We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location Worse Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #18 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This place always has some kind of corporate function going on where the pool, bar and sometimes the beach is closed off to locals for their business parties. This is a resort that caters more to locals and could care less about vacationers. This Hoetl need a bg make over as the rooms are very old and not kept up. The staff may act like they care but when it takes 2 hours to get a pillow and it takes 2 to 3 hours if at all to get a problem resolved that is not caring. When it takes you 3 days for Management to speak with you and when a Manager tells you that its time for him to go home and cant speak with you that IS NOT Customer Service. During the evnts that happen it seems on a daily basis at this place are going on the guest have to go thru a check point and show ID and room key before going iut to the pool that you are paying to have access to while all the other locals go thru a red carpet and enjoy more than you do for free. This si not worth the resort fee. they should concentrate on vacationers and fixing the Hoetel. This Hotel deserves a low 3 rating because of their could care less attitudes towards vacationing guests.

Room Tip: try to get main building even though the rooms are old and need to be updated the large tower and Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank platinummember45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. It saddens us to hear that you feel this way. We apologize for the inconveniences we caused to you with the events held at our Hotel. Rest assured your comments and your loyalty are very important to us and I will personally take them into consideration.

Again thank you for your comments. Please give us another chance to serve you.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,313 - 3,319 of 7,209 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

This property needs a major upgrade, we were staying in the tower wing and the room was very old and tired. The ranch slider to the balcony was nearly impossible to open and in general the room was quite a poor standard for a Hilton. On the positive side the pool area was very nice, although for some reason the jacuzzi/spas seemed to be cold or colder than ideal on most days. The bar area in the pool was fun and the cocktails and food there was nice. This hotel is a large hotel and the facilities, such as fitness centre and spa were very good. Pity about the rooms. It is about a 10 minute taxis to the old city which is a lovely place for restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Nice20a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences you endured with your room. We sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

at your service,

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend in mid-July. The hotel it self would earn a solid 3 out of 5 hotels at a baseline. It's clean, staff is friendly, it's in a good location- all pretty good, but nothing spectacular. It goes down to such a poor rating because of an event that transpired there during our stay.

After spending the day at the pool Friday we arrived back in our room and found a letter letting us know that the hotel would be hosting a Coors Life Bliss Beach Party the following day. The letter explained what we would need to do to access the beach and pool that day. We didn't think much of it, as that is all the letter said.

Saturday we arrived back to the hotel after a morning trip at around 12:30 pm. We were greeted by loud music and an extremely overcrowded beach and pool area. We tried to enjoy the day despite some of the activity going on. For starters, many of the party guests brought in their own alcohol in glass bottles, extremely unsafe for a pool area where people are bare foot. Additionally, many of the party guests were smoking cigarettes in the pool. Furthermore, the pool bar that we had enjoyed so much is the previous days was packed beyond belief and you couldn't order a drink at all. Again, we tried to shrug it off and left for the day. Upon returning back to our room at 11 pm, we were exhausted after a very long day and were anxious to get to sleep. Imagine our frustration when even with the door closed the music that was playing outside was so loud that even air plugs didn't work. I didn't get to sleep until after midnight when the music stopped. It is incredibly unacceptable to disrupt an entire resort of people paying to stay at your hotel in such a fashion.

Sunday morning arrived and we were ready to move on. We were excited to get to the pool and to make up for the day we had missed yesterday. Sunday was, hands down, the worst day of any vacation I had ever been on. We very surprised to find that the party guests still had an overwhelming presence at the pool. This time, however, it was dramatically worse. Sunday, with the beach party over, all of these patrons climbed into the pool. There was absolutely no room to swim, sit, or do much of anything in any pool or hot tub. One guest brought a large speaker where he played loud music all day. Again, we continued to see guest smoking and bringing in their own alcohol. It was so discouraging.

We had to leave the hotel again. Upon returning back Sunday evening around 10 we made our way out to walk on the beach on our last night of vacation. The attached pictures are just a few of the many we snapped of the trash and outside products that were completely trashing the pool. It was disgusting. Furthermore, at 10pm, which was two hours after the pool closed, we found about 20 party guests still in the hot tub and in cabanas drinking from outside vodka bottles and engaging in some questionable behavior.

To solidify the nightmare that your hotel caused, Monday morning we had to leave for the airport at 10 am. At 8am my boyfriend decided he wanted to get a swim in in the ocean before we left. We walked down bright and early to find that these same people were out at the beach area, drinking from glass beer bottles again playing loud music.

We are in our early 30's and enjoy a good time as much as (or maybe even more than) the next person, but this was over the top. Truly, this event made MTV spring break look tame. It was purely awful. We would have stayed at a different hotel had we known, but we weren't told about this party until the day before.

Think twice before staying here- or at least do your research about events that may be going on.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank suz525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconveniences endured by you and your boyfriend.

We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A week's stay at this hotel... thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful grounds, pools, beach, and even peacocks! The villas were a little far from the main lobby, and could use upgrading! Room was clean, great view and comfortable beds. Had buffet breakfast at the hotel, every day... great selection of items offered. Had free wifi in our room package.

Room Tip: If you need to get a lot of exercise, stay at the villas, otherwise the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MMS914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello! thank you for choosing us for your recent stay in Puerto Rico. We appreciate your comments and hope you had a great vacation.

looking forward to welcome you back soon

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family and I stayed here in july11-19, 2014. The hotel is in a great location and easy access from pool to beach and 5 minutes to Old San Juan with great restaurants . But what really made my trip was Emilio (KUNG-FU PANDA) gym instructor. I got to the island with a pain on my back and was very tense. Emilio instructed me on what to do to alleviate the pain. If he didn't help I would have had a terrible vacation and laid up in bed. He even let my kids (13 & 9) stay with me at the gym while I worked out and treated them good. Emilio is a great asset to Caribe Hilton. We need more like him all over the gyms. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Cleanliness
Thank kety1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It is in a great location and easy to get to from the airport. The garden tower seems to be the older part of the hotel so use the newer tower if it's available. The restaurants are very expensive. The amenities are fine and we really enjoyed our first destination wedding.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your comments. We hope that you and your family had a great time.

Looking forward to your return

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here 3 nites as an extended vacation after the cruise to check out PR.
- Room & rate: the rate was decent due to AAA discount and we got upgraded to an ocean view w/balcony for two connected rooms due to HH membership level. Both rooms were clean due to recent renovation but you can tell it was a rush job. The rooms were good size, larger than normal. The location is convenience if you want to go to Old Town, less than 5min ride bus or taxi. Take the bus to save $$ and use that for foods and souvenirs. :) Of course, do not take the bus back at night if it is after 8pm or 9p, just for safety purpose.
- View was good b/c we were on the 9th floor and almost at the beach front.
- Avoid staying at the Garden building, especially the lower floors as they are very noisy, bugs, mosquitoes and garden animal (Peacocks) are very loud. The garden was nice to walk around to take great photos of the animals there, my wife and daughter loved it!
- Foods and drinks at the hotel is outrageous expensive. One drink (small cup) is $12 and not much alcohol. You can buy the sandwiches at Quiznos in the lobby to save some but one can only eat so much sandwiches for lunch. :) I recommend save your money, take the bus to Old Town, walk around to find diff. cafes, restaurants, etc. for foods. Yes, it's not cheap but at least they are good foods!
- The pools and beach areas are quite nice, lots of places and chairs, so no problem finding one. Of course, Sat and Sun are VERY crowded comparing to weekdays. Besides the pools, mostly kids with adults standing around, the beach is also a great place to relax. If you have snorkeling gear, use them as you can see some great fish from near the shore to the rocks areas. It's very safe since there is practically no waves.
- It would be nice if they give you some bottle waters for the daily resorts fee being charged to your bill. I suggest to to CVS in Old Town and get what you need like water, sunblock, medicines, candies, snacks, etc.
- Some staffs are friendly but the a couples worked at the towers room checkout were not friendly if I do not speak the local language. We have a family of 5, we ask for 6, she gave us a dirty look as why we need one extra. When right before that she gave a young couple 4 when they asked. Not nice!
- Check-in staffs were nice but they are too busy, you have to go back every hour to check on your room status even though they said they will call when there is room. If I actually wait for a phone call, I would have sat there until "midnight".

Overall, it is a decent, reasonably clean hotel, good room size with an ocean view if you can get one. Service is average with a few at the poolside restaurant were friendly.

I would stay again if it is only a few days.

Room Tip: If all you care about visiting Old Town SJ, stay at the ones in Old Town. If you care for the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 3musketeers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. your feedback is important to us in order to better understand your need and where we can improve. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#22 of 47 in San Juan
4,931 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.7 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#4 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#10 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £182 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing