We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacation Spot”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The pool and bar area are very nice to hang out at, and we really liked the fitness center. Emilio, the fitness attendant on duty when we worked out, was very sociable and attentive. He went above and beyond to not only show us how to use the machines and teach us new exercises, but also to recommend places in the area for us to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lpacinelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,237
    2,441
    1,212
    622
    374
See reviews for
1,805
2,234
203
1,192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This is a few years late, but we stayed here for my cousin's wedding back in 2011. We live in Texas and I was so looking forward to going back to the Caribbean, my favorite destination! The open air lobby was breezy and welcoming. The grounds were magnificent and all the pool areas were clean. I especially liked the comfy lounge couches above the water, where you could just jump in that beautiful green oasis and cool off! The beds were like heaven, and we had an incredible ocean view. The reception the next night was AMAZING! The hotel really made the party room like a fairytale event, attention to every detail. The staff were all friendly and accomodating. My other cousin is getting married there next year and I just pray we can go back to the Caribe again!! :)

Room Tip: Oceanfront is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieStacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We bought a Jet Blue vacation package to Caribe Hilton for the 4th of July long weekend.

Let's start from the airport arrival. It was a breeze to baggage claim. There are plenty of taxis that you can take to the hotel from arrival taxi stand. $ 19 + $ 1 bag to Caribe Hilton hotel, prices are fixed so you won't be fleeced.

It was 4th of July and hotel was full to the maximum, plenty of activities going around the hotel area and buzzing with people. Bell boy was very courteous and showed me to the check in area. It took me about 5 minutes to get checked in and we were given a Ocean View Room in the tower building.

Room kind of out dated, big bathroom with a rain shower, attention to details were not there when I got to the room, quarter of used toilet roll left in, iron is there but no ironing board, and bed was not made it properly . ( like someone had slept before we came there ) then again, we were not going to complaint as kind of minor thing as we saw it. We got a 11th floor view of the ocean.

Pool and beach area is great. Plenty of towels, tho beach is a man made, and plenty of chairs that you can find but can't say the same with the pool area. Good area for kids too. We tried a piña Colada from the pool bar , mind you it was horrible and paid $ 22 for 2 drinks. Have patience if you want to see a waiter coming to serve drinks on the beach area :)

We didn't try the hotel morning buffet breakfast area, it will cost about almost $40 - $ 50 for 2 people, instead that we decided to have Quiznos for breakfast, portion is small, so we took 2 portions each, cost $ 20.

Piña Colada restaurant the place to be at the happy hour, 4 - 7 PM, cocktail is $5 but if you buy 2 it's $8, mind you 2 drinks will cost you $22, we tried most of the cocktails and piña Colada is the best there, then again you won't break the bank.

Plenty of taxis to old San Juan City, cost about $ 12 - 15 ( depends on the taxi driver ) One late afternoon we took a walk to old city and it took about 20 minutes, but in the night I would recommend taking a taxi. Take a map from a information booth inside the fort and you can navigate by your self.

Checking out is a breeze, just give a call to the reception and they will check you out,

Remember one thing when departing, you need to scan your bags from USDA ( agriculture ) before you get into check in counter, if not they will ask you to get your bags scan before giving the boarding pass. I went through terminal A, and screen place is obscure, if you can't find it just ask. I believe all other terminals would be the same.

Overall a satisfied stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dansh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I visited San Juan in June and stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The hotel has its own private beach, and nice swimming pool overlooking the ocean. Hotel has some nice restaurants serving different cuisines and a Starbucks coffee right inside. The hotel is mins away from the Old San Juan.The room had a beautiful view from the balcony, service was great. Hotel also offers several tours and had pick up from hotel itself.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AKS1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This place always has some kind of corporate function going on where the pool, bar and sometimes the beach is closed off to locals for their business parties. This is a resort that caters more to locals and could care less about vacationers. This Hoetl need a bg make over as the rooms are very old and not kept up. The staff may act like they care but when it takes 2 hours to get a pillow and it takes 2 to 3 hours if at all to get a problem resolved that is not caring. When it takes you 3 days for Management to speak with you and when a Manager tells you that its time for him to go home and cant speak with you that IS NOT Customer Service. During the evnts that happen it seems on a daily basis at this place are going on the guest have to go thru a check point and show ID and room key before going iut to the pool that you are paying to have access to while all the other locals go thru a red carpet and enjoy more than you do for free. This si not worth the resort fee. they should concentrate on vacationers and fixing the Hoetel. This Hotel deserves a low 3 rating because of their could care less attitudes towards vacationing guests.

Room Tip: try to get main building even though the rooms are old and need to be updated the large tower and Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank platinummember45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. It saddens us to hear that you feel this way. We apologize for the inconveniences we caused to you with the events held at our Hotel. Rest assured your comments and your loyalty are very important to us and I will personally take them into consideration.

Again thank you for your comments. Please give us another chance to serve you.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This property needs a major upgrade, we were staying in the tower wing and the room was very old and tired. The ranch slider to the balcony was nearly impossible to open and in general the room was quite a poor standard for a Hilton. On the positive side the pool area was very nice, although for some reason the jacuzzi/spas seemed to be cold or colder than ideal on most days. The bar area in the pool was fun and the cocktails and food there was nice. This hotel is a large hotel and the facilities, such as fitness centre and spa were very good. Pity about the rooms. It is about a 10 minute taxis to the old city which is a lovely place for restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nice20a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We apologize for the inconveniences you endured with your room. We sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

at your service,

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend in mid-July. The hotel it self would earn a solid 3 out of 5 hotels at a baseline. It's clean, staff is friendly, it's in a good location- all pretty good, but nothing spectacular. It goes down to such a poor rating because of an event that transpired there during our stay.

After spending the day at the pool Friday we arrived back in our room and found a letter letting us know that the hotel would be hosting a Coors Life Bliss Beach Party the following day. The letter explained what we would need to do to access the beach and pool that day. We didn't think much of it, as that is all the letter said.

Saturday we arrived back to the hotel after a morning trip at around 12:30 pm. We were greeted by loud music and an extremely overcrowded beach and pool area. We tried to enjoy the day despite some of the activity going on. For starters, many of the party guests brought in their own alcohol in glass bottles, extremely unsafe for a pool area where people are bare foot. Additionally, many of the party guests were smoking cigarettes in the pool. Furthermore, the pool bar that we had enjoyed so much is the previous days was packed beyond belief and you couldn't order a drink at all. Again, we tried to shrug it off and left for the day. Upon returning back to our room at 11 pm, we were exhausted after a very long day and were anxious to get to sleep. Imagine our frustration when even with the door closed the music that was playing outside was so loud that even air plugs didn't work. I didn't get to sleep until after midnight when the music stopped. It is incredibly unacceptable to disrupt an entire resort of people paying to stay at your hotel in such a fashion.

Sunday morning arrived and we were ready to move on. We were excited to get to the pool and to make up for the day we had missed yesterday. Sunday was, hands down, the worst day of any vacation I had ever been on. We very surprised to find that the party guests still had an overwhelming presence at the pool. This time, however, it was dramatically worse. Sunday, with the beach party over, all of these patrons climbed into the pool. There was absolutely no room to swim, sit, or do much of anything in any pool or hot tub. One guest brought a large speaker where he played loud music all day. Again, we continued to see guest smoking and bringing in their own alcohol. It was so discouraging.

We had to leave the hotel again. Upon returning back Sunday evening around 10 we made our way out to walk on the beach on our last night of vacation. The attached pictures are just a few of the many we snapped of the trash and outside products that were completely trashing the pool. It was disgusting. Furthermore, at 10pm, which was two hours after the pool closed, we found about 20 party guests still in the hot tub and in cabanas drinking from outside vodka bottles and engaging in some questionable behavior.

To solidify the nightmare that your hotel caused, Monday morning we had to leave for the airport at 10 am. At 8am my boyfriend decided he wanted to get a swim in in the ocean before we left. We walked down bright and early to find that these same people were out at the beach area, drinking from glass beer bottles again playing loud music.

We are in our early 30's and enjoy a good time as much as (or maybe even more than) the next person, but this was over the top. Truly, this event made MTV spring break look tame. It was purely awful. We would have stayed at a different hotel had we known, but we weren't told about this party until the day before.

Think twice before staying here- or at least do your research about events that may be going on.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suz525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Please accept our deepest apologies for the inconveniences endured by you and your boyfriend.

We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you.

at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,704 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,142 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing