We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location to explore Old San Juan from”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent location to explore Old San Juan from”
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location for enjoying Old San Juan. Easy to get to if you have a rental car compared with other hotels in Old San Juan. Beds are great. Internet works great. Walking distance to everything in Old San Juan. Down sides - no actual hotel bar and lobby is very small with only a few seats if you are waiting to meet up with people. Elevators are a pain to use as you have to insert your room key to go up to your floor. I found the card readers in the elevators to be very inconsistent and unreliable. Last negative is that there were several ants in my bathroom which is fairly common throughout the Caribbean. Water pressure in shower was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Bob from Titusville,
Thank you very much for your feedback here. We are glad you really enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you back here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    633
    904
    510
    144
    122
See reviews for
554
1,009
96
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
712 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 646 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We arrived very late at night off a flight from Miami. The taxi ride was fairly quick and the cost is set depending on the number of bags loaded into the mini van - which most of them are. Due to the number of bags (we had been on a super long cruise) we were charged a reasonable extra .50 cents each and the fare came in around $28 plus tip.

The first thing we were dismayed with was although there was a concierge on duty outside, after the bags were placed on the ground he didn’t offer to assist with a trolley or even look up. We struggled to reception while he basically looked away – one star gone from our rating. Not the usual welcome we get at other Starwood properties.

Secondly, reception that time of night was barely welcoming and when we queried the view from our room once in there, it was another star gone. Our reservation said a partial view – in our minds it meant perhaps some kind of view, as we hadn’t upgraded to a water view. What we got was an internal courtyard view, which overlooked every room, from the lowest floor to the highest in the triangular shaped space. At night the plantation shutters would have to be closed as you could look into other rooms and vice verse. They also let a huge amount of light in the mornings even when closed. Something to think about if the room seems too cheap for the location.

There are only two lifts which operate at snails pace so a little patience is needed, the Casino is a bit seamy and was mostly filled with what looked like crew from the ships. Complimentary casino coupons disappeared from our room which reception replaced once they were advised.

However, due to the hotel’s spectacular position near the waterfront with daily cruise arrivals and departures plus the proximity of the old town, it’s this that gets our three - star rating. We stayed three nights in a room that had an older feel, décor was in keeping with the island, the bed was way too soft and the shower was hard to operate - the room met our needs but we have stayed at better in the Sheraton stable.

What we liked too was the Chicago Burger Company that was next door and can be charged to the room. We found a coupon at reception that had a reasonable burger deal so if you see one take it with you, as the servers won’t give the deal to you without one. The food is better than the one in Chicago and we had a couple of meals here over two days. Huge cruise ships with endless day-trippers are part of the scene while eating. There is also a lively Senor Frogs on the other side and many delightful restaurants in the streets behind the hotel. If you have time for the gym, you won't get a better one compared to most.

Overall it’s the location in the old town, gets our vote as the room was average but in squeaky-clean condition. However, lacklustre service overrides all the good points - a repeat stay is questionable.

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Make sure what view you want as some have a internal courtyard views overlooking other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globebugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear guest from Australia,
Thanks for sharing your experience here. Glad you enjoyed our location as well as our Chicago Burger Restaurant & Sports lounge. We hope to see you back sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Sheraton old San Juan after a cruise with my family. For te price I expect so much more. It was only one night but I was hoping for a nicer looking lobby at least. It is very standard and looks just like every other Sheraton around the world.
Rooms were big as we're the bathrooms. Rooms were also very clean and beds were quite comfortable, it's just over priced. I will stay elsewhere next time in PR.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie_DNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear Stephanie form NYC,
Thanks for sharing your experience here. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us although price obtained for this and most hotels are based on time of booking and source. Being located in the heart of Historic Old San Juan, we also had to make the most of limited real estate. Anyhow, you should never feel like you did not receive value for cost. So, we hope we hope to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Okay so giving a balanced review, the hotel is in a fantastic location if you want to explore the old town, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and bed was very comfortable. So after a long wonder and few drinks, you also can have a comfortable kip.

As for value you for money, this is a little bit of grey area, you can not but feel that they trade heavily on the location (which is fair enough) but the hotel does need some investment, the room that stayed in (junior suite) was very dated, for the money it cost for the night you would have expected something more impressive, the dinning in the hotel was very limited, with the restaurant being closed on a Monday (did not see that coming) the burger bar was fantastic down stairs, and my wife went crazy for the onion rings. But the hotel really needs a bar lounge, I do think they are missing a trick here. If it was me I would lose some of the slot machines for more resident space.

But to close the location was fantastic, easy to drive to with great parking. If you are going on one of the cruises, a few of the piers are right out side.

If stay here for the location, which is a good call. Save some dollars and get a standard room, it means more cocktails in the old town.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for sharing your feedback here. We are glad you enjoyed our location and appreciate your suggestions. We always implement new activities / amenities based on guest feedback. Both of our restaurants have a lounge but we are surrounded by the hottest town in the Caribbean 24 / 7 = Old San Juan. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GAINESVILLE
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had booked 2 rooms for our family of 5, a king and 2 doubles. We were about 3 hours late in arriving and had called ahead to let them know, but upon check in we're notified that our rooms were apart. We got what we asked for, just not adjoining which was a small hassle. The hotel was full, apparently, and they had no flexibility.
Service was friendly and efficient. Our rooms were clean, a bit small, showing some wear, vey good linens/towels, and no odor. The hotel is right on the water where some cruise ships dock. We arrived on the night before Good Friday, so the casino had closed and was closed the next day. A lot of old San Juan was closed on Good Friday, and it was warm, overcast/windy/misty, but we took off on foot to explore the old city and we covered a lot of ground including the 2 forts. Hotel was conveniently located!
Convenient to catch taxis right in front of hotel. Pool on top floor was small. We stayed on same floor and didn't notice any extra traffic due to pool. Our room faced an inner courtyard, so we kept our blinds closed for privacy. To reach guest floors, one needs key card to activate elevator. Nice security touch.
We did order room service for dinner and breakfast and the food was delivered timely, warm, and probably one of the best room service meals I've had! Don't be afraid of ordering!
If we ever are in old San Juan again, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sprout5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear guest from Florida,
Thanks for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay during your Easter vacation with your family. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton in Old San Juan for 2 nights before sailing on Celebrity Summit. We had 2 rooms on the 7th floor close to the elevators. Both rooms were clean and had very comfy beds. The only thing to note is that the walls are thin and at times we could hear people by the elevators. The location is great, close to many shops, restaurants and historic sites. Hotel staff was nice and helpful with dinner suggestions for nearby restaurants. We also used Hertz car rental services inside the hotel and had a good experience. We would recommend this hotel, especially if you are going on a cruise.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kugorets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear guest from Denver,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience here. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our location in Old San Juan even if your cruise departed from the Pan American pier 2 miles away. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent two nights at the Sheraton while on our way to Vieques. Our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is not brand new and not glitzy, but it met our needs. The casino is a bit sad, but offered a brief (for us) diversion. We had a deal on food at the hotel, and ate the delicious and extensive breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MHboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armando E, Director of Sales at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Dear guest from Boston,
Thanks for sharing your experience here. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our Palio Restaurant breakfast buffet. Hope you also had a wonderful time in Vieques and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,670 reviews
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
1.7 mi away
Hyatt House San Juan
Hyatt House San Juan
#8 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Property: Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing