We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Condado Plaza Hilton
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Washington, DC
1 review
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 23 January 2010

It is a very enjoyable hotel. The rooms and lobby have a great sleek and modern design. We had a balcony looking over the ocean. It was great but I can see how having a room without this would take away a lot of the pleasure of the stay. Staff is helpful. Pool and beach area is very nice. Drinks and lunch served to hotel guests poolside and on the beach.

Getting to Old San Juan was an easy cab ride away. So if you want both beach AND the Old City, stay in Condado. We went during the St. Sebastian Festival so cab drivers at first rolled their eyes when we said we wanted to go to the Old City but quickly did their best to get is as close as possible given all of the festival crowds.

The Conrad is towards the edge of the Condado strip, so if you want to be closer to the shops and restaurants, La Concha might be better. But everything in Condado is still walkable from the Conrad.

My only disappointment (which may be due more to the demands of other guests than management's preference) is that the hotel breakfast only served standard mainland American fare with weak coffee. When we had breakfast outside the hotel and tourist areas, we had great Puerto Rican coffee and pastries.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,337
    1,590
    950
    470
    351
See reviews for
1,052
1,669
168
703
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,039)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Not a good place to stay. The escalator wasn't working for several days. The elevator wouldn't stop on the right floors, people were getting off the wrong floor and just taking the stairs to get to the right floor. There was a leak in the casino ceiling, so they put out a blanket to catch the water. The restaurant Names didn't match the menus. We went to the same restaurant twice and got two totally different dishes. The food was terrible and expensive. We spent $40 on breakfast at the cafe by the pool and they served me one egg, one round piece of bacon, one small piece of watermelon, toast, and some sort of orange juice powdered mix. It seemed weird to me that they didn't serve fresh orange juice or even fresh fruit. They served my husband fruit cocktail from a can with his breakfast. We got back from a tour late one night around 11:30 and all the restaurants were closed, except for the 8 Noodle bar, which is a good restaurant.
I thought that it was weird that we had to give our room number to borrow an umbrella, which had a completely broken handle and was an advertisement for some insurance company, and we had to give a room number to borrow towels for the pool. When you go to borrow towels, they leave the complete hotel list on the counter. You can visually see every name, room number, and how much they are paying per night. I was shocked to see that most people were paying $119-$150 a night, especially when we were paying $244. ERRRGGGG!!
It is so disappointing to know that they are considered a five star hotel just because it is a "Conrad". Usually, the Conrad is impeccable.
The final disappointment came at check out. They had said that if we purchased four nights that we would receive a coupon for a free nights stay at any Conrad that we could use the next time we stayed at any Conrad. The coupon read, "Purchase 3 nights and receive 1 nights free stay". So, we have to purchase another 3 nights to receive a free nights stay. And, the 3 nights have to be at full price.
The hotel isn't in a good location. It is in between Condado and Old San Juan. The other hotels around it are all closed down and boarded up.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckstocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPadin, Director of Operations at The Condado Plaza Hilton, responded to this review, 21 January 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

As soon as I read your comments I went to both restaurants, Aqua Bar & Grill and Cafe Caribe, and spoke with the manager and owner. I tasted the orange juice and I saw the fruit side dish that comes with the Full American breakfast, you are absolutely right not the quality we expect, therefore I asked both of them to change it as soon as possible. I also spoke to our Senior Guest Services Manager, Edgardo, about the umbrella and our Pool Manager, Victor, about the guest list but please know that we do not have $119 rate our lowest rate is $189, city vista and subject to availability. The rate could be lower if you are part of a group, corporate account or if you buy the Advance Non-Refundable Rate. In regards to the Winter Escape promotion, please know that our website clearly states the information about the future certificate. The promotion also includes full breakfast and a $50 resort credit for every two night with a maximum of $200.

To all Tripadvisor users; if you have any questions about our facilities, services, packages or need assistance with any special request, please do not hesitate to contact me via e-mail, text message or phone. My e-mail is jose.padin@conradhotels.com, my office number is 787-721-1000 ext. 2016 and my cellular number is 787-307-8762.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Saludos,

José C. Padín
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Juan hotels

Quebec
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2010

Back from a cruise, we've stayed at the hotel for one night, Saturday, 2010, January 16th. The room was large (lagoon tower) enough, clean, a/c quiet and efficient, bath room clean. The main concern are : a) walls too thin, we can hear everything from the corridor and other room, b)door slaming dance, you'll hear a loud noise from any door on the third floor at least when they will be close (once every 15 minutes from 9PM until 4 AM), c) no control at all from the hotel employees on the party on the third floor, saturday night. Is it really a Hilton ?? Did we really pay 200$ for the night ? Saturday we had a breakfast at the Cafe caribe, 4 persons, 2 eggs/meat/toats/coffee, we have waited 35 minutes before someone has welcomed us. Then, 10 minutes later we went to ask to get coffee, very bad service and bad coffee also. We've paid $ 52 ! A lady (short, young) who work at cafe caribe, was really good, did the apologise for everything. That person deserve to manage that restaurant.

try another hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moimemeQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night prior to a cruise. I was impressed with the whole experience from start to finish. There is a lovely little beach, very pretty pools and well maintained grounds. The lobby and main public areas are immaculate and very modern looking. Our room was beautiful with a great view of the ocean from the balcony. The casino was lots of fun, and I won which made it even better. You can't go wrong with this hotel. I have stayed at various other hotels in Puerto Rico and would rate this as one of the very best. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and if you have any questions or concerns contact Jose in guest relations he is the man. Thank you Jose for making our trip a memorable one.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wi
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Rooms-we rented a "family suite" which was really just a regular sized room cut in half with a small sliding glass door in between the rooms,minimal privacy. The room looks deceivingly large in the online pictures. Beds were reasonably comfortable
General hotel areas-are nicely decorated. Some areas smell bad. Only one elevator to our room functioned and there were very long waits
Beach-was ok, next to a bridge/busy road, so no ambience and loud
Pool-was nice, there is a cool kid's slide and pool bar, a separate salt water pool
Location-on Ashford avenue, you will still need a cab to Old San Juan which is really beautiful. The hotel is next to an abandoned building covered in grafiti. We felt overall safe walking on the street
Service-poor except the valets
Restaurants-we did not eat here, except Starbucks in the morning

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbiBooS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2010

We stayed just the one night prior to a cruise. We should have been booked into the Caribe Hilton but arrived to discover that they (hotel) hadn’t made a reservation. We then got moved to the Conrad. The staff were excellent, from reception to the bar (drink much needed after 15hrs travelling). The rooms spacious, modern and clean, breakfast was well presented and varied.

The outside decking and pool area overlooking the sea a real bonus for a hotel so close to the city. Nice place to stay from what was a disappointing start to our in San Juan.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJSETWESB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

This is a horrible casino resort hotel, located at the poor end of Ashford Avenue. The room was damp, rugs were actually wet, so the floor was slippery (and dangerous). Breakfast was mean and poor quality. The pool area was OK. Really don't recommend this hotel though. And they had the cheek to add resort fees on to the bill (so do other hotels there though). Why not just include that in the room rate as it is unavoidable?

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWandCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan
0.3 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,876 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
4.3 mi away
El San Juan Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
The Ritz-Carlton, San Juan
#6 of 13 in Isla Verde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,140 reviews
4.0 mi away
San Juan Water & Beach Club Hotel
17.5 mi away
The St. Regis Bahia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Condado Plaza Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Condado Plaza Hilton

Property: The Condado Plaza Hilton
Address: 999 Ashford Avenue, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico (Formerly Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Juan
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Business Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Condado Plaza Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Condado Plaza Hilton, the only hotel overlooking both the Atlantic Ocean and Condado Lagoon, is an enchanting alternative to typical San Juan hotel. Our unique location boasts cool ocean breezes, breathtaking sunsets, and a shimmering, protected beach. Whether you're traveling for work or play, this sparkling hotel offers it all, superb dining options including the award-winning Pikayo restaurant, elegant event venues, three glistening pools, water slide, waterports, 24-hour fitness center, tennis, poolside massage and bustling nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Condado Plaza Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad San Juan Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
San Juan Conrad
Condado Plaza Hotel San Juan
Hotel Resort Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing