We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missed the little things...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Although the Fitness Center was great since you actually get a Personal Trainer (Emilio Pinella), the amenities and service wasn't the best.

We stayed on the 4th Floor. We had a view of the ocean and garden but you had to look beyond the rusty, dirty lobby rooftop with an extremely loud air conditioning unit to truly enjoy it. As such, we weren't able to use the balcony or leave the door open.

On one day, they had a staff Family Day so you couldn't find space around the pool to relax and the jacuzzi was filled with children. It was awful.

Also, we were cornered by a maid, one day, who asked us to complete a survey and give her a good review. We felt pressured.

In short, they hid behind the big "Hilton" name but didn't come through on the little things. I won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Hello, thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are deeply sorry about the way you felt while staying with us.

We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you. It will be our pleasure to serve you and welcome you back.

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,396 - 3,402 of 7,204 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

After booking this hotel and reading the reviews I was not excited about my trip!!! Do not be discourage about the negative reviews. This hotel is amazing. We did not leave the hotel for anything. We got in 2 hours before checked in and they had a room available for us (check in process was less than 10mins). We stayed at the tower on the 18th floor great view. Room service was great (not as expensive as we anticipated). All the staff were really friendly and helpful. The cab fare from the airport to the hotel was $25. The swim up bar does not take cash ( credit card or you can charge it your room). Overall is was a GREAT trip, great pool and beautiful private beach!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat_Lai83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Hello there! Thank you for staying with us and for your comments! We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay. We appreciate your comments and hope you come back soon.

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Caribe Hilton in San Juan is a nice hotel, but if you're looking for a 5 star resort, this isn't it. The staff is friendly and accommodating and we had no issues. The pool area is nice plus there is a beach on property which makes it nice. Included in the mandatory resort fee are umbrellas, chairs, towels, internet access, etc. You have to ask the staff for an umbrella but they are more than friendly and will quickly set it up wherever you would like.

The hotel itself is dated and some rooms are in need of an upgrade. I can tell they have renovated some rooms so it looks like they will get to the others at some point. If you are a higher tier member with Hilton, your stay includes a voucher for the on-site restaurant for breakfast ($9 USD), you will be responsible for the other $9 for a total of $18. The breakfast is split into 2 areas. You can choose either a continental (voucher covers this) or a full breakfast. The full breakfast includes an omelet bar, which were excellent!

We stayed at this property before/after a cruise. After our cruise, we arrived at the hotel around 9:30am. Our room was not ready, which we expected it not to be, but the staff checked us in and held our luggage until the room was ready. We were given access to the beach and pool areas while we were waiting.

Taxis are the way to get around in San Juan. The drivers are very friendly...no issues at all!

Room Tip: We opted for an ocean view, but you can really see water from any room so save the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelGuy782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We arrived early at 8:30 after a cruise and the porter took our luggage. We had brought our swim suites so we could enjoy the pool until our room was ready. They have an amazing pool with waterfalls and a private beach with couches, hammocks and chairs. We had visited 20 years ago but the hotel has had many changes. The lobby is set up to watch sports and there was shopping, restaurants and many things to do. My room overlooked the ocean with a balcony so I could sit out and read. I would love to go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelwithmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

I come from the hospitality industry, a hospitality Group that manages several 5 Star resorts and spas and owns several hotels.

This place is by far the worst when it comes to customer service! And I've stayed in a lot of hotels, from Motel
6 to the Four Seasons.

The staff doesn't care about the guest. You can never get a hold of anyone at the front desk, which is really bad. The concierge never answers the phone nor returns a call. Even better, he doesn't show up on time to work. Management there is just as bad. He didn't care that I couldn't get a hold of concierge. He said, he's his own boss. The spa was the same way, no one answered a phone nor returned a phone. Bad service throughout the property!! Ordered food at the pool bar, a hot dog & chicken strips, 45 mins went by and never received our food not saw the server again. Morton's inside the hotel was just awful! Staff was fighting with each other about who was going to help us. Who trains these people! Ordered 2 drinks, he started to make them, then he just walked away and never came back! Food was mediocre at best.

I'd never stay here again! Waste of money! I did speak to Hilton Corporate about this matter and they are looking in to it.

I do give praise to Jennifer at Enterprise Rent A Car (they have a counter there) she was amazing. Very helpful, knowledgeable,
friendly and accommodating. She is a 5 star employee!

There was one person who I wish I could hire at any of our hotels, her name is Nereida. She was the poster Girl for hospitality. She is a 5 star team member. She knew her stuff. She should be running that hotel. It'd be a better place if she was.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DMFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. I am so sorry that our staff was not more attentive towards you and that they did not provide you the customer service you deserve. I was surprised and very disappointed by your recount of your experience with us. I assure you that it’s contrary to what our customers typically see from us. However, I can very much empathize with your situation and assure you that I have taken your comments and shared it with our management team.

Please know that your business is incredibly important to us and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very nice hotel I loved the pool area and the pier at the back! You can see different species of fish! The pool is amazing. Modern rooms with a very private view! Did not liked the parking! It has a private beach and a spot with hammocks with a caribean romance flare!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReecemarieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Hi there! thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton for your recent stay in Puerto Rico. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities. appreciate your feedback about our parking.

we hope you visit us again soon

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Returned to this hotel for the sixth time, for a conference - this time in summer and not winter. The hotel is located on a small bay with balmy sea waters, hammocks scattered among palm trees rooted randomly on a beautiful beach. The bay is protected by a coral reef, so it is unlikely to harbor tropical menaces or rip tides one may encounter in an open ocean setting. This is especially comforting for families who don't want children to paddle on inflatables into an endless sea. There is a magnificant walk along the shore from one end of the property to the other, that is not to be missed. That said, the lounge chairs and other beach comforts need an upgrade. The hotel has been renovated and upgraded, the lobby area resembling some hotels in Hawaii, the pool now an infinity pool. Service has improved over the years and male chauvinism reduced at the Reception desk. (Many years past, male guests would be ushered to the front of the line, offered keys immediately and women assigned rooms at 4 pm or later). Now the reception desk is hospitable and gender-blind. That said, the hotel still needs serious upgrading. The Condado Lagoon villas (where my room was assigned) are neither villas nor accessible. They appear to have been tacked on without the wisdom of an experienced architect. Uphill ramps and long hot, humid hallways greet you and your heavy suitcase, the signage is poor and rooms hard to locate. I encountered many a lost soul lugging heavy suitcases and babies up and down ramps seeking the comfort of their rooms. The rooms in this wing are not sound-proofed, at all. Each time the baby next door whimpered or cried, I reflexely woke up and tried to get to her crib to comfort her. The chairs on the small balcony had peeling paint and the cushions were permanently squashed and stained.The room's curtains also had stains and the furniture dated scratched and sad. The sliding door to the closet was off-track so moving it around was a touchy act, requiring finesse to prevent a heavy door landing on your head. At times, the bathroom was replenished with face cloths, other times, it was not. The room had two small rectangular prints above the bed. Other than these, the walls were bare, truly bare. The hallway and corridors are in need of paint, for they are unsightly. Shops on the premises offered goods that were off-putting. Food in three restaurants I sampled is mediocre and service is snail-slow (45 minutes to get a menu in one location, another 45 minutes for food to arrive). A Cobb salad, promising a variety of ingredients on the menu, was essentially a massive mound of wilted lettuce leaves, one tiny grape tomato sliced in half, a half inch strip of bacon, a quarter inch slice of brown, old, mushy avocado and half a boiled egg, served with low quality balsamic vinegar ($3/bottle) on the side. In the conference rooms, I treated mosquitoes to breakfast and lunch on me; the microphones were fixed and glued at one level, so short people had to stand on tip toes to reach, while tall people maintained a deep bow to be heard. Lighting in LCD projectors was poor and slide presentations were hard to see. Some staff were helpful, others were distant. All in all, the location of this hotel is a gift to guests but poor management needs to be upgraded or replace.

Room Tip: Don't stay at Condado Lagoon Villas, unless you need to
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lilacroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for choosing Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico. We are delighted to have the honor of your visit one more time!

We appreciate you taking the time to response our survey, your feedback is important to us in order to better understand your need and where we can improve

Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you endured. we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your prompt return.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,921 reviews
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,255 reviews
4.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £168 - £411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing