We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location folks!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandy Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandy Beach Hotel
Ranked #36 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Location folks!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have read several of the lower ratings, but if you want to get away, spend your time on the beach or wandering to local restaurants and sites, it really is a convenient hotel. Across the street is a parking garage, a walk along the beach are many marvelous restaurants, and hotel is a bed and shower. So go there knowing that and enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellissea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    97
    101
    47
    37
See reviews for
84
85
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Very nice hotel, very nice employees, located at beach, rooms have window a/c's, very family friendly. Reminds me of a bed and breakfast rather than a hotel. No parking though but can pay for a parking pass one street over.
Small bathroom but large closet area.

Room Tip: No swimming pool but right at the beach, small bathroom, has a bed and breakfast feel to it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The Sandy Beach Hotel is an excellent value. While it certainly is not deluxe, it is a good place to stay. Our room was clean and the staff helpful. It's just one building from the beach, so we spent our last night In Puerto Rico walking the beach -- and then exploring the area. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Betty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hotel has a great looking website, although that is not the actual hotel photo so don't be disappointed like I was. The hotel is behind a large building and is not beach front, but it is only a short walk to the beach which is the best part of the hotel as well as the outside shower to rinse your feet. The rooms are very small and really could use some TLC. The bathrooms are very tiny and no vanity to set anything on. No hair dryers or alarm clocks either. Was hoping to at least get a piece of fruit for breakfast, but they only had toast, 2 cereals, and some small donuts. Since I am allergic to flour there was no breakfast for me. If you don't plan on spending time at the beach, then I would choose another place to stay. You can feel the bed springs and there are no mattress pads, just a sheet on the mattress that is very sandy. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly. Be sure to ask where you can park (only 4 spots available Or pay $10 for a space around the block) or you will get a ticket. Looking out the window of our room onto the Marriott pool made our kids drool!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

The only positive thing about this hotel is that it's close to the beach and that the receptionist wasn't rude.

My sisters and I moved here after staying in another hotel in San Juan that we didn't like at all. This was just as bad or worse.

This hotel is old, on the inside, which I don't mind. But... it was SO DIRTY that I had to sleep with my clothes on, on top of an old towel of mine. The pillows had hairs on them. The bathroom floor had hairs on it, and you could even see the bugs. I woke up with so many mosquito bites on my legs that I had to buy one of those creams to make the itching stop!!!

Our neighbours weren't so friendly either- whenever they saw us, they made creepy sounds. They shouted out obscene things to one of my sisters and she didn't dare leave the room without company since then.

We only stayed here for one night after this experience.

Room Tip: Just don't choose a room here. Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natalia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The location of this hotel is amazing. Steps away from the beach. This was a quick get away for my husband and I and we loved it. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Ralphy at the front desk was the best, helpful , friendly , and honest when it came to giving us advise about the places we should visit on the island. I think this was one of our best mini vacations we had. The hotel is humble, clean and if you need to move your room for any reason they will move you with no questions asked. I think that this is the best spot to stay if you are planning on visiting the island ,enjoying the beach and saving some cash on hotel for activities and drinking with that special someone.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise /larger room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mari118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

You couldn't ask for a better location - just steps away from the beach and many dining options. Rooms are a little dated but for the most part clean (lamp shades needed dusted) and the AC worked great! The continental breakfast was good; they had cereal, toast,muffins, pastries and juice. The hotel also offered free wifi which is unusual for the area. Very pleased with the staff and service I received for the price of the room - if in the area again I will book a room at the Sandy Beach Hotel San Juan

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
El Canario by the Lagoon
El Canario by the Lagoon
#22 of 46 in San Juan
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#32 of 46 in San Juan
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 46 in San Juan
911 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Iberia
Hotel Iberia
#39 of 46 in San Juan
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandy Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Hotel

Property: Sandy Beach Hotel
Address: 4 Condado Avenue | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly El Canario by the Sea)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandy Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandy Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario By The Sea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing