We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great services”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I enjoyed ourselves at The Condado. The services were great and very helpful on finding the best deals for tourist attractions. Plus a walk to the beach and a great breakfast spot right by the water was a plus. This

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,354
    1,605
    963
    473
    360
See reviews for
1,073
1,687
170
707
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake County, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had an ocean view room. The interior was fine although I would have preferred something more than just one easy chair in addition to the king bed. Also - the AC couldn't be adjusted to anything warmer than 73 degrees. We like it a little warmer than that so we kept having to turn the AC on and off. The staff were very good. The pool area was fine, although if you want a real resort feel, you should go to the Hilton Caribe. The Café Caribe has very little atmosphere, but good food. We stayed at the Condado Plaza because I had a meeting to attend at the Caribe but it was full. The 10 minute walk between the two is pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had very good memories of this properties, however under the Hilton Management the property looks cheap, run down and outdated. The service is inexistent in most of the hotel areas including the hotel controlled food and beverage. Also plan your check out, since it will take good 20 minutes to do so.

Sorry to see an icon so poorly managed

Room Tip: The ocean views are great, but the decor is tasteless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 597RafaelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I came to this hotel at 7th of June just for a night, it was 7 pm, but the room had not been ready.
They asked me to wait for an hour, but after that the room still had not been ready. Also they took my money from credit card, but there was another card in reservation to pay. When I came back in 2 weeks for a night they took my money from the credit card again. Meanwhile, the rooms with ocean view were very good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

All that you've read here is accurate - The Condado Hilton is a good hotel on Ashford Ave (one of the "strips" of PR). The front desk staff was very nice, as well as the rest of the staff I encountered. My bed was comfortable and there was plenty of space in the room. The concierge was very helpful and give us great restaurant and excursion suggestions. The pool areas were great (there are 3 pools) and even though there were families with children at the hotel, if you want a child-less pool, you can find one. The pool service was very good too - loved the mofongo dishes! There are plenty of restaurants to chose from in the hotel and the lobby-bars are good places to hang out. I loved the free and strong wifi access!

While most of the rooms have a balcony, we didn't use ours because it was dirty (very sandy, grimy) and uncomfortable to relax. Also, there is little insulation in the hotel - you can hear everything in the hallways, in the rooms next door as well as in the bathroom of your room (while our room had beautiful bathroom doors, you could hear everything).

Overall good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whosaidso8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Kentucky, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

There is very little that I like about this hotel. The rooms and the property are clean and nice. I am nit picking a little here. But given the choice on the San Juan Hilton or Caribe Hilton a block away, this hotel comes in third.

The rooms are dark and need more lighting. They work, but not as nice as the Caribe Hilton just a block away. There is a tiny beach. It works to get in the water, but not to walk on the beach. I don't like that I check in and they give me a ticket to get my 2 water bottles when I check in; I then take the ticket to the bar and he gives me my water. Small hassle, but a hassle, and do I tip the bartender? When I depart, I also get a continental breakfast. The Caribe Hilton and other hotels either give me a ticket or it is already free. Either way, it is easy, and the breakfast is good. At this Hilton, I get something like $7.00. Also, it is a sit down service and I have to wait for the server (never fast). Next I wait for the bill to sign for it. Finally, I have to go down to the front desk and check out all over again. Then to top it off, if I don't stop, they don't take it off of the bill. Then I have to call and correct it The buffet is much easier and quicker. Also, you've got airplanes flying over the hotel early in the morning.

Again, it is a clean property and OK. But if you're spending the premium for the Hilton, I'd stay at the Caribe or San Juan Hilton. Otherwise, stay at the Condado Doubletree, or the Embassy Suites or Hampton in Isle Verde and save your money. Embassy Suites is very nice and a nice beach is 2 blocks away.

Room Tip: Pay more and get an ocean view. The view on the other building is nondescript. But really, stay at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyboy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was apprehensive after some of the negative reviews I read before going, but I have to say I was very impressed. I should mention that I don't have that much experience with luxury hotels and it definitely doesn't have the same luxury factor as some high end hotels, but I really can't think of a reason not to rate it well. It was very comfortable, and very nice.

Service: Excellent. Our room was unfortunately not ready when we arrived, but the staff was quick to offer us a $50 voucher for any restaurant or bar in the hotel while we waited the ~30 minutes or so for it to be ready. Maybe not the most organized greeting, but I think they more than made up for it. The housekeeping staff were very quick to clean our room as soon as we left and it was always in great condition when we returned.

Rooms: We were on the city view side with a great view of the lagoon, and there was nothing dated or unclean about our room. It was very nice and the bed was extremely comfortable, while the light blocking curtains really did their job as well. The bathroom was nice. We had no issues with the functionality of items in the room.

Gym: Didn't really use it, but it looked clean and well maintained. Not big, but had a few options.

Food: Lots of options, from casual to fine dining and bar options as well. Plenty of ocean views and patios. Service was always nice and friendly, except once at the pool restaurant. Maybe they were busy, but we got lousy service there.

Pools / Ocean: The beach area was unspectacular, just a small area. There were at least a couple of pool areas though, and they were nice and clean. Apparently there were some paddleboards and kayaks to rent, but we instead went to a place next door that was within 5 minute walking distance. Paddleboarding on the lagoon was awesome!

Area: If you're looking for a great beach, this is not the best place I guess. However, the area is great. Condado itself is full of restaurants and bars (so many of them were great) and activity. We enjoyed walking up and down Ashford Ave. It's also about a 45 minute walk from Old San Juan. I wouldn't recommend the walk if you don't enjoy walking and exploring (there are buses and taxis that are apparently very convenient) but we really liked the walking aspect, and made our way to town that way just about every day. Being able to do that was a huge plus in my opinion.

Extras: There's a car rental place built into the hotel, and it's really easy to rent a car on a whim, which we did. One area of the hotel is roped off into a casino area. Can't rate that part, but it was always full of people.

Overall, I would absolutely go back to this area and probably even to this hotel. Really try to get a cityview room, I think it makes a huge difference because the other option looks to be just facing the other half of the hotel complex.

Room Tip: Cityview has a really nice view over the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgrobi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,942 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,172 reviews
17.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Property: The Condado Plaza Hilton
Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing