We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in San Juan
Blainville, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Good Location”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

I stayed here with my wife the night before a cruise departing from San Juan. It was a good, clean hotel. Staff were not overly friendly but they got the job done. The best thing about this hotel is the location - smackl in the middle of old San Juan. If you stay here and are looking for a great place for dinner, I highly recommend taking a short walk to the DragonFly restaurant 1 street over - Asian/Latin fusion - try the duck nachos!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ob1dob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    641
    917
    512
    144
    122
See reviews for
564
1,019
96
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2010

The sheraton in old san juan is a gem... the service was great. The rooms were so very clean. The bed felt as if I was sleeping on a cloud, very clean. The sheets and blankets smelled so good and were like new! The check in was outstanding. We were there like 4 hrs. too early and the nice agent, named George, a very professional and friendly gentleman assigned us a room right away! The location of this hotel is terriffic. Located right in front of the bay where cruise ships dock. Near everything including El Morro Fortress (walking distance.) Plenty of restaurants to eat the best food you can possibly imagine. Do not forget to go to "La Bombonera" This is a 100 years plus restaurant/fonda, they make the best coffee with mallorca bread! They also make very good pastries, and food,too.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank green-emeralds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Perfect location to stroll around and explore old San Juan. There were great restaurants everywhere, cute shops. cool history and right next to the cruise ship ports. The room was night, bed was great, shower huge, a/c was heaven, and the restaurant upstairs served a decent breakfast buffet. The casino was nice too with NO smoking allowed!
I also thought the staff was very friendly and nice too!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaybabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOSJmgmt, Manager at Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate every opportunity to hear feedback from our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

This is a wonderful hotel and a bargain price. It is convenently located near the cab lines. It felt very safe. My only complaint is that it is sitting on the two blocks that become saturated with cruise ship passengers exiting and rushing about. Worth the money. I would choose a hotel a little further from the terminal next time though.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust_at_dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2010

The beds were large and comfortable. They put us on the top floor, which was great. Our view, however, was of the parking garage next door. The rooftop pool and hot tub were nice, but too small for a hotel this size. You think you're going to go relax by the pool? Forget it; there are already 40 people out there. The fitness center is great, with a lot of machines and treadmills that have fantastic views of the bay.

The internet did not work at all the first two days we were there, which was a huge inconvenience. The concierge were very unhelpful and had not heard of several of the very nearby places we were trying to find. There was bottled water in the room that we assumed was free because there was no sign to indicate otherwise; later we were charged $4 per bottle!

Avoid touristy restaurants right near the hotel, such as Raices. The food is mediocre and overpriced. Instead, try San Germain, which is fantastic!

Go buy a gallon of water at the CVS next door. Do not rent a car, so you can avoid the $20 per day parking fee. Take the bus to Condado for only 75 cents instead of a $15 taxi.

I prepaid with Priceline and still ended up with a hefty bill at check out. There are charges galore, including hidden ones. Also, I seriously doubt the legitimacy of their casino. The house won far more often than is statistically probable. Avoid the casino at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

Like most reviewers, we were not cruise passengers, but we chose the Sheraton as a base for the first night of our Puerto Rico trip, before heading into the central mountains. The hotel is in a great location for any leisure traveler wanting to explore the Old San Juan area. The ferry and cruise ship piers are directly across the street. Everything in Old San Juan is within walking distance of the Sheraton. The room was a bit small, but it was very clean and comfortable. The roof-top pool is small, but the deck offers great views of the city, bay and mountains beyond.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowdy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

This trip was a combined work/personal trip to PR for 4 days, and I picked the Sheraton Old San Juan after doing a bit of research and deciding that proximity to OSJ would be nice for my wife while I was working.

Largely, we were happy with how it turned out. The Sheraton OSJ is a nicely run hotel, if a bit dated (they are in process of renovating). The rooms were nice, beds comfortable, rooftop deck/pool/workout room great, and service mostly good. We were moments from the heart of OSJ, which was great. We walked out into the shopping district, great restaurants and more.

There were a few things that were not as great:
1) The concierge - As a Starwood (Sheraton, Westin, W, etc.) hotel loyalist, I have gotten used to great concierge services at their hotels. This one was not so good. The two tours they recommended were classic "tell you what you want to hear" cases. Our tour of El Yunque was a 4 hour shuttle ride with less than 45 minutes of walking around the rainforest, even though the concierge indicated it was a 2 hour hike to a small waterfall. It also ended an hour later than promised. Several others on our tour had been similarly misled. Similarly, our bio-luminescent bay tour near Fajardo had incorrect times (told 4:30 leave-8:30 return, actually 4pm leave 10:45pm return), inaccurate info (what it would be like, were promised there would be bug spray there and there wasn't). Similarly, restaurant recommendations made no sense. They did not know about popular Trip Advisor restaurants, and recommended several with terrible reviews. Makes you question their motivation for recos. I would NOT TRUST their concierge. Book your tours directly with the tour companies recommended on Trip Advisor:

http://www.elyunque.com/about.html - pricey at $300 for 2 people (if you don't have a group) but the reviews are good.

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g612474-d653791-Reviews-Kayaking_Puerto_Rico_Adventures_Inc-Fajardo_Puerto_Rico.html
- gets good reviews and you'll save $20 pp booking directly with them... They will pick up in San Juan and bring you back (if you do this, wear swim shorts, bring bug spray, and I'd consider a headlamp :) )

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g147320-d584016-Reviews-Legends_of_San_Juan-San_Juan_Puerto_Rico.html
- nice tour of San Juan, but a little rough around the edges... My review is posted there.

and use Trip Advisor and other reviews for Restaurants (we loved Marmalade, liked Dragonfly and Cafe Puerto Rico, Raices was a bit touristy but decent).

2) Be careful leaving or arriving on Sunday - Sundays they are mobbed with cruise ship people. We knew that going in, so I was careful not to need stand in line to check out (automatic checkout), checked luggage before the cruise ship rush (11am-ish), etc.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moorthyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Puerto Rico Hotel & Casino
2.4 mi away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 48 in San Juan
2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 48 in San Juan
6,946 reviews
3.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton San Juan
0.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel
CasaBlanca Hotel
#7 of 48 in San Juan
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel

Property: Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel
Address: 100 Brumbaugh Street | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico (Formerly Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel & Casino)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Juan
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Juan
#15 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel is situated in the heart of historic and romantic old San Juan district. We are ideally located on the waterfront, just a few moments from the docking point of grand cruise ships. We are literally "Steps from Everything" as you can walk to over 200 restaurants, cafe's, pubs, shops & much more. There is also a secluded beach 0.7 miles / 13 minute walk across Capitol - Senate house in Old San Juan or a 1.1 mile scenic walk to pristine Escambron beach which has food kiosks etc. Discover why Old San Juan is the Caribbean's most visited city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel San Juan
Sheraton Old San Juan Hotel And Casino
Sheraton San Juan
San Juan Sheraton
Old San Juan Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing