We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your charges!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kill Devil Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Check your charges!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hotel was nice. Definitely could use some upgrades. Customer service was nonexistent which really surprised me being a Hilton hotel. We ordered a $4 kids hot dog from the pool bar on two different occasions and both times they charged us $5. When we pointed out the error they just wanted to argue. Once they knew we weren't backing down they corrected the check. YOU HAVE TO KEEP AN EYE ON YOUR BILL!!! My sister had over $500 in extra charges on her bill @ check out that were not justified. After speaking with a manager they were taken off. I am currently waiting to hear back from the hotel regarding minimal extra charges on my bill. I'm sure I'll have to keep calling! Don't spend your money @ the resort. Go into Old San Juan or Condado for better food & prices. Avoid Rosa Mexicana restaurant which is close to the resort unless you want to have your feet mopped while eating. Terrible customer service @ that place!!! Best food was @ Raices in San Juan and Bar Gitano in Condado! If we ever return to Puerto Rico it will not be @ this hotel! Shame on you Hilton!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crasian74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconveniences and the misunderstanding with our prices and charges.

Please contact our Accounting team to assist you with your room bill. We sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

at your service,

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,332
    2,505
    1,249
    637
    388
See reviews for
1,912
2,283
209
1,223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,582)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Caribe is "fine" - just not our style - and I was glad we were only there for one night. The service is fine - nothing bad and nothing exceptional. The room was renovated, but looked like it was done quickly, without much attention to detail. It was pretty clean, but not amazingly so. The first afternoon we were there, our kids wanted to go to the pool. It was packed with families (read unsupervised kids) and many adults who were behaving (in my opinion) as if they were on spring break. I saw people dumping beer into the pool! While the entrance to the pool is well guarded by hotel employees, the actual pool area seems under staffed. So we didn't stay long that first afternoon, but the next morning we were up early and enjoyed both the pool and the beach before they were crowded. Everything is very very expensive within the hotel, so be prepared to shell out lots of money for meals, or take a taxi somewhere else. Overall, it's not for us, but I'm sure many people enjoy places like this. We found a place in Old San Juan that is much more our speed (La Terazza) that we would highly recommend if you like to be more off the beaten path with exceptional, individualized service!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa1495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2014

very friendly and helpful staff throughout my stay. albert at the front desk made me and my cousin feel very welcomed; the rest of the staff also were very helpful and accommodating. the only disappointment was that there was no celebration for the 4th of july.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Charlayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I travel often and stay at various type of hotels. Typically the star rating and expectations are in line but not this time. If you are looking for sub-standard accommodations then you pick the right place. Pictures are worth a thousand words and adding just a few to illustrate the poor conditions that are certainly not at the level of hotel/resort claiming to be 4-stars. The first room we checked into was not cleaned or maintained well at all. The sheets had some yellow staining, the shower had band-aids pasted on the wall, orange stains on the walls, mold on the ceiling and hair in the sink. We were then offered to switch to a room in the garden wing that wasn't much better where we, again, found stains on the sheets, mold in the shower and peeling cement off the ceiling. The room was serviced daily but the cleaning was mediocre. We know that the bathroom sink and countertops were certainly not wiped down since non of our toiletries were moved. The walls are quite thin and being a resort geared towards families we heard kids running down the hallways, yelling and screaming often... which is fine but if you are looking for a more relaxed, peaceful accommodations this might not be the right place. The staff was careless. They didn't apologize for the inconvenience, the poor conditions or try to make an unpleasant situation a better one. There are many options in San Juan while priced the same or even better so if your travels take to this fun island and city you might want to consider staying elsewhere. Hopefully the ownership will invest in improving this property's conditions and better train the staff so that it could actually be a true 4-star resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank LSe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night and was not impressed. Very pricey for what you are getting. Garden was really nice. Our room looked worn out. Bathroom cabinet and tub looked very old. One of the closet door handles was broken so kind of hard to open it. Patio furniture old and stained. Just expected way more for such an expensive hotel. It was cleaned though. Valet employees were very courteous and welcoming. Front Desk staff not so much, can definitely improve on service and how to be courteous. Not a bad hotel just don't expect luxury just because you paid an outrageous price.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luna2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel was beautiful. There is a private beach and a huge pool. service is great, everyone was friendly. It can get pretty pricey If you eat at the hotel. The night we got in we took a Cab ($24 round trip) to this place in old San Juan called Raices that everyone suggested. The munfongo was good. The following Morning my boyfriend and I decided to eat at this local spot right outside of the hotel.for breakfast during our stay. It was cheap and
The food was decent.

For lunch, we took the city bus (the metro bus, 21 or 53 from stop 0750 nd return at 0741) for 75 cents to old San Juan which was Maybe a 10 min ride. There, we walked
around and found places to eat.

We also went to the Bacardi factory which was free (and boring). I definitely wouldn't suggest wasting $65 to go there from the hotel when you can pay 75 cents on the bus to old San Juan walk
to pier 2 and catch the ferry for $1 round trip which comes every 30 mins!

Overall, our experience was good!!!


  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LadyChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It has been years since we stayed at the Caribe Hilton. The beach and customer service made the trip fabulous. Willie Bass at the Beach/Towel Hut was excellent! While the room was on the smaller side, the view of the lagoon and Miramar was spectacular. The overall amenities were very family friendly. We had a 21 person family reunion brunch that the Palermas Restaurant accommodated for us. Maria the Palermas manager was professional and her staff was attentive. I definitely recommend the Caribe Hilton for families and for those that want a fabulous beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherinaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,228 reviews
4.3 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing