We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay and very good price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #24 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Great hotel. The reviews are pretty much correct. There are 2 buildings. We stayed on the laguna side and it was very quiet. There is a swimming pool, jacuzzi and restaurant. The fitness center is on this side too with a steam room, sauna and indoor jacuzzi.

The other side is the main side with the ocean. There are 3 restaurants on that side. We ate at the Caribe and 8 noodle. Food is expensive in the hotel! It is better to walk down the street to eat. There are better local restaurants with better food. The first set of restaurants is about 5 min walk, but further down it can get up to a 15 min walk. There are liquor stores too, because the drinks at the hotel are expensive. Cab rides are expensive! It cost a min of $10 to go anywhere, even 1 block. They don't even turn on the meter. But if you rent a car, they drive crazy.

There is a casino on the main side that gets full on the weekends, but we never went. Friday and Saturday at the Marriott down the street is great music and dancing. It's party central.

The beach is ok, but very small. It's really in the bay/laguna. There is a bridge next to it, but you don't really notice it or hear any noise.

Great time in all. Got a fall escape package to stay 3 nights and get 4 night free with free breakfast included. Check out El Yunque rain forest. La Mina falls is great spot to get in the water.

Negatives: Just expensive for food, drinks, souviners. Go down the street.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripguyTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,910)
There are newer reviews for The Condado Plaza Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,056 - 4,062 of 4,910 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2009

I was at the hotel at the end of November on vacation and had a wonderful expeirence and would definitely recommend this hotel as it has excellent rooms and service and that it is directly located on the ocean with a wonderful view and is centrally located and a short driving distance of Old San Juan and Isle Verde. I will definitely be returning to this hotel in a few weeks. If one choose not to leave the hotel, there are many things that can keep one occupied and entertained.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzimpala04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

After reading many reviews, I expected a mediocre hotel. I was pleasantly pleased with the Conrad Condado. The location is away from the more populated Condado hotel area. Be aware Condado is a mixture of upscale next to abandon. The Condado is at the foot of the bridge linking the area to the Old Town San Juan. I found it a plus because it is set apart from the more populated and commercial hotel strip.
Aside from the drone like pulsating disco beat in the lobby, and the bells and bright lights of the casino, the hotel is well run and comfortable. I stayed on the lagoon side, across the street from the busier ocean view side and it was quieter. Service staff were efficient and pleasant.
There are two very good restaurants at the hotel. Pikayo which serves some of the best food in Puerto Rico, and Veritas, a BBQ type place that is great for local food.
Beach bathing is very limited.
With the limited choices in this price range, I recommend the Conrad Condado Plaza.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h2onab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

This is a beautiful hotel in a great neighborhood, it is easy to get around from here to all the great sites. Old San Juan is only 4 mins away!

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with friends
1  Thank tbuncamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

We just came back from PR where we staid at Conrad Hotel. We couldn’t be more pleased with this hotel and its staff, especially Director of Operations Jose Padin. He promised us to have our room ready for us upon our arrival at noon and for sure he delivered, moreover he sent a bottle of nice red wine to our room later on because of our special celebration!!!! It was great!
I would truly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrooklynL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2009

I'll start off with what made me rate this a four instead of a total five. We stayed in the tower opposite the main hotel and during our entire stay, one of the elevators was broken. We reported this several times to the front desk and each time we were told "we haven't heard about it". It was being fixed when we left on Sunday the 13th.

Aside from that, hotel staff was wonderful both at the front desk, the maids, restaurant waiters and bartenders.

We stayed for five nights. Joey, the bartender at the pool is someone you have to see and get to know. Makes wonderful drinks and great conversation. We only ate at one of the restaurants, the Cafe Caribe, for breakfast each day, and the food and service were very good (we went elsewhere for lunch and dinner daily).

The casino was fun, active all the time and cleaned constantly.

The relatively small beach was in good shape and the breakwater does a nice job of keeping the waves managable. The pools were great, the main one by the bar (Joey), also has a waterslide that kids and adults will enjoy.

This hotel does a lot of conference business but it never intrudes on vacationers. Some holiday parties were in evidence also, again, things ran smoothly with all of that going on.

There are some very nice restaurants down the street, we recommend Ropa Vieja and Ajilli Mojilli if you are looking for local food. There is a Subway close by that also has breakfast, a Starbucks in the hotel as well as an Enterprise rental location (which we used and were happy with).

Easy to take a bus or taxi into San Juan.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ohioponycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2009

First of all, I have to say that Jose Padin(Guest Services) is hands down the best! My husband had to go to San Juan for business and I decided to join him. I emailed Jose prior to booking my flight because I had read the reviews on Trip Advisor and his response is always 'contact me' with any questions so that's what I did. He not only upgraded our rooms but very graciousely allowed us a very late check-out since our flight was delayed 2 hours.
The ocean view room was just spectacular, from the decor to the beautiful bathroom! and the views from the balcony were just breathtaking! the grounds are immaculate and the staff - including the maid staff - were second to none.
Look no further if you are planning a trip to San Juan - the Conrad is the ONLY place to stay!!
my sincerest thanks to Jose for an unforgettable getaway!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NyLovethebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 47 in San Juan
7,192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#7 of 13 in Isla Verde
3,252 reviews
4.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
0.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range: £123 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing