We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Resort like setting - Not great rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Resort like setting - Not great rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We were originally set for the Condado Lagoon Villas. We found out that the Ocean View hotel was not necessarily an Ocean view hotel but city view and a lot of traffic to boot and partially was facing the lagoon. After spending the whole evening sorting out the hotel room mess, the hotel moved us to a Hilton Honors tower in the Caribe Hilton. The room was okay but not spectacular. However, it was facing away from the city and an angle towards the ocean. This was a special occasion for us and we visited San Juan for our anniversary. We had great expectations with our stay at Condado Hilton. The Pina Colada Club was wonderful eating place and had good sized portions. The swimming pool area with hammocks were the best part of our stay. However, the bar was not great and would avoid it next time altogether. For a simple snack, it took about an hour and a half. The morning breakfast though pricey was worth it and convenient as well. It was still a nice stay and would recommend to someone who wants to be at the resort. There is a resort tax that provides internet service, business work area access and towels for the pool. However, parking is extra. If you want to be more central, try the Marriott and if you like the old city flavor, the Sheraton are two good choices as well.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for the front rooms which are actually ocean facing. Do not be deceived by Ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton for your recent stay in Puerto Rico. We hope you and your family had a great time. We appreciate your feedback and hope you visit us again soon

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,185
    2,413
    1,197
    619
    365
See reviews for
1,770
2,208
200
1,172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

From the start this 5 day vacation got off on the right foot. With the women checking us whose name I cannot recall switching our room for us to be closer to others in our other party she was fantastic. To the guys at that pool bar. Let me start by saying Efran on our first day here was outstanding. He was friendly and you could tell he thoroughly enjoyed his job. To Victir and Roberto as well as Manuel were all fantastic. Hiram was great!! Never let a drink go dry! And always had a smile on his face. We were there in a torrential down pour they left the bar open for us and Michelle the f&b service supervisor was more than accommodating to us as we wanted to stay in the pool bar as it rained. Overall the food accommodations were exceptional with the bar bites from Morton's to the breakfast buffet everything was simply amazing. Your staff to above and beyond and I personally want to thank Michelle, Efran, Hiram, Hector and Roberto. You all were amazing and I cannot wait to return!!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lab382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Wow! thank you for choosing us for your stay and for your kind words. It makes us really happy to hear that you and your friends had a great time.

Looking forward to welcome you back

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanibel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

services deplorable...it is no more than a 2 star hotel at best. restaurants overpriced for mediocre food and service. common areas not cleaned/maintained...lobby ceilings leaking. made reservation at "upscale" morgans restaurant and we had to wait over half an hour. unacceptable. a wonderful place has gone down the tubes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank m p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We arrived at 8PM at night and were told our room was not ready. We could either wait an unspecified amount of time to take a room with two queen beds instead. We chose to take the room. Upon arrival in the room, we discovered it was directly over the many HVAC units on the roof below and was subject to massive noise. We asked to be moved and they moved us from an ocean view to a garden room. At this point we had NOTHING close to what I had reserved. King Bed Ocean View became two TWIN beds in a Garden View room. TOTAL BAIT AND SWITCH. Next time I will stand in line until my room is ready, I will not move and I will not compromise. Once we got settled, all other service was great. They do tend to nickel and dime you to death... well $5 and $10 is more like it. A can of soda in the restaurant was $4.00.... OUCH.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We apologize for the inconveniences we caused to you and your family.

We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you. We are at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyoke, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I went to visit my family in Puerto Rico and chose Caribe Hilton because of my first experience. The customer service is excellent and employees treat you like family. I will definitely visit again soon!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jburgos44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Hi there! thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your home away from home in Puerto Rico.

It delight us to hear that you had a great time. we look forward to your return

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

It's certainly a relaxing location but there are some caveats. If you're expecting rapid service and even service with a big smile, you're on the wrong island.
The hotel grounds are really nice. Big fluffy towels and lots of sunloungers both by the pools and on the (as good as) private beach.
The hotel itself has some drawbacks. One of the two elevators in the main building is out of action and the remaining one has little logic to its operation, going up when there's no need etc. That'll probably be fixed, err, manyana. The hotel is also a little tired in a number of public areas and certainly does look far too Soviet from the outside. That's deceptive though as the rooms are in good shape. As with all buildings built by the sea in 3rd world locations there is far too much "concrete cancer", rusting of the rebar and shoddy fix'emup work.
It's only a 3.5km walk on wide, safe sidewalks onto the old town so save yourself the $12 each way and take your camera.
Go for it, you'll enjoy the experience, at a very relaxed pace.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea-view on the West side as it's more picturesque than the sea-view on the East.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark0381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I went with my girlfriend and was very impressed with the resort area and especially the pool bar; Hiram the bartender at the pool bar was excellent and very attentive. I would recommend this more for families however since aside from the pool bar there is not much geared toward younger couples and much more is for families.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacAR555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hello there! thank you for choosing us as your preferred Hotel and for your comments.

We hope you had a great visit and look forward to your prompt return

At your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,639 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,118 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing