We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bedbugs”
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights prior to a cruise. As we were exploring in our rental car after the first night, she noticed a bite mark on her lower leg. We weren't sure what it was but found out that night.
We were lying in bed watching TV about 10:00 PM when she spotted a tiny bug scurrying across the sheet. She squashed it with a tissue and proceeded to find six more. The front desk was not answering the phone so she went down to contact them directly. They stated that they would sent the manager of housekeeping right up. 45 minutes later we called housekeeping when no one had showed up yet. A couple of workers, (no signs of management), arrived and were very sympathetic. They removed everything from the bed and cleaned and disinfected it.
The next morning we talked to the manager who said he would look into it but offered no apologies or remittance.
With fees and taxes, we paid close to $500 for two nights trying to avoid problems like this from lower rated hotels. We will definitely not be returning to this facility.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fyrcanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,337
    1,587
    950
    470
    351
See reviews for
1,051
1,668
168
702
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fallston, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Our son and his bride were married outside the back of the hotel at 5PM with a beautiful view of the water. The setting arranged by the hotel was breathtakingly romantic. The cocktail hour was on the terrace located outside the diningroom. The appetizers were delicious and plentiful and the service was excellent. The diningroom was absolutely lovely and just the right size for 150 guests and the band. Again, the food and service was excellent. Everyone had a marvelous time. The evening before the wedding we had a Tapas Welcoming Party for all of our guests from the States and the wedding party. It was held on the San Juan Terrace, overlooking the water, which was decorated with several tea candles and vases with the most beautiful orchids. The hotel staff worked with me to develope the menu as I had requested Spanish style food and it was delightful (the Mojitos were delicious!!). The buffet table was elegantly casual and reflected the theme of the evening. Everyone loved it!! The hotel itself is decorated tastefully in cheerful colors and the staff is overall professional, friendly and helpful. Our guests had a memorable stay there and I highly recommend the Conrad Hotel Condado Beach San Juan, PR.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConradSanJuan, General Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Dear Lacey, thank you very much for your nice comments about our property; my staff and I appreciate it very much. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and event with us. We wish you much success and good luck; thank you again. Sincerely,

Raul Bustamante
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We arrived at 10.30pm (after a very long day of travel from the UK) for a one-night stay mid-March before setting out on a cruise the next day. It seems that there was a communication problem between out (UK) travel agent and the hotel, and they had no record of the booking. Nevertheless, the night manager accommodated us in one of the better (sea-front) rooms and we had a very pleasant night and morning. After I had shown the day manager my documentation the issue was sorted by the management (by emails to and from the UK) by early afternoon and we set off for our ship very happily, thanks to the professional and very pleasant way in which the issue was handled. Thank you!

P.S. I used to stay at this hotel (on business) about 10 years ago. It was then a bit sleazey (the bar by the casino) but now seems very different and a lot smarter. The garden and pools (which I didn't even know were there when travelling on business!) look really good, but we did not have the time to enjoy them Don't forget to go for the sea front rooms!

Room Tip: Sea-front rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobfromKensington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConradSanJuan, General Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this review, 8 April 2011
Dear Rob, thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us; I am glad to hear you were properly assisted by our staff and you enjoyed one of our ocean front rooms. These rooms really have the best views in San Juan; I am sure while enjoying your cruise you thought about your room, since the view is similar. Thank you again; my staff and I appreciate your business.

Sincerely,

Raul Bustamante
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Spent 5 nights at the Conrad on a pleasure trip with partner and friends. The hotel had everything you could want in a vacation spot....3 pools, beach, casino, several restaurants, and bars. There were also plenty of activities for the kids (we don't have any but for those families it's worth mentioning). Overall our experience was very nice. The hotel strives for a modern vibe but there are still some areas that could use better upgrade and/or more polish. The rooms were modern and a good size (we had Lagoon rooms) with the bathroom on the small size. The toiletries provided were nice but the best feature of the bath is the water pressure from the shower head (amazing after a day at the pool and/or beach). The location of the hotel was great for walking through Condado and the lagoon provided a nice slowdown of the strong currents coming off the Altantic. The staff was extremely pleasant and always acknowled you. Dinner at Pigayo was very good (albeit maybe a bit expensive for what you get)--service was impeccable. The only downside overall was the bar staff at Acqua poolside. The waitstaff working the pool area was great but if you went directly to the bar, you were often ignored. Overall I would recommend this hotel. Be sure to check out El Yunque rainforest and Old San Juan for shopping and dinner.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthEndBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We made our first visit to the Caribbean with our two and a half year old son for a spring break get away. We are frequent beach travelers, mostly to the SW Florida coast, but wanted something new this year. We were excited about staying at a Conrad and the value of the "family suite" which was offered. We were excited about the pools and beach and looked forward to a great urban resort vacation. While we were pleased with our choice to chose Puerto Rico for seven nights, we probably wouldn't chose the Conrad again so long as we were traveling with our son.
The family suite is really just a glorified Embassy Suites room, with the twin beds in place of the living quarters at an Embassy Suites. The galley kitchen was workable, but had no sink, so you were constantly running into the bathroom while using the kitchen. The bathroom did not have a bath tub. Kind of a big deal for a two and half year old who has never had to shower at bath time. There were was no way to dry our swim suits like in most beach resorts. The family suite is also located in the Lagoon Tower and has a city view. If you've never been to PR, you'll quickly learn that drivers really like their horns. A city view, which is set back only a few feet from a busy city street is therefore quite loud at all times of day with horns and car noise. Casino is small (and the craps table was very quiet on Saturday night).
On the positive side: The main pool is great. Our son loved it. He enjoyed the water slide and the fountains. They had two other pools (a salt water pool and a small pool on the Lagoon side) which we didn't use. Towel Service is great, but they are serious about returning towels (they tried to charge us for towels we allegedly didn't return on the first day). The small beach area is small, but provides a great area for a small child to wade in the water without the crashing waves. The ocean floor is very course with shells/rocks, but our son enjoyed it nonetheless. We had a small problem with housekeeping wanting to clean our room during our son's nap time on the first day. We communicated the problem to housekeeping and they were AWESOME the rest of the trip. We had a good meal in the Cafe Caribee the first night. Workout facility was awesome, well cared for and pretty well used, without being crowded. We used every day. Free WiFi was reliable and very strong signal. Valet (though a little pricey) was always punctual and friendly.

My wife's major comment was that compared to other "family" resorts, our stay made us feel like we had to do a lot of work to make the stay work for us. Better for business travelers or adult travelers than those with kids.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rlbrown77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeahRossi, Front Office Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this review, 2 April 2011
Thank you so very much for providing your honest feedback! I am sorry that the family suite did not live up to your expectations for your toddler, but it is nice to see that the pool area worked out, and that the staff treated you pleasantly. Please let me know if you and your spouse would like to visit agin. I would be happy to assist in any request you may have.

Best Regards,

Leah Rossi
Concierge
Guest Services Manager
leah.rossi@conradhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

This was a great place to stay. We only stayed one night after a cruise and I wish I could have stayed longer. Its right on a busy street with many places to eat and there is some nice places inside the hotel to eat ( and a casino). We had a ocean view room and it was great to hear the waves at night. It is a 20 dollar ride from the airport one way and the bell hops will call a taxi and they will hold your luggage at check in or check out if you have some site seeing to do.

Room Tip: I used priceline
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 798nathaniele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I am from PR and have never enjoyed the island other than staying with family. This year we decided to vacation like a newbee to the island. I looking into several hotels and several different locations of the island. I was looking for a couple things, close to the beach, within 15-20 of the airport, bus lines and close to restaurants and sights. I got all of that! I stayed for 3 days 2 nights with mother and my 3 year old son. It was an awesome experience, Our room was ready as soon as we arrived, our room was clean, cool and with a breathtaking view of the ocean. There is a private beach only for hotel guests which is perfect for small children you can really keep you eye on your little ones the water was clean, the pool area is even better no packed at all and AQUA restaurant has tasty spanish cuisine at affordable prices our first night we spend only 70.00 for 4 alcoholic drink 4 appetizers and kids meal that is with tip included i thought that was great! the hotel is only 10 min from the airport was only 15.00 1 each bag ! the driver was very nice and answered many of our quesitons about the area. The bus line is right next to the hotel is only .75 cents to the local Old San Juan we walk only 10 min to find El Morro only 3.00 to enter i enjoyed the history. I wish we could have stayed longer, I will go again the staff was attentive, caring, the area was rich with puerto rican culture the food was marvelous.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovePR787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,873 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,139 reviews
4.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
17.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Property: The Condado Plaza Hilton
Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing