We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great if you are looking for a basic hotel mostly about location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Canario by the Lagoon
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

we booked this hotel over new years because of its location near the park and beach and also due to the low price for a room. we didnt plant to be in the room very much which was good because it wasnt exactly comfortable. the beds were hard and short and there was no water pressure in the shower. that being said, no real complaints about the hotel.,.expected it to be basic and it was. had some breakfast mostly cereal and fruit which was fine and the front desk staff was helpful. best part about this place is the price and the location, you cant beat that as long as you are there to see the sights not relax in a hotel room.

Room Tip: get a top floor room, the lower floors have no view at all. all have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArielandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is a block away from the Lagoon, Ashford Ave. and La Concha Hotel. Our room had a balcony with a view to the lagoon. We walked to Ashford and enjoyed the festivities Sunday night at the park adjacent to La Concha Hotel and the beach. The front desk as well as the cleaning service were great. There is a continental breakfast available by the lobby, though not very well stocked.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mmateos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

El Canario says it is by the lagoon. This is sort of true; it is a block away. Overall, I would not recommend staying there. The positives first - it is mostly very clean, though I did find a gob of hair on the bathroom floor. It is a few blocks from a few nice restaurants and a block from the lagoon. Not sure what you can do at the lagoon though I did see some paddleboarders there. Staff is friendly though somewhat indifferent - example, I had to wait a beat to talk to the evening desk clerk so he could get his earphones out of his ears.

The price is good by comparison to the generally high prices in San Juan. However, the list of negatives is much longer. It is a highrise crowded in with many other highrises. Parking on the street is by meter and on both sides of the narrow streets which makes for very tight driving. Spots are hard to find. Hotel "parking" is very limited and is available in dead-end alleys on each side of the building. Unless you are at the end if you want your car they have to move each car behind it. (They had to move two cars behind mine the morning on I left. I will admit it went fairly smoothly). As a result of this system you have to leave your keys at the desk so any random employee can back your car out any time they need to. If they bang it up who pays? No idea. They don't do anything to associate the car keys with your room number. The keys stay in a basket at the front desk easily accessible by anyone. Best advice: if you plan to stay there, don't bring a car.

The room had a stale smoke smell upon entry but by opening the room window and the bathroom window and letting it air for several hours that seemed to go away. The floor is tile, not carpet. The room and the entire building is quite old - probably 1960s era and has not been refurbished. That being said it is in remarkable shape. The doors are wood and when you leave are secured with a simple doorknob lock. Inside, you can throw a basic deadbolt. There is a narrow outside balcony but the view is mostly of other buildings. The air conditioning unit cooled the room nicely but doesn't operate at a steady rate so the noise of it cycling helps make for fitful sleep. The beds are hard to firm; the pillow was far too hard and neck and ear discomfort caused me to wake frequently. The TV is flat screen and seemed to have numerous channels but no menu. Most irritating of all was that there were always running banner ads on the bottom or side of the screen making it impossible to watch TV undistracted.

The bathroom was serviceable and the shower fine. It had its own window which is always nice in warm climates. Soap, shampoo and plenty of towels though only one washcloth. Not even a cheap plastic cup was provided. The only waste basket was in the bathroom. They had a continental breakfast but I didn't stay to sample it; judging by the rest my guess is that it would be little beyond OJ and doughnuts.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelFoxToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The hotel is nice with a good housekeeping service. The only problem was the parking. The sheets and the room was very clean, front desk was very helpful. They do serve breakfast from 6-10am. The view from our balcony was good. Its a cozy hotel for someone who doesn't want to pay heavy price. We planned on staying out whole day for activities and coming back only in night to sleep. so it worked well for us. The location is really good with lot of good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I spent 2 nights there and everything was good.I paid like 150$ when the reality is in that area we can found hotels that the cost of one night is 150. so I think its ok. they have a/c, elevator, balcony with condado street view. (hotels, restaurant, towers). great atmosphere, lot of casino, clubs, bars,. during the day I went to Old San Juan with bicycle (cheap rent) to know every corner there. its amazing.. the staff inside canrio by the lagoon was friendly. complementary breakfast included.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

There is an unheard of boutique hotel which is just one block from Condado Beach and serves a daily continental breakfast. This excellent little hideaway hotel offers free Wi-Fi in public areas and rooms with air conditioning. This quaint hotel resides In Condado, Puerto Rico and was one of the most charming hotels I have ever had the pleasure of staying at.

El Canario Boutique Hotel offers you a hideaway right in the heart of all the action and next door to the Sheraton. This hotel not only has very comfortable rooms that are furnished with a flat-screen TV, private bathroom and sitting area, but the Spanish-style décor is lovely and the rooms have Bermuda ceiling fans and telephone.

Guests of Condado’s El Canario Boutique Hotel have an unforgettable experience while in San Juan and not only can you enjoy the tropical grounds from the patio seating, but the inn has a 24 hour front desk, laundry facilities and newspapers.

Luis Munoz Marin International Airport is only 6 miles away and Isla Grande Airport is 2.2 miles from El Canario. The Luis A. Ferre Performing Arts Center is only a 5 minute drive away!

Room Tip: All the rooms are situated with peace and quiet and re absolutely lovely. Enjoy the FREE Breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4Cindy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We recently stayed at El Canario for a four (4) night and we enjoyed it. It might not of had fine amenities but its a good place for a good price. The place was very clean and you could have actually smell the cleanliness. The room was a very big room with two big beds. There was a dining area with a reasonable size table and two chairs and we also had a private balcony with two additional chairs.
A large dresser was in the room, with a mini fridge, bedside table and night lamps. Added to that was complimentary breakfast served from about 6.30a.m to about10.00 a.m. Most of all there were free internet that is so important for most travelers, and the dining table could be used as a desk for the business traveler.
One thing needs addressing urgently is the elevator. Seems rather old and noisy.
Great price for a great location (in the heart of the bus line).

Room Tip: The rooms on the left had a private balcony with a good view. The fourth floor was ideal. In case...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#21 of 47 in San Juan
831 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
Dreams Hotel Puerto Rico
#30 of 47 in San Juan
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandy Beach Hotel
Sandy Beach Hotel
#41 of 47 in San Juan
323 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
0.2 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#15 of 47 in San Juan
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Canario by the Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Canario by the Lagoon

Address: 4 Clemenceau Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
#12 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £78 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Canario by the Lagoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Canario by the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario By The Lagoon Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing