We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“San Juan Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albertville, Alabama
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“San Juan Hilton”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Such an awesome Hotel this resort was amazing, very nice rooms that over look the ocean, the resort has so much to offer you could have an awesome stay without even leaving the resort. The staff was very welcoming and helpful with need that we had.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello! thank you for staying with us and for your comments. It is great to hear that you had a great time. We hope you return again soon

at your service,

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,238
    2,441
    1,212
    622
    374
See reviews for
1,806
2,234
203
1,192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Facilities among common areas were very nice. However, when I got to my room the bathroom door was broken and the refrigerator was out of service.
Once downstairs, the pool and beach facilities were nice; however, there was a lack of servers I ended up going to the counters to get my beverages and something to eat.
In general plus and minus was a fair service.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton as your “home away from home” during your visit to beautiful Puerto Rico.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments, your feedback is important to us in order to better understand your need and where we can improve


We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to your prompt return.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

I just returned from a short weekend stay (Sat-Mon) at Caribe Hilton with my wife, and we have a very pleasant stay. First off, it's an easy cab ride to the hotel from the airport, with rates preset ($19 + $2 approved gas surcharge + $1 per luggage), kudos to City of San Juan. Don't have to worry about driver running longer routes or traffic jam.... Upon arrival, check-in was quick. I have been a long time Gold member and was given an upgrade to a beach front room on the 10th floor of Main Building. Spectacular view... Room is clean... Private beach is very nice.... We were given breakfast voucher for either free continental breakfast or $10 upgrade to a full breakfast. We paid the $10 and it's well worth it. (Regular price is $23.75, I certainly wouldn't pay full price for it.).... Final note: it's technically walkable to Old San Juan, about 2 miles/40 minutes. But it might be too hot to walk before sunset. You can take a bus for $0.75 (coins only) or taxi is $12 (preset). We did all three... We'll definitely return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hi there! thank you for choosing us for your recent stay and your comments. It delight us to hear that you and your wife had a great time.

We look forward to welcome you back soon!

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Service is a mixed bag from completely awful to above and beyond. Considering the unemployment rate in PR you would think people would be happy to do their job. Otherwise the property is beautiful and has a nice mix of dining options.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you left feeling this way. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you endured.

We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at Caribe Hilton as part of a conference and were given a room in the main (newly renovated) building. The room itself was quite nice - plenty of power points and the bed was comfortable. Although we paid extra for an ocean front room however, we had to crane our heads to see it - more like ocean to the side.

There were unexpected surprises that we discovered, which came with staying here for a week. Firstly, the omelettes that were freshly made in the buffet downstairs were amazing, and I looked forward to them every morning. Definitely definitely worth a visit! Secondly, the peacock garden was spectacular - iguanas and swans, turtles, lizards, a turkey - wow! Again, definitely worth a visit!

However, the bar downstairs was very noisy after about 5pm (live music most nights), and it was difficult to find food onsight after breakfast beside hamburgers and fried food. Every time I wanted to go outside to the beach, a security man insisted on seeing my room card, and once searched my bag. For what?! A beach ball? The hotel is also quite far away from most shops and old San Juan (about a $14 cab ride). Overall, it was quite nice but a bit run down.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the peacock garden will be quieter and rooms in the main building have been newly re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 8ydneyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, WV
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed here for a girls' trip in February. We wanted to go far enough south to enjoy the beach in the winter months, and San Juan's average temperature that time of year hovers around 85 degrees. We were pleased with our experience at the Hilton. They have a spacious pool area with a swim-up bar, hot tubs, etc. The beach area has hammocks, a pier and plenty of space for sunbathing--not to mention the breathtaking views of the water. You can eat breakfast in or outside overlooking the pool and beach and have it cooked to order. We were there during Super Bowl Sunday weekend, and they set up an auditorium-style viewing area with big screen televisions near the bar area. The inside bar is also nice and they have a sushi bar and several other dining options on-site. The hotel was clean and in a convenient location to area restaurants and entertainment. The experience was overall enjoyable and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissHeatherInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

What we really liked about this hotel is that it has nice private pool/beach. The insides of the hotel room is ok, we have balcony and we enjoyed sitting outside overlooking the pool and the beach. Unfortunately, we got the room that is directly above the roof with noisy A/C units vents, we did not get to hear the sound of coqui frogs at night. Also, I wish the hotel got a cleaner glass doors in the balcony, they are kinda filthy. If you want to lounge inside to avail the coolness of A/C while looking outside to see the ocean it was disappointing to look through a filthy glass doors.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jannie1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing