We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Overall Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
1 review
“Good Overall Experience”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

To start, this is a big hotel with a really beautiful lobby. What earned it 3 stars in my opinion was the location and overall experience. While it looks out over the water, it's sitting on rocks on not open beach. There is a tiny lagoon area that was packed the entire time we were there, as it is not exclusive to the hotel. There are some great pools, but considering the lack of beach area, and distance to the closest full beach, they were very full every day.

The service was overall average. No big problems, but consistently long lines to speak with the reception desk.

It was always easy to get a cab and cost $15 each way to get into Old San Juan, and ~5-10 minute ride.

Rooms were clean and had a modern feel to them!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,369
    1,626
    975
    480
    366
See reviews for
1,102
1,700
170
718
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,058)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I got the room with bed & breakfast included. I booked the room for 2 adults and 2 children. To be told upon arrival that it was only good for two adults with a $15.00 maximum credit per person that can be used per day. I was not happy since I made the booking for 4 people and was told I had to call the 800# for assistance they couldn't do anything to help me. They did tell me I can use the credit at any of the restaurants at the hotel, which I did. There was Cafe Caribe which was very expensive and the quality of the food was very poor and service was very slow. There was also a Denny's restaurant in the hotel since it was part of the hotel and included in there hotel amenities book I naturally assumed it was included since they had direct extension from room and you were able to charge anything to the room. I was only told upon check out when I noticed that there were NO credits listed on my bill that the only place we could have eaten was the Cafe Caribe which was not good at all. SO NO I would not book again! Very unhappy and they did nothing to try to correct the issue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Recently remodeled the lobby will catch your attention. Perfectly located the Condado Plaza provided beautiful views and access to some very good restaurants. However the overall service is quite lacking. Upon arriving in our room overlooking the ocean it was noticeably dirty, the white tile floors had hair and sand on them. The ironing board didn't have a cover. The cold water handle wobbled and the entire valve turned when you used it, the door jam surrounding the bathroom door was pulling away from the wall allowing you to see through the gap do a water leak. The shampoo bottle was used, ¾ full with the seal broken. I notified the front desk early upon arrival of all the issues, none were fixed. It wasn't until the evening of the second day after speaking with a manager about the issues was the faucet handle repaired. However the maintenance staff left the panel covering the bottom of the vanity off leaning against the toilet. After notifying the manager he dispatched someone to replace it. Although the other items were not addressed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soonernscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Got a very nice city view room for $80, not including tax and $16 resort fees. Bid on priceline for 3 nights stay.
Very nice staff, close to the local restaurants and beach.
Kayak is $20 for an hour. Paddle boat is $14 for half an hour. Very fun

The hotel works with a tour company offering local tours.easy to book. Make sure you make a reservation at least one day in advance.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JessX0324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palatine, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel and room itself were great. Our balcony and view were everything I had hoped for (and I searched long and hard for a decently priced place with a good view). The room was very clean and the bathroom was excellent for a four star hotel. The pool area and beach were incredibly crowded and the service was below average. It was difficult to get a drink and they were very over priced. There were also issues using my credit card at the pool (when I had no issues anywhere else on the island). The desk was very helpful in booking our excursion - - we went snorkeling and the price was very good compared to what I found online. The location is directly in between Isla Verde and San Juan, making it less than ideal because its really difficult to walk to either.

I would stay at this hotel again though.

Room Tip: Balcony king with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here while in San Juan for a conference. Very nice room and great view from our balcony to the bay side behind the hotel. Short walk across the bridge to the hotel that was hosting the conference. Small little casino if you want to gamble. Close taxi ride to Old San Juan.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexarandria, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is beautiful, but the customer service is less to be desired. We were checked into a room that was not cleaned. After hour, someone arrive to check to confirm the room was not clean, and 1.2 hour later we were moved to new room. The bellman said 'it gets better'…well the toilets broke often, we had to ask for for towels, breakfast coupon were in spanish and the Denny's did not accept them, and on our last day as a honors member we requested a late checkout..we were locked out of our room waiting outside of our rooms, wet from the pool waiting for security to open our room. Sadly, I will not recommend this hotel and wrote letter to Hilton corporate to re-train their staff…..It did NOT get better : (

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 47 in San Juan
7,050 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
17.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
30.6 mi away
Las Casitas Village, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Property: The Condado Plaza Hilton
Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing