We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #20 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Somewhere in the Midwest
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location and stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Really enjoyed the Sheraton Old San Juan. We did stay on Starwood Points. It is in a great location and the rooms were comfortable, clean and quiet. The lobby is a bit crazy, especially on weekends with all the cruise ship passengers coming and going. Very convenient to both cruise piers, though you do have to take a cab to Pan Am. We stayed pre & post cruise and have already booked for pre & post cruise next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappierTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    896
    501
    144
    121
See reviews for
538
994
95
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

I stayed here for one month with my husband who was in San Juan for business. The best things about this hotel is its location in Old San Juan and the staff. You can walk everywhere in Old San Juan easily and the hotel is right on the bay so some rooms have nice bay views and the patios of the restaurants have great ocean views of all the cruise ships coming and going. The staff overall was wonderful, friendly and very helpful-especially JANMARILY at the front desk and ALEX and LUIS who worked in both restaurants. The housekeeping staff was wonderful as well and if you put the sign on your door that you weren't interested in service, they actually respected that and did not come in. Often I would pass them in the hall and they would offer extra towels or see if there was anything we needed. Top notch housekeeping and I felt very comfortable that my things were safe in the room (unlike other places I have stayed in Puerto Rico).
Negatives were there is no real hotel room service, only from the restaurants which are at the hotel, one being a burger place (mediocre at best) and one a more expensive Italian restaurant. The room service food available during the day is very limited and they stop at 11pm at night. Both restaurants are also pretty slow so don't go if you are starving. However the happy hour offered at the Italian restuarant, Il Palacio I think it was called, is great-VERY affordable drinks and appetizers. My other complaints were the water in the shower never held its temperature- it would go back and forth between hot and cold during every shower (and we stayed in 3 different rooms) and also half the equipment in the gym was broken or needed maintenance. These aren't the worst things to find in a hotel so overall I am giving them a good rating.

Room Tip: 511-next to the elevator, 531-quieter,bay view,etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremysgirl09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington d.c.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

I received this hotel upon a Priceline bid and had read varying reviews. We stayed here for one night after our cruise. We got to the hotel around 11am and did a pre-checkin and dropped off our bags. Our guest services agent, Veronica was super friendly and effecient. Even though check-in wasn't until 3pm, she took down my phone number and said she would call me when the room was available.

We then went to the Chicago Burger restaurant inside of the Sheraton and had a really good burger. The location of this hotel is excellent. It's right across the street from one of the cruise piers (and down the street from the other) right in the heart of old san juan you can walk just about anywhere. There's tons of shopping, restaurants and touring to be done in this area. We walked down to El Morro and received a call around 1:45 that our room was ready. However, we were having such a good time in Old San Juan we still didn't check-in until around 5. When we went to get our room key, I was told we had been "upgraded". Having already seen the rooms online I didn't know what this could possibly mean. When we got to the room it looked exactly like the pictures that are posted. The cons were the carpet was dirty, the room kind of old and dark, but the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was updated and we had a view of the cruise pier. I guess this is what our "update" was. We were suppossed to be checked out by 11am the next day but called downstairs to ask for a later check out and it was granted. I really love the hotel location, it just can't be beat. There's a small business center so if you need to use a computer your all set.

If your looking for a great place to stay before your cruise as well as experience Puerto Rico then this is the place for you. Make sure to also check out the restaurant "Punto de Vista" while your there. Awesome Puerto Rican food about 2 blocks from the Sheraton.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumyum90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Ellen, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

The Sheraton in Old San Juan was great. The hotel was clean and the staff was so friendly. I felt like they were having a contest or something to see who could be the nicest and most informative about the city! Another bonus was the rooftop pool and the workout facility overlooking the dock where the cruise ships dock. You can walk from the hotel to any of the great restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sttlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Located in Old San Juan, which is what my fiance and I we were looking for. Otherwise, it's a pretty average hotel. It is located across the street from the cruise ship docks. There's a casino on the first floor, which is nice. For good local restaurants, I'd recommend walking a little bit away from the docks to find slightly lower prices and less touristy food.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank gregoryjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

Great bed very comfortable. Great spot to explore old san juan from. Great if you are going on a cruise.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scallawag540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

I stayed there for couple of nights. I loved the location.. but then entire Old San Juan is like few miles walk from anywhere anyway. Staff was not bad.. They should just have given me a brief overview of the facilities/services they had over there. I was a bit disappointed to see that my room didn't have much amenities, as a room in Sheraton with this kinda $$ should have had. My room being across from elevator was a bit noisy.. Everything was in working order though. I can stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travaholic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,649 reviews
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.7 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#10 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Property: Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing