We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Ranked #20 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manteno, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Affordable Escape”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I stayed in the Tower room 1967 on floor 19 for 7 days for our honeymoon. The bathroom in room was huge with a double sink, and large shower with a seat and multiple shower heads. Although the decor was outdated, we had an amazing balcony view of the ocean, pool and koi pond. The hotel is setup like a resort with private beach, swim up bar, infinity pool, and 2 other pools. The lobby has many restaurants to choose from everything from Quizno's to Morton's steak house. Their are snorkels, floats, towels, chairs and umbrellas for all there, no need to fight for a chair, there are plenty. They also have cabanas, ottomans, hammocks and other seating outside. AMAZING property. I would definitely go again. I paid $100 a night for the room for 2 people.Cant beat the price! Old San Juan is only a few miles away and there are free trolleys that take you all around San Juan.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank devinjotyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hello! Thank you for celebrating your honeymoon with us! It was a pleasure to hear that you and your husband had a wonderful time.

We appreciate your kind comments. We hope you return to celebrate your anniversary!

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,299
    2,491
    1,242
    632
    386
See reviews for
1,887
2,267
208
1,214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,575)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I would give it more stars if I was given the new tower room since the beginning, but I was placed on the old tower for two days before I could change rooms, so hence my 3 stars rating.
Old tower is dirty, dusty, no hot water, sliding door handle broke while there, I could see the flat screen tv hooks over the tv, carpet was ridiculously dirty and there werent that many electrical outlets available to charge our phones.
With that said, the new updated tower is beautifully decorated and clean and has everything you expect on this type of hotel.
Grounds are very nice and once you step out of the lobby you have arrived at paradise. Pool, lounge chairs, beds, hammocks, and beach were great.
Wish the servers at the beach where more handy, perhaps assigning more workers on a long holiday weekend would be a good idea.
Also, the front desk staff was great to work with, except one guy with glasses who was rude.

Room Tip: Chose the new tower closest to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizaF76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you felt not all our team members were attentive to you. Rest assured we will follow up upon your comments. We are very sorry that you did not feel happy with your room.

We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you. We are at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toms river
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The location was beautiful and the amenities were many, but there was a lack of places to eat in the area and at the hotel. We had to take a taxi to town (San Juan) to find shopping and restaurants, adding to our expenses.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel room was average. Pool area was very nice but not clean. When I checked out I had to wait for a manager to come release my cash deposit. She was rude and not friendly at all. Not even have a nice day nothing customer service is lacking .... :(

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The location of this hotel is great. The room was very nice but the balcony is very small. The bed wasn't too comfortable. We had a room on the 7th floor near the elevator and it was very noisy. You could hear people coming and going all night long. The pool and beach area are great. We did not eat at any of the restaurants but they looked very nice. We did enjoy Quizno's. We stayed here for 2 nights until we decided to move to the Condado Plaza Hilton down the street. The Condado is a much nicer hotel. The resort fees and debit card holds are outrageous. expect to pay at least 50 percent of your rate in holds and fees. The hold is released approximately 2 days after checkout.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

My family and I went to Puerto Rico for my 40th bday and we fell in LOVE!!! The staff was awesome! I cannot say enough about our stay. The rooms were nice, the pool and the grounds are a bit weather kissed, but that is to be expected with the humidity. They need to have more hammocks to lay in and the towel girl needs to get over her attitude, but we had a great time. Going back next summer with our kids and staying a little bit longer this time:)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nvkimmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed here for a work trip. The grounds and amenities were nice with an option to either lay by the ocean and sand or by the pool. You could even sit in the pool at the bar. Breakfast buffet was good and mimosas are included. Staff was friendly.

Only negative was the room service. The shower dripped constantly, a little annoying in the middle of the night and the maid left a dirty washcloth on the floor (I am guessing she dropped it) but should would have seen if it she turned around and double checked the room as it was in the middle of the hallway.

Also, the area around the hotel was safe but there wasn't a lot to do around the hotel without taking a taxi, which is a 30.00 minimum to use a credit card.

Room Tip: Some of the tower rooms are quite the walk from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson T, Manager at Caribe Hilton San Juan, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Hello, thank you for choosing the Caribe Hilton for your recent stay in beautiful Puerto Rico. We appreciate your feedback. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences during your stay.

We sincerely hope you visit us again soon. We are at your service

Nelson Torres, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.7 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
The Condado Plaza Hilton
The Condado Plaza Hilton
#24 of 47 in San Juan
4,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,205 reviews
1.1 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
0.9 mi away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribe Hilton San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Hilton San Juan

Property: Caribe Hilton San Juan
Address: 1 San Geronimo Street, San Juan 00901-2401, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Juan
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#11 Family Hotel in San Juan
#12 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#13 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Caribe Hilton San Juan 4*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic and iconic Caribe Hilton offers an ideal combination of leisure facilities and activities and is home to Caribar, the birthplace of the pina colada. The resort is situated on a private 17-acre lushly landscaped peninsula with a secluded beach and is located near the Old San Juan historic district and many of the destination's top attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Caribe Hilton San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Hilton San Juan Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel San Juan
Hilton Hotel Caribe
Hilton San Juan
San Juan Caribe Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing