We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent choice for a beach-front hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I chose the hotel due to a special offer on Travelzoo. I liked the location very much, right in the heart of condado. The pools are nice with plenty of deck chairs even though there are over 500 rooms. My guess is there was low occupancy thanksgiving week. I didn't care much for the modern neon lobby. Looks like they are trying to draw in a younger crowd. The concierge desk was usually staffed with two persons but they were overworked and there was almost always a wait to ask a question. But they were helpful and friendly. I was pleased by the restaurant options. The Café Caribe for breakfast or a light lunch or supper was excellent and very fairly priced especially for having an ocean view. The light breakfast was just $6,95 plus tax and tip and they did the poached eggs perfectly, not always easy. One could also eat in Denny's and the food there was excellent but the service unbearably slow for both a breakfast and a dinner. Best of all is the deluxe restaurant Pikayo, a real splurge but surely one of the top restaurants in the city and I had a delightful if pricey dinner there, reviewed under restaurants. There was also a Starbucks but I don't ever go there preferring to visit small local coffee houses. If the price is in your budget I would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: An ocean-view room was 40 dls more per night but the view was sensational.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edutrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,561 - 2,567 of 4,926 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed one night of a three-night trip at the Condado Plaza, having departed after the first night.

The hotel is in an okay location, but is surrounded mostly by abandoned buildings and construction.

Service was mediocre, and as a Gold HHonors Member, the breakfast is pretty weak (just a coffee and a pastry near the Casino). The WiFi was perhaps the biggest issue - it cut in and out constantly and was completely unreliable.

The rooms are okay but seem dark and a little dirty. The closet is located in the bathroom, which is awkward.

I didn't go to the pool, but it looked fairly sad. The fitness center was just okay.

I'd stay at La Concha, a much better option in SJ.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CuseSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were thrilled with our choice of the Condado Plaza. Courteous staff, clean and modern facilities, mind blowing ocean front room. Old San Juan was a treat, and as we moved out to a more remote resort later in the week, we longed for our accommodations back at the Hilton! Would definitely stay there again and recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Hilton Condado Plaza is our company hotel of choice. I have been staying here since 2008 and the quality of service is consistently great. We appreciate the care and attention they give to our corporate visitors.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Hilton Coronado has everything you would want to have an enjoyable vacation; good resturants, awesome casino staff, and a housekeeping staff that serves with a smile. When my mother was ill the hotel staff advised me that if I needed a doctor during the night they would have one come to the hotel. The hotel staff made sure we had a great experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Tamara Gay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

While on our cruise we went straight to this hotel for lunch by the pool. My husband had been here on business and never got to enjoy the hotel during the day. When we stopped in San Juan for just the day and didn't want to do the usual tourist thing. We took a cab to the hotel to check it out .
The hotel is in a dream location, as a matter of fact they were setting up for an ocean side wedding for later in the day. They have two pools, one is salt water and the other has a water slide and the bar/restuarant inside it. We sat poolside and enjoyed a wonderful lunch. There is also a public beach on the property. The views are spectacular. After lunch we took a cab back to our Holland American ship.

Room Tip: ocean side would be the best . If not choose the lagoon side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My wife and I just spent 5 days in San Juan at the Condado Plaza Hilton. This is a beautiful hotel right on the ocean in the Condado Area of San Juan. The hotel is very modern and the lobby is not as grand as some. The neighborhood, however, is very safe and it is an easy walk to shopping. It is also very easy to hop on the bus to head down to Old San Juan. Be aware that the bus route circles the convention center which is a little out of the way, but still its only a 15 minute ride to the old city.

Our room: definitely opt for the ocean view. It is stunning. The room itself is average but comfortable. Wifi is excellent. to be aware that there is a $27/day resort fee. Not really sure what this covers other than wifi and towels at the pool. We only had one on our last night where our room was never cleaned after being out and about for most of the day.

Restaurants: We ate at Pikayo, Caribe Cafe, and Starbucks. Pikayo is excellent but a little pricy. The cafe is standard. I would venture out to restaurants within a few minutes walk.

Pools and Grounds: Again, stunning. Keep in mind though, most of the grounds are on the rocks facing the Atlantic. There is a small cove with a beautiful beach though with some pretty good snorkling. The pools (especially the main pool with a slide) are great. However, they only get sun for about 3 hours a day during November. Keep this in mind. The best option is a secluded pool on the lagoon side of the hotel that is beautiful, quite, with a 9 foot pool. Only issue there is that there is no bartender.

All in all, it was a great stay. We did walk to the Caribe Hilton across the Dos Hermanos bridge. Only about a 10 minute walk. That hotel is more of a resort with amazing pools and a larger beach. Would consider there is looking for less of an urban feel to a hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view or lagoon view is a must. Keep in mind though at night you cannot see anything on the oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrentNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#18 of 47 in San Juan
7,207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £152 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing