We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms need some love.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Berkeley, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rooms need some love.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Property and grounds are great, restaurants good but steep. Rooms need upgrades. Our room had stained curtains and furniture, chipping paint, and dangerously sharp/cracked counter top in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Condado and the north east have great views day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,262
    2,457
    1,220
    628
    381
See reviews for
1,830
2,249
204
1,202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,566)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at the Condado plaza in San Juan, which I previously gave my mediocre review for. We are spending our last two nights in Puerto Rico at the Caribe Hilton across the Lagoon and could not be happier with our decision to move and spend the remainder of our honeymoon here!

Pool area is gorgeous. There are a multitude of chairs, day beds, and cabanas to enjoy by the pool or ocean. Today we went snorkeling in the lagoon and had an array of tropical fish species literally swimming with us! It felt like our very own aquarium.

We tried the outdoor pool bar and grill and it was the best salad I've had all week - tuna fish salad was so fresh! My husband enjoyed his very adult chicken tender and fried meal as we'll :-)

Check in was easy and they accommodated us at 11:00 am, 5 hours before our scheduled check in. We are excited to spend our last two days in Puerto Rico here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaimie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I come to Puerto Rico every August and for the past 3 years I stay here each time. The service is great, the views are wonderful, the ocean is right on the premises. Never disappointed when I stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rivera29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our family of 5, from age 13 on up, stayed 4 nights at the Caribe Hilton. Let me preface by saying that we have lived and travelled around the world. We have stayed in 5 star hotels and some simpler hotels. We find that hotels should be rated compared to others in its location and the price of the accommodations. We had stayed at a nice hotel in Condado, but had also booked a few days at the Caribe Hilton because we wanted to try a different location. While Condado is lively and there are many restaurants around, we enjoyed the CH. It is more spacious and has more of a resort feel than the other hotel we stayed in. It also has a bit of that retro feel. It is located in a quieter part of town, but after being out all day doing outdoor activities or visiting Old San Juan, we wanted to stay in and enjoy the hotel. The staff is very nice. Checking in and out seems to take longer than it should, but they compensated us without even having to ask, by giving us free $25 vouchers to use at the hotel. We were in the Garden building with an ocean view. The rooms have a good presentation, but as most of the hotels in San Juan are decades old, they could use some improvements. The showers need a good cleaning to remove some of the mold that can build up in any shower, but it was not a turn off. The wood on the bathroom vanities could use some stripping and re-staining to give it a fresh look, but again, not a turn off. The satellite equipment above the Caribe Hilton sign should be covered with an attractive fence or wall so we don't have to see all the equipment. The Caribe Hilton tower should be given a fresh coat of blue paint. These are the negatives, but it would not deter us from staying here again. The pools are nice and the beach area is protected from the Atlantic waves so it may be more suitable for young families than a hotel along Condado. Be prepared however, for lots of people around the beach area as it is not a very large stretch. It may sound like I'm pointing to all the negative, but it's only because we think that with a little tweaking, this place would superior than it is already. The beds and bedding are comfy- we love the Hilton bedding. The view was lovely. The hotel and grounds are clean and spacious. The breakfast (get the package that includes it because it is expensive) has a nice variety so you can eat plenty and skip lunch. If you would rather skip breakfast, you can grab something light at the Starbucks in the lobby. The concierge is helpful (although we had pre-booked our tours before arriving). If you have a drink or eat the Oasis bar, ask for Narida (sp?) who is absolutely lovely. Overall, we had a great stay at the CH and would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldfam5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Picked this hotel based on the reviews on TripAdvisor so Im not sure why we got a room that was sub par. Hair everywhere and when I write everywhere I mean everywhere! From the floors, the shower walls, to the balcony to the pillow cases, trash cans dirty, bedding stained as well as stained worn towels. Vanity area was not cleaned after previous guest and we also found a sock in one of the drawers. Asked housekeeper to change sheets on our second night there she didn't do it, asked her again on third night she didn't do it again. Called down twice for more towels but we were forgotten about!
Pool area was clean, pools were maintained, hot tubs not so much. Beach area small but served its purpose. Restaurants were ok, typical overpriced resort food. On top of all that I have to say the service at this hotel is the absolute WORST. My kids even noticed this and for them to notice it must be pretty bad. Only nice folks were at the starbucks located by the pool. The staff in the italian restaurant were the worst! It was a slow night but getting drink refill's or even food on time was apparently too much for them to handle as cell phones seemed to be top priority . Fries came out cold and the spaghetti was dry! It was a dinner to remember, lol! And don't go to quiz no's unless its the absolute last resort, they will take forever and then overcharge only to blame it on the customer
Location is not so bad easy to walk to Condado, catch a bus (50cents) to Old San Juan and in a quiet location. There is construction going on in the area but its not too bad!
Booked this a package with "free breakfast" keep in mind the breakfast is only for adults, no where did it state that there was a fee for kids of 12 bucks each!
Def. consider your options before choosing this place and go in with an open mind!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryInnAshland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at our hotel. I understand that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness and freshness of your guest room and am deeply disappointed by that. I sincerely apologize for this and assure you that this area is of great importance to us as we ensure the comfort and satisfaction for our guests. We’re very sorry you were unhappy with the variety of the food and with the appearance of our property. Guest feedback is incredibly important to us and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

An amazing hotel. Beautiful room; impeccable service. Beautiful location... Top rated amenities. I did have a minor problem with one of the specialty restaurants.. only to find out that the restaurants (The Italian IL Giaradono) leases from the Hilton. When I discussed my problems with the manager of the Hilton, he went above and beyond to rectify things. I would stay at the Caribe Hiton again at any time and would recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic and affordable place to saty.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank D7594HRrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Fl
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just back from 3 night stay. Booked trip through aavacations. Great hotel in middle of it all. Condado, Isla verde, old san juan were easy drives away. Private beach and pool great. Live band on sat night was awesome. mortons in hotel offered a great dinner on our anniversary.
As hilton diamond they treated me great. Staff was very nice. Only complaint was pool a bit dirty even at ten am. Will be back bc offers great bang for your buck.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpinmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 48 in San Juan
4,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,174 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing