We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Markell @ Cindy Honeymoon!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canario Boutique Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 San Juan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The people were so nice and charming. The room was very comfortable and private . And the price is affordable and in the middle of everywhere you want to go.The staff is very helpful and charming in every way. The best time to come out is night which you can everything after hours! You are also a block from the beach and which is so beautiful! They serve you breakfast in the morning.But for the price its Worth it! We plan another with the kids! We miss you all ready!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: The room was clean and quiet, with no noise. Excellent security and there is a officer always on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

Great service, yummy breakfast included and a block away from the beach. Surrounded by restaurants and shops, for the price... We were so impressed! 15 min cab ride to old San Juan. Simple, cozy and small. 'Boutique'. Loved our stay and would def book again. Older reviews must've been previous owners? We loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsLepervanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

A friend from San Juan recommended this place; it's where he stays when he goes back home to visit. We had a fantastic week at El Canario Inn!

Read the reviews. If you need a breakfast buffet, an elevator or you can't buy your own bug spray (there is a Walgreens a block or so away!) perhaps you should go to a hermetically sealed resort.

This clean and cheerful hotel offers friendly, helpful service and a great location with a pretty courtyard. Sigrid is especially savvy and can advise you on the best activities for your type of interest. We actually got an unexpected upgrade and had the 4th floor suite, with the whole rooftop as our private terrace and a super comfy bed. We met other travelers who said their room was tiny but comfortable and who goes to PR to spend much time in their room anyway? The beautiful beach is a short block away, just grab clean towels from the lobby and go! We rented bikes, which were delivered to the hotel, and spent the week biking and walking all over San Juan.

Our key also gave us access to their other properties; one has a swimming pool and one has a big hot tub. We never made it there but heard it was nice!!

Lovely hotel, great value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonVanD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My daughter and I stayed for 6 days, 5 nights. We enjoyed the breakfast, I especially liked the croissants and butter! I thought it was quite ample with cereal, fruit, pastries, coffee, tea, milk and juice. Always available at 7AM. After that starter, we got ready for the day. We headed East to Pinky's for the real breakfast/brunch! Pinky's is by far always good and good for you. You can not find better, fresher food and more delicious smoothies, anywhere! The prices are low and you might be wise to share your entree? After returning to put the "go" carton in the fridge at the El Canario, we would head (3 minute walk) to the beach. Another possibility was to head down the street to the bus stop. For a mere 75 cents, you can ride in comfort to Old San Juan. The free trolley there will take you all over the area, making several stops. Nearby, you can hop a ferry for a couple bucks and spend the day on an island. We never felt unsafe. All of the people we dealt with were very helpful and friendly, whether they spoke English or not? One of our true highlights was the help and assistance given by Sigrid, the Inn's Director. She aided our BioBay/Rainforest/Luquillo Beach tour after we decided last minute, to do it. Our guide Rupert was wonderful and we paid less than the other tours published price. Sigrid is an educated, intelligent young lady, with wide travel experience of her own. She can make your stay, that much better. She knows the island and the people. Everyone one on staff were "just good people", with every effort made to make our stay the best. The El Canario has the dubious honor of supplying the bicycle police with ice for their cooling vests. The ice maker never failed and was always full. We did loose power for a few hours twice, one day. It was all of Condado. I'd much rather be close to the ground and be able to open a window, under those circumstances? The big hotels were dark, too. We always had hot water, even without power? If you visit Condado, Puerto Rico, consider the El Canario. I can't wait to go back and I hope nothing has changed!

Room Tip: Stay on the west side to avoid the 6AM garbage truck's arrival. I was awake anyway, but they ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Charming atmosphere, clean, secure, right in the heart of major nightlife area of San Juan which makes for a fun strolling night. One block from the beach, easy commute to the airport Staff was great at accommodating anything we requested. Lovely outdoor sitting area which makes a nice place to interact with other quests.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minty8752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My wife and I stayed there for three nights,(pre-cruise), in January. This was also Festival weekend and the Old San Juan area was covered with people who like to party.

The Inn is very clean, in a great location, surrounded by night life and great restaurants, and the beach is a two minute walk.

Sigrid, the Inn Director, is wonderful. All of the staff are very friendly and eager to please their customers.

Some of the reviews that you read have negative comments, you get what you pay for, this is not a resort, it doesn't have huge buffets, no lounge, no bars, no pools, but it's location, rate per night, and its friendly staff, clean room, for the price is a great value, and my wife and I would stay there again.

We travel quiet a bit, all over Europe, this place is very nice.

Gary from TN

Room Tip: Always book a king, some of the other rooms just have a double, very small bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Secfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Before our cruise we stayed on the first floor for 1 night and really loved the location! On return we stayed for 3 night's on the 3rd floor and realised there were NO LIFTS in the Inn. The breakfast is really just an old pastry and coffee and juice, which didn't bother us too much as the outside area was nice. However, the toilets don't flush easily, the window facing the road wouldn't close and mosquito bites keep u up all night scratching! My husband and I were bitten all over our feet, legs, arms spoiling our entire stay in PUERTO RICO. Also the receptionist can be quite arrogant, she doesn't listen and takes forever to explain something or give directions in English.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.4 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#21 of 47 in San Juan
345 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
0.6 mi away
Acacia Boutique Hotel
Acacia Boutique Hotel
#32 of 47 in San Juan
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
At Wind Chimes Boutique Hotel
3.7 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canario Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canario Boutique Hotel

Address: 1317 Ashord Ave, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Canario Inn)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan
Price Range: £98 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canario Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Canario Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario Hotel San Juan
El Canario Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing