We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$396
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$310
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$303
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$405
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$343
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Tres Palmas Inn(San Juan)(Great Value!)
US$140
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$418
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CasaBlanca Hotel(San Juan)(Great Value!)
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$368
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,441)
Filter reviews
2,441 results
Traveller rating
666
953
536
152
134
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
666
953
536
152
134
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolacross the streetold san juancruise shipsenor frogswithin walking distancefree trolleyburger placeroyal caribbeanstored our luggagehotel restauranthotel is in a great locationupgraded to a suitehistoric sitespre cruisesmall balconyel morro
Filter
Updating list...
1,524 - 1,529 of 2,441 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We selected this hotel for location prior to a cruise. Service was very inconsistent and not very flexible. Hotel is old and musty. They did not have us in a proper reserved room the first night , but the room was clean and pleasant. However, the next day moved to another room that was very, very musty, dark and not as clean (bed not as comfortable either). Hertz car rental on site was convenient for a day rental, but return was a mess due to no instructions and valet unwilling to assist us. He sent us to a pay lot (owned by valet company) after claiming not to know where the rental cars should be returned. He was laughing at us when we returned to hotel after parking....we found out why the next day. He knew where we were to go to a competitor's lot. Food options not so great in hotel....only average. Next time would go to the new Sheraton by the convention center prior to cruise trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water...those seem to be better maintained.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gracie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Dear Ms. Gracie,
We are truly sorry about the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay. Valet & Hertz are outsourced but this is no excuse for not providing you the return details as well as cooperation from the valet with upon your return. Your feedback will help us address this issues. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation and cruise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

This hotel was great. It is in a wonderful location, right on the water in front of the cruise ship piers! Convenient to anywhere you want to go in Old San Juan. You can walk anywhere. The vibe of the area was so fun and vibrant. The hotel was very clean and modern with a latin decor style. Walls were a nice stucco and rooms were large. I absolutely loved Old San Juan and cannot wait to get back to the area!!! I highly recommend the hotel and area! A definite must see.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmissy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Thanks for the compliment and sharing your experience here. We are glad you really enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you have a pleasant Holiday and decent winter up in Massachusetts. Look forward to having you and your friends back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Four couples about to set sail on Carnival's Southern Caribbean cruise. Looked into shuttle services...forget it. Exiting the airport, approached the driver of a 10 passenger Ford F350 van. $35 for all of us. Shuttle service:$90. 20 min/8 mile drive. Only go for a flat rate instead of metered. Don't hesitate to negotiate. Driver very informative and gave us recommendations. Requested rooms on same floor. This didn't happen. Probably due to our late (Midnight) arrival.
Hotel retains it's old world charm. Rooms quite comfortable, but not modern by any means. Wi-Fi was very fussy. Staff very curteous throughout our two day stay.
Burger restaurant on the property is overpriced at $12-$16. CVS a block away for last minute necessities. Subway across the street. Starbucks is a quick 5 min walk. Free trolly stops across the street...great way to get around the city IF there's room to get on.
We picked this hotel to avoid additional shuttle charges. Worked out perfectly as the hotel is only 250 yards to Cruise terminal 4. Even dragging our suitcases it wasn't more than ten min away.
Late check out is only noon. Period. They held our bags without issue. The casino was very clean and enjoyable. If you love to walk and explore...this is the place. Rooms a bit on the expensive side ($200 per night), especially factoring in age of the hotel.
Very visible police presence along the docks. Oddly, very comforting.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OICU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2012

Saludos Corona family!
Thanks for the feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay and our great location. We hope you enjoyed your cruise and the rest of your vacation and hope to see you all soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We are here for the week and absolutely love old san Juan. The hotel is just perfect for location to everything including the ships if you are cruising. My husband and I are not just taking it all in. The rooms are great and the staff have been just wonderful. Rooms are clean and big with a wonderful view of the ocean. You do have to rent the fridge but no problem. we were no longer in our room and they were there with it. So very nice and courteous. Kent and I have traveled many places but in all honesty this has been the friendliest. Plenty to do from food, to drink, to dance. Only thing is we came a week to late to enjoy the festivities that happen every Christmas time. But next time, yes next time we will try and come when they are happening and yes we hope to stay at the Sheraton. Oh and did I mention the casino is smoke free another plus in staying here.
Jeanette Williams The Villages Florida

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

Dear Ms. Williams,
Thanks for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. You probably missed the SoFo food festival but the Beauty of Old San Juan is that it's hot and lively 24/7 all year round. During the Holidays the town has all the XMAS decor / lighting all the way thru 2nd week of January for the world famous San Sebastian festival and so on. This city never sleeps. That's it's the Caribbean's most visited city. Anyhow, glad you both enjoyed and we can't wait to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We were taking a cruise out of Puerto Rico but wanted a chance to see something of the island before our cruise. We decided to say a couple of nights in Old San Juan and chose the Sheraton because of its location. When we arrived we were greeted very warmly and escorted to our room. The beds were comfy and we could see one of the forts from our window. There are two restaurant, but we only ate in one. The casino was nice, and thankfully when we were there not over filled so there was machines to play. The only downside was the wifi in our room. We were able to logon with the help of the staff while we were in the lobby so we were able to send messages home from there. Also the water pressure in the shower was not what we are use to, but it was adequate. Plenty of hot water. Overall due to its PRIME location we loved it. The staff was very helpful with our questions for site seeing and assisted with suggestions for the different things to see and do. There is a pool, but we didn't use it as there was so much to see in the area. There are many restaurants very close to the hotel and so we only ate once on the property. We would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 7th floor and was away from the elevator and vending machines so we were quiet and slept well.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CruisingNanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. More importantly, we are glad to learn you really enjoyed your visit to our property and the exciting Old San Juan. It certainly is the town to see if you want the real flavor of Puerto Rico. We regret to learn you had some issues with WiFi in the guest room and water pressure. We recently added the WiFi to the guest rooms and are still working few spots for better signal with our provider as we speak. Just this week we more than doubled the bandwidth due to increase demand. Water pressure is seldom an issue but will examine based on your feedback. Again, glad you liked it here and look forward to your visit (or your friends) in a near future :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews