We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel, but not a good beach location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Condado Plaza Hilton is an acceptable hotel, but does not have good location for a beach vacation. The beach is small, and not directly on the ocean, hence no waves. Nor does it have the crystal-clear water for snorkeling, as found on the eastern side of the island. The staff was very nice, and the hotel my be suitable for families with small children, who can revel on the gentle beach, the shallow pool and the small water slide. My teenage boys, however, we're disappointed with the lack of ocean access. We ended up schlepping to the La Concha Hotel down the avenue, and eventually checked out and went to La Conquistador resort on the northeast coast. Before we left, however, we did enjoy a fantastic meal at Pikayo, the upscale restaurant within the hotel. The meal was excellent, even if it did cost more than the room.

Room Tip: Travel with someone you know well. The bathroom doors don't close all the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,159 - 2,165 of 4,936 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

I had an amazing time here! I went with my boyfriend this past weekend (Aug 9-10th) and the weather was BEAUTIFUL! It was in the high 80s the whole time. Also, the woman who checked us in was SUPER friendly and let us check in at 10 AM! SUPER early.

The taxi ride was $18 from the airport to the hotel.

We went to the concierge who booked 2 bicycles for us. The man who came with the bikes was super helpful in letting us know how to get places on the bikes and which locations were appropriate for what we wanted to do. The bikes were $30 each from about 12pm to 10am the next day.

We road on a bike to Isle Verde (about 45 min ride) and the next morning went to Old San Juan in the morning. It was amazing!

The room itself was really nice! It was clean and had a bathroom and safe included. The bathroom was a little small but that's not something I care about. Theres a Starbucks and a Denny's downstairs! I loved this hotel. The only thing I would do different is eating outside of the hotel. We had one dinner here and it was just crazy expensive for normal food (Shrimp Scampi and some Cod)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank K_Nibs_Lian309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel. Very nice room and well located in Condado. Walking distance to many restaurants, bars and stores. Hotel has many amenities with nice pool and fitness room. Excellent for business or families.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Alberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We checked in at 7:00 pm and they did not have a room for us, we checked back at 10:00 pm and still no room. we then cancelled the reservation and moved on. The next hotel by the way was the Intercontinental on Isle Verde, great hotel but one of the three elevators was out of service for the whole week which meant very long waits up and down the elevator

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Carey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed here at the Condado Plaza Hilton. We had a very nice and spacious room. Huge bathroom. We had the two queens non smoking. The view from our balcony was breath taking. Staff was very friendly.The only thing is I wish we had a mmicrowave in our room. But besides that we had everything we needed including a mini fridge. The hotel was beautiful inside with a casino and couple of restaurants, sports bar, sushi bar and more. It's right on the beach. You can go down on the beach or swim in one of the beautiful pools. I loved the swim up bar. It was 18 a day for self parking in the garage. And there is daily resort fee as well. 15 minutes from airport. Walking distance to souvenir shops and restaurants. You can walk to old san juan but no parking. Take a taxi for 20 bucks it's worth it. I'll be back T this hotel again next July. I can't wait! It's a beautiful experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pocgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed here one night last week while doing a west-to-east trip along the northern coast of Puerto Rico. We have also stayed here previously. I wanted to return because the view from the balcony was stunning and I want to wake up to that every morning. To make a cup of coffee (not great coffee, but passible) in the in-room coffee maker, sit on the balcony, and just relax before starting the day is pretty close to ideal. (Maybe better coffee would help!)

You can definitely walk to Old San Juan if you've got good shoes and some sunscreen, although it's probably about three miles. There are also a ton of good restaurants along Avenida Ashford. I'd recommend staying away from the breakfast options at the hotel.

The bed was clean and comfortable and the rest of the room amenities were great. I just wish they would switch to a body wash without the plastic microbeads, which are becoming a major source of water pollution.

Finally, when we stayed here last year, our original room was right next to a room with a crying baby and parents who yelled at their crying baby. We know this because the sound travelled easily, especially since it was a connecting room (of course the doors connecting us were never opened). The front desk staff was exceedingly kind and switched our room right away, but beware of that interesting noise feature.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Average hotel, nothing to write home about. The room was clean and our room service woman was the sweetest old woman we met! The shower is tiny, and there are no microwaves.

Beware: the main pool bar is the worst service you will ever receive! The waitresses were great and far more attentive than the bartenders... Be ready to wait a good 15-20 minutes for service. Over all people were friendly, but there are several better options in the area

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaimie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
7,215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
0.3 mi away
Condado Lagoon Villas at Caribe Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £125 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing