We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Canario by the Lagoon
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good choice for us”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night before leaving on a cruise. All we really wanted was a place that was clean and affordable. This hotel served the purpose.

Our room was actually two rooms; the bedroom and a kitchenette type area that opened out to the patio area of the top floor. We certainly could not complain about that. The kitchenette area had a table with chairs, a full-sized refrigerator, microwave and toaster. There is also an iron and ironing board. The TV is an old style cathode ray tube rather than flat screen. But, for our brief stay, this was not an issue. This hotel is obviously an older property; the room keys are actual keys - no magnetic card keys here.

The small closet has a safe that is available for a fee. Our bed was queen-sized and was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was on the small side with a combination tub shower. One note: the bathroom has NO electrical outlet for a hairdryer. And, we did not find a hair dryer provided. Fortunately, my wife brought hers.

There is a basic continental breakfast in the morning. A small selection of sweet rolls, cereals and a few fruits plus coffee, tea and some juices. Not fancy, but okay.

The staff was helpful when asked, but not overwhelmingly friendly. The night we checked in, the room clerk was mostly occupied with watching something on the computer. But, he did answer our questions. The following morning, a different clerk helped us with a cab, but again was not overly interested in our welfare. Nothing bad, just not concerned.

One very nice thing about this hotel is the location. It is within walking distance of restaurants, etc. It is about a block from Avenida Ashford which is near the Atlantic beach side. There are a number of restaurants there, as well as numerous shops and some casino hotels.

Overall, we think this was a good value for us since we only needed basic accommodation for one night and many other hotels were outrageously priced because of the Festival of San Sebastian in old San Juan.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeepguyOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    139
    57
    21
    12
See reviews for
58
114
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Like many of the reviews say, El Canario is a decent hotel and well worth the money given the location. Near the center of Condado, Condado beach, and the bridge over to OSJ, El Canario is a perfect place to stay if you're planning on seeing different sights in San Juan. This is definitely not a resort hotel though, so don't expect much more than you would from something like a Holiday Inn. Plenty of restaurants and bars are within a couple blocks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBonelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked AND PAID for a room with two double beds - and were given a room with just one bed. The receptionist said they were out of rooms. When we asked for a partial refund after check-out, we were told NO because we refused an "upgrade". Needless to say, we will not be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael_1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeRidder, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

we booked this hotel over new years because of its location near the park and beach and also due to the low price for a room. we didnt plant to be in the room very much which was good because it wasnt exactly comfortable. the beds were hard and short and there was no water pressure in the shower. that being said, no real complaints about the hotel.,.expected it to be basic and it was. had some breakfast mostly cereal and fruit which was fine and the front desk staff was helpful. best part about this place is the price and the location, you cant beat that as long as you are there to see the sights not relax in a hotel room.

Room Tip: get a top floor room, the lower floors have no view at all. all have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArielandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is a block away from the Lagoon, Ashford Ave. and La Concha Hotel. Our room had a balcony with a view to the lagoon. We walked to Ashford and enjoyed the festivities Sunday night at the park adjacent to La Concha Hotel and the beach. The front desk as well as the cleaning service were great. There is a continental breakfast available by the lobby, though not very well stocked.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmateos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

El Canario says it is by the lagoon. This is sort of true; it is a block away. Overall, I would not recommend staying there. The positives first - it is mostly very clean, though I did find a gob of hair on the bathroom floor. It is a few blocks from a few nice restaurants and a block from the lagoon. Not sure what you can do at the lagoon though I did see some paddleboarders there. Staff is friendly though somewhat indifferent - example, I had to wait a beat to talk to the evening desk clerk so he could get his earphones out of his ears.

The price is good by comparison to the generally high prices in San Juan. However, the list of negatives is much longer. It is a highrise crowded in with many other highrises. Parking on the street is by meter and on both sides of the narrow streets which makes for very tight driving. Spots are hard to find. Hotel "parking" is very limited and is available in dead-end alleys on each side of the building. Unless you are at the end if you want your car they have to move each car behind it. (They had to move two cars behind mine the morning on I left. I will admit it went fairly smoothly). As a result of this system you have to leave your keys at the desk so any random employee can back your car out any time they need to. If they bang it up who pays? No idea. They don't do anything to associate the car keys with your room number. The keys stay in a basket at the front desk easily accessible by anyone. Best advice: if you plan to stay there, don't bring a car.

The room had a stale smoke smell upon entry but by opening the room window and the bathroom window and letting it air for several hours that seemed to go away. The floor is tile, not carpet. The room and the entire building is quite old - probably 1960s era and has not been refurbished. That being said it is in remarkable shape. The doors are wood and when you leave are secured with a simple doorknob lock. Inside, you can throw a basic deadbolt. There is a narrow outside balcony but the view is mostly of other buildings. The air conditioning unit cooled the room nicely but doesn't operate at a steady rate so the noise of it cycling helps make for fitful sleep. The beds are hard to firm; the pillow was far too hard and neck and ear discomfort caused me to wake frequently. The TV is flat screen and seemed to have numerous channels but no menu. Most irritating of all was that there were always running banner ads on the bottom or side of the screen making it impossible to watch TV undistracted.

The bathroom was serviceable and the shower fine. It had its own window which is always nice in warm climates. Soap, shampoo and plenty of towels though only one washcloth. Not even a cheap plastic cup was provided. The only waste basket was in the bathroom. They had a continental breakfast but I didn't stay to sample it; judging by the rest my guess is that it would be little beyond OJ and doughnuts.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelFoxToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The hotel is nice with a good housekeeping service. The only problem was the parking. The sheets and the room was very clean, front desk was very helpful. They do serve breakfast from 6-10am. The view from our balcony was good. Its a cozy hotel for someone who doesn't want to pay heavy price. We planned on staying out whole day for activities and coming back only in night to sleep. so it worked well for us. The location is really good with lot of good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#12 of 47 in San Juan
931 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 47 in San Juan
345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#18 of 47 in San Juan
814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 47 in San Juan
988 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Canario by the Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Canario by the Lagoon

Property: El Canario by the Lagoon
Address: 4 Clemenceau Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
#13 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Canario by the Lagoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Canario by the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario By The Lagoon Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing