We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 July 2014

On week of 6/29 I stayed. We were able to check-in the room at 12:00pm which was amazing and great start to the trip. Grounds are beautiful and well-maintained. Pool is huge and has different sections. Bigger than any other resort in condado. Beach was fabulous! PRIVATE :) meaning no locals and beachside umbrella, chair, and food service. Unlike the rest of condado beach, this resort has a break wall therefore allows you to swim far out and not worry about strong currents or big fish. There is enough marine life for snorkeling to keep you busy.

On-site restaurants plenty to choose from to accommodate any budget. Sit-downs are on the higher end per usual for all hotels.

If you decide to walk to ashford ave. It is very safe about a 5-15 min to walk to restaurants, casinos, shops, etc. Worth the walk to save $ on food and try Puerto Rican cuisine and Happy hour drinks. There is security everywhere leaving the hotel before the bridge. Walk whenever you can, taxis range from $12-17 for just 1.5 miles. Save the taxi $ for late nights.

During our trip, we visited La Concha, Condado Plaza, and Marriott for drinks and casinos. El Caribe Hilton was superior by far! Pool, beach, and grounds were much bigger and versatile than any of the others. Made us really appreciate our hotel even more!

Our refrigerator in the room did not work upon arrival. Someone immediately came and replaced it. The hotel took care of our $50 bar bill from the previous night for the inconvenience.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have better view (7th -10th), Panoramic views from rooms on odd side in high twenties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jessica O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,344 - 3,350 of 7,210 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great view. Great location. Needs updating. Hotel staff were friendly. Cab is 14 dollars to Ashford. For was good. Drinks were tasty. Rooms could have been cleaner. Shower could have been cleaner. Like the location. Will come back. But will demand and command more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Gregg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. we hope you and your family had a great stay.

again thank you and we hope you give us another opportunity to serve you

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed at the Hilton Caribe July 2nd and 3rd. I would classify the resort as average and not "luxury" as the HIlton website describes it. Because it's close to the ocean, the buildings are pretty beat up from the salty air. The entire resort could use a good coat of paint and some refreshing as the rooms are a bit dated. On the plus side, the pool area is very nice. Though we did not take our children, the pool had many activities for the kids to do. For the adults there is a nice swim up bar poolside. There is no direct beach access from the pool area. Access to the beach must be made off of the property as far as I could tell. Overall, the location is good, though it is very near a small airplane that services turbo prop planes that fly in and out all day and NIGHT. Therefore it can be quite noisy at night. My wife experienced two massages at the spa on separate days and enjoyed those as well, though the price is expensive (as it usually is at resorts). I would still stay at this resort again as it was clean and the staff was helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LazyJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hotel was nice. Definitely could use some upgrades. Customer service was nonexistent which really surprised me being a Hilton hotel. We ordered a $4 kids hot dog from the pool bar on two different occasions and both times they charged us $5. When we pointed out the error they just wanted to argue. Once they knew we weren't backing down they corrected the check. YOU HAVE TO KEEP AN EYE ON YOUR BILL!!! My sister had over $500 in extra charges on her bill @ check out that were not justified. After speaking with a manager they were taken off. I am currently waiting to hear back from the hotel regarding minimal extra charges on my bill. I'm sure I'll have to keep calling! Don't spend your money @ the resort. Go into Old San Juan or Condado for better food & prices. Avoid Rosa Mexicana restaurant which is close to the resort unless you want to have your feet mopped while eating. Terrible customer service @ that place!!! Best food was @ Raices in San Juan and Bar Gitano in Condado! If we ever return to Puerto Rico it will not be @ this hotel! Shame on you Hilton!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crasian74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconveniences and the misunderstanding with our prices and charges.

Please contact our Accounting team to assist you with your room bill. We sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

at your service,

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Caribe is "fine" - just not our style - and I was glad we were only there for one night. The service is fine - nothing bad and nothing exceptional. The room was renovated, but looked like it was done quickly, without much attention to detail. It was pretty clean, but not amazingly so. The first afternoon we were there, our kids wanted to go to the pool. It was packed with families (read unsupervised kids) and many adults who were behaving (in my opinion) as if they were on spring break. I saw people dumping beer into the pool! While the entrance to the pool is well guarded by hotel employees, the actual pool area seems under staffed. So we didn't stay long that first afternoon, but the next morning we were up early and enjoyed both the pool and the beach before they were crowded. Everything is very very expensive within the hotel, so be prepared to shell out lots of money for meals, or take a taxi somewhere else. Overall, it's not for us, but I'm sure many people enjoy places like this. We found a place in Old San Juan that is much more our speed (La Terazza) that we would highly recommend if you like to be more off the beaten path with exceptional, individualized service!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa1495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

very friendly and helpful staff throughout my stay. albert at the front desk made me and my cousin feel very welcomed; the rest of the staff also were very helpful and accommodating. the only disappointment was that there was no celebration for the 4th of july.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Charlayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I travel often and stay at various type of hotels. Typically the star rating and expectations are in line but not this time. If you are looking for sub-standard accommodations then you pick the right place. Pictures are worth a thousand words and adding just a few to illustrate the poor conditions that are certainly not at the level of hotel/resort claiming to be 4-stars. The first room we checked into was not cleaned or maintained well at all. The sheets had some yellow staining, the shower had band-aids pasted on the wall, orange stains on the walls, mold on the ceiling and hair in the sink. We were then offered to switch to a room in the garden wing that wasn't much better where we, again, found stains on the sheets, mold in the shower and peeling cement off the ceiling. The room was serviced daily but the cleaning was mediocre. We know that the bathroom sink and countertops were certainly not wiped down since non of our toiletries were moved. The walls are quite thin and being a resort geared towards families we heard kids running down the hallways, yelling and screaming often... which is fine but if you are looking for a more relaxed, peaceful accommodations this might not be the right place. The staff was careless. They didn't apologize for the inconvenience, the poor conditions or try to make an unpleasant situation a better one. There are many options in San Juan while priced the same or even better so if your travels take to this fun island and city you might want to consider staying elsewhere. Hopefully the ownership will invest in improving this property's conditions and better train the staff so that it could actually be a true 4-star resort.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank LSe75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#22 of 47 in San Juan
4,931 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.7 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £182 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing