We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quick Review”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at the Condado Plaza a few months ago for a business trip. Unfortunately, because it was for work, I was only about to stay at this beautiful resort for 3 days. After arriving to San Juan, this was about a 20 minute cab ride, so not so bad. I was impressed by the decor of the hotel, as well as the friendliness of the staff. Check in was quick and easy, which is always a plus when you have been travelling for the last 6 hours. The room was nice and clean. No real bells and whistles, but it I would say that it was nice. Again, everyone was nice and helpful, and the hotel was in a pretty nice location. I just wish it would have been a leisure trip, and I could have experienced more. I'll try this again on a future trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,356
    1,606
    965
    473
    361
See reviews for
1,075
1,689
170
709
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,047)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

In may we went with another couple to the Condado plaza hilton and although reviews didn't look great we thought how bad can it be...the view was beautiful and it had a bunch of restaurants and pools we were wrong it was bad. The pools and the view are the only things going for this hotel.
Things that were not good: Long check in line, restaurants had poor service, there was NO personal attention or accountibility even the starbucks inside wasn't very good but the WORST part about the hotel were the rooms. Ours had mold above the shower, a hair on our towel and a bug that came up from the shower drain. We did not relax because we just felt grossed out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Albany, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My room was great, clean, friendly staff. Would stay here again anytime. The Condado Hilton was in a great location, the room was roomy and the ocean overlook balcony was very nice. The pools were clean and plenty of deck chairs. Breakfast and lunch was very good at the Caribe. The staff was helpful and always friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for my anniversary and I had a pleasant time. We ate at the Cafe and loved it. The host warned us it would be a wait but I appreciated the warning. It was worth the wait. The food was very very good. The entire staff was super friendly and the Hotel was nice. My room was spacious except for the bathroom. Even though it was nice it was super small and uncomfortable to move around. That would be my only complaint. I would recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Madmonlop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights before our cruise left from the San Juan port. I was looking for a moderately-priced resort hotel that didn't gouge too much with resort fees. You can't avoid them, unless you want to stay at a lower-end hotel. We were pleased with our room and the service. We checked in four hours early, and used the Leisure Escapes package, which credits the room $50/day. (I just had to remind the front desk that we had this, as they did not automatically credit it.) The pool is nice, although got a bit rowdy on Friday night. It was a very relaxed atmosphere. I recommend asking for a top floor room, for views of the city/ocean and to get away from the noise. We stayed in the Lagoon tower, which was very nice and clean. Well situated near restaurants and shops. We were happy.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJF8610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very Good I would definitely stay here again. My experience with the staff during check in was very pleasant. The bellman and concierge were very helpful with giving information need for our stay in San Juan.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank 554feliciaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Condado Plaza was really a very nice hotel. I had stayed there several times, many years ago also, prior to their renovation.

First, I like the fact that the small beach is like a protected cove. Since I can't swim, I like the fact that there are no big waves, like in the rest of the Condado strip. And I can spend time in the warm water without being afraid. The beach is kept very clean, and the hotel has security, which makes sure the pool and beach entrance are secure. There is a huge pool in the main tower, as well as a salt water pool. The Lagoon side has a nice pool also.

The hammocks located near the ocean are incredibly relaxing. Its best to go early in the morning, before 9 a.m.and just listen to the ocean, before the sun is strong.

The hotel is right near a bridge and if you go to the 10th floor at sunset, you can get great photos of the sun setting, with the Caribe Hilton, the waves hitting the rocks and the bridge nearby.

The service was really great for the most part. The bellmen were wonderful in giving tips on restaurants, etc. Thanks to David for the tip on where to see the sunset!

I only had one problem, with my phone being dead. I had to ask a few times before it was fixed. Otherwise, I always had towels and everything I needed. The room was very clean.

I really enjoyed the live entertainment at the casino. The gentleman sang live and included such a variety of music...eveything from Sinatra to salsa music. That was great!

There is a Starbucks right downstairs and a Dennys across the street, which was very convenient. The hotel has a few restaurants also. But you can walk down the strip and find plenty of restaurants and shops, and other hotels to visit to. Try Ropa Vieja restaurant. The food was good and they had live music.

There is a Walgreens to get supplies, munchies, water, etc., which is a distance down the strip. Its a walk, but its doable. Make sure you stop at the Ben & Jerrys cafe also. They have food, as well as ice cream. And you can get some great hot croissants with nutella or ham & cheese sandwiches there, and smoothies too!

The hotel is a short ride from the airport. And not far from Old San Juan. You can take a bus, or taxi there. The hotel concierge also has many day tours to different parts of the island, making it really convenient, if you don't want to rent a car.

Overall, Condado Plaza is really one of the best options if you want to stay by the beach and not break the bank. The place is clean, in a convenient location, with a nice beach. You can rent kayaks and go paddle boarding too. If you're traveling solo, you can feel secure, since hotel security is evident. For the price...get the ocean view...its worth it!

Room Tip: I booked an ocean view room and was given room 438. It was a full ocean view with a balcony, and I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EJNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,955 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,175 reviews
17.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Property: The Condado Plaza Hilton
Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing