too. But management needs to step things up around here. Puerto Rico is amazing though.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I am sorry that there were some issues that you were not completely satisfied with. I thank you for bringing them up in your review as your feedback is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. We will certainly use your comments to identify areas where we can improve our hospitality so that others do not share your experience.
We are currently in the process of renovating our elevators in our main building for your future enjoyment and safety!

thank you again and we look forward to your return

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,698 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,140 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing