We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific customer service from the Manager made an impression!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrific customer service from the Manager made an impression!”
Reviewed 13 April 2011

We had an initial problem with the room we were first placed in. The internet would not work in the room (though it worked fine in the hallway), so they gave us a different room.
To my surprise the manager called the next morning, apologizing us for the inconvenience. She was disappointed that we weren't given a choice of an upgrade when he had to move our things and offered us dining coupons. Then the IT manager at the hotel called us to make sure that the internet in the new room was working fine.
This is the kind of service you rarely receive even at 4 or 5-star hotels and we were extremely pleased with our experience. The manager at the Conrad is terrific and really cares about the comfort and happiness of the visitors.
Other than that, we really liked our room. The beds are very comfortable and like the reading light right next to each bed. The TV is a little small, but fits well with the decor of the rooms. Our room had a large balcony and a nice view of the lagoon. Though the ocean view rooms are better, I was not disappointed. The bathroom is large and spacious, but there is no lock on the sliding doors. The shower head had ample pressure and the toiletries were from CLEAR by Jean-Jacques. There is a fridge in the bathroom as well as a coffee maker and a closet with lots of space. The internet in the room is free and fast (600 KB/sec and I mean Kilobytes, not Kilobits).
The hotel has two pools and a beach protected by a rock wall. Great place to swim and hangout, both for parents and kids. The view over the ocean is also gorgeous. The casino is large (by Puerto Rico hotel standards) and modern. The location is perfect with only a 5-minute drive to Old San Juan.
Some negatives... The business center is a bit of a rip-off. Also, self-parking is a bit of a pain. The ticket that you receive when you enter the parking lot has to be validated at the valet desk EVERY time. I hope they institute a better parking system, but this inconvenience was not enough to take away from the overall very positive experience.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gibbersome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,354
    1,604
    963
    473
    361
See reviews for
1,074
1,686
170
707
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

I traveled with my husband and two small children. He was on business but the kids and I were here for fun:) A great hotel, lots of restaurants inside and a Starbucks right in front. Three pools, including a saltwater pool. A very small kiddie pool, but has a fountain spraying in which my son loved. If you're lucky enough to get an ocean view room, it's amazing. The beach for the hotel it to the side, so the views of the ocean are so close. And the sound of the waves crashing is very loud since it hits the rocks. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberlee8211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

This place was pretty good, convenient location, small beach adjacent, right on the entrance to Viejo San Juan, my favorite area of all San Juan City.
I write this review because I want to talk about one issue I disliked. The lobby has an aquarium, it its internally separated into 3 different sections. The central one measures about 2x4 feet, with 2 feet depth. It its crammed with a rocky formation meant to simulate corals, I guess. In this tank they have a live shark that is about 2.5 feet long. This animal cant swim, cant turn around, cant do anything really. During my week stay I visited him 4 times. Each time the shark was LYING DOWN on a rock. When have you ever seen a fish lying down?? Isnt it true sharks breathe as they swim, like most animals?? If so, this animal is being slowly tortured by asphixia and lack of ability to move around.
This is disgusting and a poor representation of the lack of respect people show towards animals, using them as accessories, not even providing for minimal and logical needs. That aquarium could poorly fit creatures a third the size of this shark.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BeachFairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2011

I absolutely love staying at the Conrad. For the second time this month I stayed here for the weekend. Its a beautiful hotel with comfortable rooms and great location. The staff is very professional, friendly and helpful. I highly recommend the Conrad Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naomita17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hightstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2011

The first thing I noticed about this hotel was how nicely decorated the lobby and other public areas were. There are interesting chairs, art pieces, aquariums, light fixtures or other decorative elements everywhere. The decor gives the hotel a different, non-cookie cutter vibe that almost makes you forget how large it is. The hotel is really two building across the street from each other, connected by a breezeway. In general the place seemed to be clean and well-maintained; I didn’t experience the elevator issues mentioned by other reviewers.

Our room was in the lagoon view building. Overall the room was fine. It was large and clean and the AC, fridge, TV, etc all were in good working order. The bed was comfortable and the linens were good quality. The bathroom door had a frosted glass panel that was easy to see through and didn’t provide much privacy. There was also a nice sized balcony with chairs and a table overlooking the lagoon and the roof of the hotel facilities below. The only thing about the room that I didn’t like was the tile floor; it was cold and seemed to make it a little loud, but definitely cleaner alternative than carpet.

The grounds of the hotel were beautiful! There were lots of places to explore and we discovered a new area of the property every day. There are nicely furnished porches and patios all over. There’s a lawn overlooking the ocean with hammocks to relax in. The large pool has a swim-up bar and a waterslide with “beach” access just a few steps away. There is also a hot-tub and another pool in this area. All of this is on the “beach” side of the hotel. The lagoon side also had a small pool.

A great thing about this hotel was that it has a casino. A real casino, not the kind of casino you might find at a hotel in the Dominican Republic. The sushi bar/Chinese restaurant just outside of the casino had great food and was open very late (until 3 or 4am).

Now let me just say this: THIS HOTEL DOES NOT HAVE A REAL BEACH!

The hotel is located at the end of the strip of stores, restaurants and hotels in Condado. The property is on the ocean it just doesn’t have a typical beachfront. There are mostly walled off areas that prevent you from going onto the rocks where the property meets the ocean. The sandy area on the property is very, very small and crowded and not really on the ocean (no waves). It’s worth a walkthrough I guess. The real beach is just a five minute walk from the hotel and it is beautiful!

Overall this hotel is a great value, the beauty of the public areas, cleanliness of the room, the price compared to other hotels in Condado combine to make this place a good value. You should go!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank taev314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

This hotel was situated in the best Location the bus stop right near hotel for 75cents you can take the bus to old San Juan. The vibe and look of this hotel was great . Pool scene and beach excellent. It was a nice area to walk around and find other local places to eat. The hotel the food is very expensive I did eat at the noodle bar it was good. My room was very well kept . I love the bath soaps I ate the best hamburger right beside the beach for $3.50 with a water the Conrad was like over $12 for a hamburger. I did a few tours through the hotel. I would stay in the Conrad again. I think this location was easier than the Caribe Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmoo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ConradSanJuan, General Manager at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this review, 6 April 2011
Dear Tammy, thank you for your kind review of our hotel; my staff and I are glad you enjoyed your stay, and we appreciate your comments. I read your profile and we have some things in common; we in the hotel also assist children with disabilities and make an effort to contribute to our community. I also belong to a foundation that assists young people in developing their careers; some have been sent to J&W for thier development. Congratulations on your efforts to assist others; take care.

Raul Bustamante
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights prior to a cruise. As we were exploring in our rental car after the first night, she noticed a bite mark on her lower leg. We weren't sure what it was but found out that night.
We were lying in bed watching TV about 10:00 PM when she spotted a tiny bug scurrying across the sheet. She squashed it with a tissue and proceeded to find six more. The front desk was not answering the phone so she went down to contact them directly. They stated that they would sent the manager of housekeeping right up. 45 minutes later we called housekeeping when no one had showed up yet. A couple of workers, (no signs of management), arrived and were very sympathetic. They removed everything from the bed and cleaned and disinfected it.
The next morning we talked to the manager who said he would look into it but offered no apologies or remittance.
With fees and taxes, we paid close to $500 for two nights trying to avoid problems like this from lower rated hotels. We will definitely not be returning to this facility.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fyrcanine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,940 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,172 reviews
17.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Property: The Condado Plaza Hilton
Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing