We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Canario by the Lagoon
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Chrisitansted
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a great stay”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a great stay at El Canario. The location of the property was perfect for our weekend in San Juan. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was more than adequate and very convenient. We will definitely stay there again soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoffvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    139
    57
    21
    12
See reviews for
58
114
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I had an amazing Trip to Puerto Rico, an amazing and beautiful Area.
But as always, I try and review to help others in their quest to Adventure.



This Hotel is small, right next to the Party Street in San Juan. If you are 18-25 great, you can play, drink and party till 6am. Not South Beach by any measure, except in one area..
NO PARKING.

The Hotel Staff was rude. Not only the night guy but day one as well. I had booked via Expedia and the Hotel did not have my reservation. I had to book another night on my Credit Card and am still trying to get a refund. The Hotel Clerk told me 'I will get you a room' with a smirk like I owed him something. Rude. The day Clerk when I asked for a receipt told me 'No' and when I asked why he said 'Get it from Expedia' One girl asked if she could put her bags behind him in storage and would someone watch them 'No' he told the polite young girl.

Parking is 3 spaces, they have to take your Key so they can move cars in and out of an Alley When I came back later, no spaces and I had to park 8 blocks away. Such a great zone with no parking, I had to park along the Highway and someone stole the spare tire off my Jeep Rental.

TV was a tiny 8" screen (My laptop is beter) the bed was hard, the pillows harder.

It isn't a dump of a hotel, but it was akward, rude and the best thing was checking out.

Room Tip: Unless you want to party all night at the local bars with the Young Party Goers, may I suggest somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RasputinsMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night before leaving on a cruise. All we really wanted was a place that was clean and affordable. This hotel served the purpose.

Our room was actually two rooms; the bedroom and a kitchenette type area that opened out to the patio area of the top floor. We certainly could not complain about that. The kitchenette area had a table with chairs, a full-sized refrigerator, microwave and toaster. There is also an iron and ironing board. The TV is an old style cathode ray tube rather than flat screen. But, for our brief stay, this was not an issue. This hotel is obviously an older property; the room keys are actual keys - no magnetic card keys here.

The small closet has a safe that is available for a fee. Our bed was queen-sized and was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was on the small side with a combination tub shower. One note: the bathroom has NO electrical outlet for a hairdryer. And, we did not find a hair dryer provided. Fortunately, my wife brought hers.

There is a basic continental breakfast in the morning. A small selection of sweet rolls, cereals and a few fruits plus coffee, tea and some juices. Not fancy, but okay.

The staff was helpful when asked, but not overwhelmingly friendly. The night we checked in, the room clerk was mostly occupied with watching something on the computer. But, he did answer our questions. The following morning, a different clerk helped us with a cab, but again was not overly interested in our welfare. Nothing bad, just not concerned.

One very nice thing about this hotel is the location. It is within walking distance of restaurants, etc. It is about a block from Avenida Ashford which is near the Atlantic beach side. There are a number of restaurants there, as well as numerous shops and some casino hotels.

Overall, we think this was a good value for us since we only needed basic accommodation for one night and many other hotels were outrageously priced because of the Festival of San Sebastian in old San Juan.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeepguyOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Like many of the reviews say, El Canario is a decent hotel and well worth the money given the location. Near the center of Condado, Condado beach, and the bridge over to OSJ, El Canario is a perfect place to stay if you're planning on seeing different sights in San Juan. This is definitely not a resort hotel though, so don't expect much more than you would from something like a Holiday Inn. Plenty of restaurants and bars are within a couple blocks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBonelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We booked AND PAID for a room with two double beds - and were given a room with just one bed. The receptionist said they were out of rooms. When we asked for a partial refund after check-out, we were told NO because we refused an "upgrade". Needless to say, we will not be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael_1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeRidder, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

we booked this hotel over new years because of its location near the park and beach and also due to the low price for a room. we didnt plant to be in the room very much which was good because it wasnt exactly comfortable. the beds were hard and short and there was no water pressure in the shower. that being said, no real complaints about the hotel.,.expected it to be basic and it was. had some breakfast mostly cereal and fruit which was fine and the front desk staff was helpful. best part about this place is the price and the location, you cant beat that as long as you are there to see the sights not relax in a hotel room.

Room Tip: get a top floor room, the lower floors have no view at all. all have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArielandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is a block away from the Lagoon, Ashford Ave. and La Concha Hotel. Our room had a balcony with a view to the lagoon. We walked to Ashford and enjoyed the festivities Sunday night at the park adjacent to La Concha Hotel and the beach. The front desk as well as the cleaning service were great. There is a continental breakfast available by the lobby, though not very well stocked.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmateos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.2 mi away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#14 of 47 in San Juan
931 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#31 of 47 in San Juan
345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#18 of 47 in San Juan
814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
Courtyard San Juan Miramar
#17 of 47 in San Juan
988 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Consulat, Ascend Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Canario by the Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Canario by the Lagoon

Property: El Canario by the Lagoon
Address: 4 Clemenceau Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
#13 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Canario by the Lagoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Canario by the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario By The Lagoon Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing