We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL AND HELPFUL STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami, Florida
1 review
“WONDERFUL AND HELPFUL STAFF”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I arrived at the hotel today and it was at full capacity. When I finally made it to my room which was in the Villa area, I found my refrigerator was open and being defrosted. The shower in the bathroom also did not look as clean as I would have liked. As soon as I called and spoke to the supervisor Genero, he immediately sent Gloribell from housekeeping to come and help. She was so sweet and accommodating; she cleaned and re-connected the fridge and re-cleaned the shower. She also offered me additional toiletries and told me to contact her if I needed anything further during my stay. Genero also personally visited my room to check to make sure that I was satisfied with everything. I could not be more impressed with the prompt service with a smile.

I also wanted to mention Johanna the operator in charge of room service orders. She was very helpful in letting me know in advance that there was a long wait for the food; she also provided me with a recommendation of what to order. Her suggestion was wonderful, I really enjoyed the steak I ordered!

Despite these issues, I really enjoyed my stay here. The staff was so friendly and helpful!!!

Room Tip: The villas are not in the main hotel building so if you wish to be closer, request a room in the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaAL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello! thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton for your recent stay. We are very happy to hear your kind note. I am glad that we could immediately make your stay one better upon arrival.

I will make sure our team see your kind note and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

We are at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,262
    2,456
    1,219
    628
    381
See reviews for
1,828
2,249
204
1,202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The location of this Grand Dame hotel is wonderful, including the private enclosed beach, lovely pools, and waterfront views. The rooms are large, and have balconies. We stayed in a suite with two queen beds, a large balcony, writing desk, and tv in one roome. The second room has a pull out sofa bed, and a lovely kitchenette with microwave, dishwasher and full size fridge as well as a second smaller bathroom. The furniture is wood and feels solid. Simple decor. Comfortable sheets, bed, pillow. Towels were a mix of fluffy and threadbare. The grounds are lovely, with lots of seating options, a nature area with interesting waterfowl, and then a terrific beachfront, with soft sand and plenty of beach chairs, big towels, etc. The ocean area is protected from large waves by a reef, and it is a pleasure to swim there- safe for the kids too. The pools are also lovely with lots of seating.

Despite the basic grandeur of the hotel, there was definitely a lack of attention to details. Housekeeping didn't empty the trash daily, and one day, didn't take wet washcloths draped over the tub (to prevent dripping elsewhere). The hot water wasn't working in the room (there are individual hot water heaters in the room), and it took three calls to get someone to come fix it. Even then, it was a bit hard to tell between the cold and the hot shower. There was only one glass in the bathroom (we were two colleagues sharing the room). Despite the kitchenette having some cookware, there was nothing to wash the dishes with. (no sponge, soap, etc.).

The work out room had a very nice atmosphere and up to date equipment. I would have liked to see some lighter free weights (4 lb, 8 lb, 12 lb) because the only choice was 5, 10, 15- for those of us who use only light weights, it was not ideal.

During our conference, the meeting rooms were way over air-conditioned, which made it hard to figure out what clothes to wear for comfort. At the end of one session, I was literally shivering.

I would be happy to come back again for a scientific conference for the hotel atmosphere and swimming options. Not sure I would make it a vacation destination.

Room Tip: The suites are a terrific value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyJPTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Hello thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton for your recent stay. We appreciate your comments and apologize for any inconvenience caused to you while staying with us.

look forward to have another opportunity to serve you.

We are at your service,

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed in the Governor's Suite in the Tower, The most amazing room ever, and the views were incredible!!! This was our Honeymoon trip, we stayed here until it was time to board our cruise ship. When we first stepped into our Suite, we were both in awe of how amazing it was. Very spacious with over 2000 square feet on two different levels.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were here for a wedding and the hotel was very good. The pool was large, but don't expect any long walks on the beach. Only about 250 feet of actual walkable beach front. Resort prices, but liquor store one block outside hotel. Liquor is high priced ($45 for a bottle of Jack Daniels) AND you can't buy at the duty free on your way in the country, only on the way out. This was a surprise to us.
San Juan is a 4 mile walk or $12 cab ride in. Cabs do not have meters, so ask before you ride.

Room Tip: Continental breakfast only with room. $9 to upgrade to hot breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxymule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. It is a huge hotel complex with a matching huge number of tourists. It's beautifully located, has a nice beach, and well, it's the Caribbean, so that works! But I expect more from a Hilton. Our ocean view villa was a regular hotel room overlooking a narrow strip of water - the so called lagoon - and then a busy street and the city. The ocean is on the opposite side of the hotel complex. We had a narrow standing-room only balcony from which we could admire the (noisy) take-offs and landings from two very near airports. There are rooms on the ocean side with proper balconies, but I'm not sure how to identify them when booking. Air-conditioning is noisy and toiletries in the bathroom are sparse. The lobby is huge and includes a range of stores from a boutique with $1,000 shoes to a Quiznos. There are many bars and restaurants but the food is not that special. It's decent, but not outstanding. Same for the service. The breakfast buffet is limited and not worth $25. The restaurants have pretty seating areas. Allegedly Pina Coladas were invented here, but I've had better. The beach is very nice, probably wonderful for kids. Not much swimming, as the little beach cove is shut off from the ocean proper through a line of stones in the water, presumably to tame the waves, it's quite windy here. All in all, it's quite decent, but not really spectacular or special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne78_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bainbridge island, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Pros: Great location and pool/beach on premises. Staff is attentive and helpful. Cons: Room I stayed in in the Garden Wing was worn; dirty grout, furniture, and patio. Room needed a good refresh. Air Conditioner did not stay on...had to keep turning the fan on. The lobby bar is not staffed correctly to handle the volume of patrons. Good overall experience, but not what I would expect of a Hilton.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pelham, Alabama
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

As a Hilton Honor Gold Member I was given the worst room, dirty carpets and in some areas the carpet needed to be stretch. I was in the 14th floor Hilton Honors Member floor and that floor need to be closed. The hotel is in a nice spot, but if you are looking a hotel to relax don’t go there. Too busy and the staff is not friendly. The pool area is nice but it is always dirty, towels all over the floor, trash everywhere. The parking system is the worst I ever seen, you have to validate the ticket every time to go out and nobody explain how it works. The lobby and valet parking is a zoo. The property needs an upgrade. Dont expect any special care as a Hilton Honor Gold member, they dont care about it and they dont honor anything. I was another guess.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MSConde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 48 in San Juan
4,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing