We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel, Location, Staff, Etc.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel, Location, Staff, Etc.”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We spent a few days in San Juan prior to taking a cruise and had a couple of days after the cruise. I had been to San Juan many years ago and stayed in Isla Verde area. Someone recommended that I stay in Old San Juan since our time was limited and we would be close to the ship terminal and would be able to walk to many sights and restaurants. It was a wonderful suggestion and would chose the same for future trips. The hotel was sooo convenient to everything we wanted to do. We were across the street from the ship terminal which made our coming and going easy. The staff even helped us to the ship and would have come help us on our return had we not been assisted by someone from the ship. The room we booked was spacious and comfortable; what great beds!! It was very clean which is important to us. The staff couldn't have been nicer. They remembered us as we came and went, were extremely friendly and made wonderful suggestions for our stay. I can't say enough about the great staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Jacy from D.C.,
We truly appreciate the great comments about our Associates and glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as Old San Juan. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    908
    510
    144
    122
See reviews for
555
1,012
96
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
606 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel has a great location right in Old San Juan, which makes it perfect to explore the old, historic part of the city, as opposed to having to take a taxi touristico (or similar) from somewhere else in the city. This is important, especially considering how terrible traffic can become at times, trying to get into/out of Old San Juan.

After major delays in our flights, we eventually arrived at the hotel and checked in about 04:30 am local time and the front desk agent was helpful and friendly.

The Bellmen are also incredibly friendly and quick to point out directions and offer advice on where to go and what to see.

The rooms themselves were incredibly large and spacious, and looked clean and well maintained. However, my room (not my travel companions'... just mine) had a somewhat bothersome, mildew-like odor that was none-too-pleasant....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith-B-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Keith from Canada,
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us although we regret the room had a mildew odor. Hope it was quickly solved once the a/c temp. was lowered, otherwise we would have loved the opportunity to assist. Come back soon to warm weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We had a wonderful experience in OSJ, a city full of history and character. If you like local down to earth you should definitely have breakfast at Mallorca, we ended going there three times during our trip. If you like a little more city upscale, Cafeycultura should do. I also loved Raices, and Vaca Brava!!!. Take a tour to Bacardi distillery and definitely go to Isla Verde and el Yunque, places of most history, el Moro and San Cristobal forts. Take advantage of the city free trolls , and the inexpensive bus down to the beaches...I'm definitely taking a longer trip next time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yp628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thanks for sharing all the great tips of things to do in Old San Juan. Glad our location allowed you to do so much in a few days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We were on our honeymoon and were told on arrival from the rental agency that they were out of cars. We arrived at the hotel bt cab and very stressed out. The satff was super friendly and helpful. After getting an upgraded suite by chance we had a great meal with views in the hotel resteraunt. The next morning we were discussing our dilemma when we were in the lobby a staff member offered to help. He had had our luggage stored and a rental car secured for us through another staff member. I can't say how greatful we were since we had planned a driving vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Kelly from Massachusetts,
Thanks for the staff compliments. We are glad that a solution was found regarding your rental car. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your honeymoon and many, many happily married years together. We look forward to your visit during upcoming anniversaries :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
197 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

If you want a traditional hotel with amenities that is in Old San Juan you can't beat the Sheraton. Rooms are fine, restaurant is fine, the casino is fine, pool and hot tub are fine, but it is the access to the cruise ship berths and all the restaurants and activities in the old city that make this hotel a winner.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Etienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Mr. Etienne,
Thank you for the straight forward advice you shared here. It's no wonder you are a Senior Contributor in Tripadvisor. Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, PR
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed overnight in the Sheraton due to late night-early next morning events in the Old City. For those who would wish to be close to Old San Juan this would be an outstanding site due to its location. It is not exactly a high luxury facility but it is very comfortable, I was able to get upgraded to a waterfront-view King suite that was very spacious, but so much so it seemed kind of empty due to the relative modesty of furnishings. Some elements of doors and elevators seem to hint at a high degree of wear and really should be looked at before they deteriorate further.

However, I must join the critique that hotels in my hometown seem to have eagerly embraced the concept of the "Hotel Service Fee" or "Resort Fee" without even a hint of proportion. In this case the fee was around $27 and I have no idea what possible "service" could justify that rate in SJ, never mind having stayed at undisputably superior facilities elsewhere in the world that charged less.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRDelirious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2013
Thanks for the note! Understand your concern relative to Service Fee's but it's in line with the properties on island / Caribbean. We continue to improve amenities and hope we can provide a better value for you during your next visit.

P.D. Like your thorough reviews in TripAdvisor. You should be a Q.C. consultant / Hospitality Mystery shopper etc...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

If you want to travel Old San Juan, this is the hotel to stay at. You can walk every where! The room was well appointed, however we spent most of our time out and about. The casino is small, but still enjoyable to end the evening. Staff was friendly. When you check in, I would recommend you verify with the desk associate the room you paid for, especially if you paid in advance. We did not eat on site, so I can not speak to the restaurants on property. The hotel is noisy as you will probably read in other reviews, however, we wore ourselves out everyday wondering around and then with the mojitos in the evening, we slept like logs!! A cruise ship loud speaker makes for an interesting alarm clock :)

Room Tip: The higher up you can get the better, the rooms that face the bay are nice, however if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielle o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear Danielle,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Hope you recovered from the Mojitos. We also serve at our Chicago Burger Restaurant & lounge the island's famous Old Harbor Draft Beers. We look forward to having you back in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#21 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,675 reviews
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.7 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#11 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Property: Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing